We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, spacious but run-down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Big, spacious but run-down”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stay at the resort in August 2013. It was a big and spacious area, but the room was pretty run-down. I have two toilet in the resort room, but the sink in the 2 toilets was leaking badly, and the aircon was also leaking. I did seek the technician help, but he was unable to fix it too. However, there was a water park around. It really helps that my kid enjoy the water playground and the coconut that pours out tons of water every few minutes. The beach was also nice, but there was limited food at the resort itself. On my first night, i drove to Pengarang to have lobsters which is not bad and fairly cheap. On my second night i decided to try the buffet. The buffet was catered more for the locals, because it could be pretty much spicy for my taste. Overall, i would go again if the price was cheaper than S$100 inclusive of tax. ( low peak seasons)

Room Tip: Ask for the room that is facing the water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    327
    312
    73
    52
See reviews for
475
113
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Check in was super long Q! The whole lobby area was flooded with people, probably cos of the school holidays and it's the weekend before Xmas.

Room is nice with living room, microwave and fridge at the ground floor. 2nd floor was bedroom. Huge king sized bed and bathroom comes with huge bathtub.

However after coming back to the room after the walk, we saw cockroaches near the dressing table and bedside table! 2 of them! And we only managed to kill 1.. It didn't appear again after that..

Other than the cockroach, the room was very nice and I would like to visit again. Probably during non-peak will be better so that we don't have to walk so far to the carpark.

Good for family and big groups as there are sea activities like banana boats n jet ski etc available at additional cost..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danzgir07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Previously stayed here 2 years ago, and considered it reasonable value, and practical as it has 3 bedroom suites. Went back this week with family from the UK, and were frankly a bit disappointed. The hotel was very quiet, and our rooms were fine (though a bit tatty, and minimal in what they provide), but with three under 10 year olds, one of the real pulls had been the waterpark, which we played in enlessly at our last visit; it was closed, being "upgraded to serve you better". We had not been informed of this at booking. Many other areas of the hotel were also being upgraded to serve us better - there was endless digging and drilling next to the restaurant and other large swimming pool. I do appreciate that work has to be done, and it's good to see maintenance rather than the usual "rip it down and build a new one", but you must inform guests, and compensate them/offer alternatives (after some wrangling we got one free dinner - worth 38Rm per adult, fairly underwhelming)
This hotel could be great, and they're doing ok. The staff were on the whole lovely, and very helpful (even providing some substance to help remove the black-oily stuff we were all covered in after playing on the beach). Breakfast could be better. Long Island Ice teas in the Rhu bar were Great!!

Room Tip: 3 bed suites have small kitchens (fridge, microwave, kettle) but says that cooking not allowed. Sand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turning-into-mother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

From a neighbouring country, I have been to Desaru beach over a period of about 30 years. I have stayed in most all the properties there and seen how they have changed hands. I dropped by this property some years ago when they were in the midst of changing owners and things weren’t looking good then.

I wasn’t hoping for much as the prices here are among the highest in the neighbourhood. However I was pleasantly surprised by the room supplied at G block, ground floor - a maisonette with two toilets and the bathroom upstairs.

This is quite a sprawling property and a shuttle service is provided to get you around. As expected the breakfast hall was crowded but things were pretty well in control by the staff.
The other facilities looked nice, but we didn’t have time to try them all.

We ate outside most of the time as Sungei Rengit town is just 20 km away, with all the nice (price as well) seafood restaurants. They may not be certified halal but some of them advertise that no pork is served, which should be assuring .

Along the entrance into Desaru from the Kota Tinggi side, a new row of shops including a supermarket has just opened, which is useful.
Although the new E22 highway bypasses Kota Tinggi town, it may be worthwhile passing by there as it has nice breakfast and lunch possibilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

overall take 3 hours cycle from pengerang ferry terminal to desaru via route 90 (road by the beach which take same duration to reach desaru compare to route 92) , in fact route 90 May seems longer route but inn fact it is less strenuous compare to route 90. we had early check in, rest and enjoy. then cycle around the area where I find the beach 5km away from resorts beach is nicer with les people,less crowd. the resort water park is lousy. didn't even play in it. but the swimming pool by the beach ifs clean, fresh, although crowded too,yet still enjoyable. we didn't pay for anything in the resort cause everything is expensive except retail shop which sell daily things at reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecixoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Lotus Desaru Beach Resort and the Beach was memorable. The carpark is convenient as it located near to the block. The check in was prompt and effective but it seen like not much resort activities to choose for couples. The room condition is not superlative, small TV, no floor towels in the toilets but the room is large and consider as clean. However, litter everywhere on the premises and the premises look old especially the lift.

Secondly, the water theme park swimming pool needs more chlorine. The breakfast is less variety and normal.As a whole, lotus desaru is value for money and I highly recommend this place for group of friends and family & kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShawnLiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

hi.
just had nice outing to L.D with group, for 2 nights. had 4 apt's and had gala time. it was relaxing time though nothing much to but to relax and walk around beach. was kinda over-crowded even off-peak season....
not so good points are enterance and reception. very short space between allies. not resort but flat like look. no crowd control during bfast as everyone rush without queue, to get served, ending chaos.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Penawar
1.1 mi away
Sand & Sandals Desaru Beach Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Desaru Coast
7.7 mi away
Amansari Hotel Desaru
Amansari Hotel Desaru
#3 of 4 in Bandar Penawar
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Lakeview Terrace Resort
Lakeview Terrace Resort
#1 of 1 in Pengerang
5 reviews
22.3 mi away
Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality
23.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
#33 of 312 in Singapore
4,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Desaru Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Property: Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Address: Lot 1854 Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Bandar Penawar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Desaru Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort invites guests to design the vacation of their choice in a tropical seaside setting - whether they fancy an activity-filled holiday, a relaxing retreat, or even a mix of a little business with pleasure on the side. It's not just a resort that you can relax and unwind, it's also a place where you can have fun with your kids and loved one. Try our 'splashtacular' Water Park specially designed for fun and excitement with your family and friends, don't miss to enjoy our Water Park that features Giant Coconut Fall, Lazy River, Aqua Play, Stone Bridge, Tipping Coconut with Kiddy Slide, Poolside Grotto, and Relaxation Gazebos. Aside from this, we have expanded our facilities to create more fun and activities for the guest. The 14 acres of Team Building Park, enjoy an all-out fun full of adventure and education. Our team specializes in organising team building activities such as water rafting, survivor experience, obstacle course, explorace, treasure hunt, paintball and more. Experience the nature of the forest with your friends with different activities such as bird watching, camping, jungle trekking and lake fishing. Be relaxed and unwind with our newly opened "Lotus Suria Ayurveda Spa", rejuvenate your body, mind and soul. Our Spa offers a unique blend of various treatments for the preservation of health and cure of diseases in a natural way that Ayurveda proposes. Of all those places you've been which attempted to blend nature with modern convenience, most could not live up to Desaru and the other remoteness along Malaysia's eastern coast. Yes, nearly the entire length of the Malay peninsular is pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Desaru Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Desaru Beach Hotel Kota Tinggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing