We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amansari Hotel Desaru(Bandar Penawar)
$55
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
866 results
Traveler rating
73
341
322
75
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
341
322
75
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood restaurantrhu barcoffee houseroti canaibanana boatshort getawaybuffet breakfastmicrowave ovenyoung kidsdesaru fruit farmdining tablebeach barsataybig resortlocal foodgreat resortspacious room
Filter
Updating list...
610 - 615 of 866 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed in one bedroom suite at block Q during CNY. The check-in process was horrible with tons of people queuing at the small reception. I queued for at least 1 hr!!! It was a total waste of time. The walk from reception was confusing n explanation from reception is not clear leaving me confused to find my way locating the room. Room is a duplex with non functioning tap!! Room service food was horrible.. Nasi lemak at rm22! Well im fine to pay if the food is good but the nasi lemak served is actually plain rice!!! Bad..bad..! Desaru beach is just similar to singapore changi beach..

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank su_riana05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Not.worth.your.time.or.money. The room was fairly ok. We had a 2-story apartment with 1 king size bed upstairs. Getting extra beds took a bit of an effort - 3 phone calls!! The resort seems a bit rundown and covered with rubbish everywhere on the premises. Quite a lot of seaside activities for kids! Do NOT dine at The Rhu Bar (seafood by the beach) as they chase you away from the table before you have even paid the meal - only to excuse you with "Sorry-lah, full house tonight". Breakfast is average, but extremely overcrowded, they let you in but there are no seats.

All this of course in view of 2 facts - Rainy season (rained 100% of the time) and CNY (many people holidaying at the same time). However, I can not honestly recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a room in block R or P, as they are closer to beach and activities.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SirpaHannele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We took the 1 room bedroom and seriously i was so suprise the room was so big. there was a bathtub and everything needed in the house. there was even microvawe in the room. there is 2 bathroom which is really convience. My kids really enjoy the bathtub. another benefit is the water theme park.wow super place to spend time with kids. there is a desaru beach nearby and there is transport provided to move around.Breakfast was provided and was superb. There is a lot of thing you can do here and I am glad we choose this hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Room facing the theme park is good view. Higher floor better more cold and there is a lift.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritajega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We travelled to Desaru on 31st Jan 2013, a 2D1N Stay following a Deal. Based on the reviews and pictures available through here and google, my friend and I thought we could give this a try with the available Water Park & facilities. It didn't turn out very well and we were extremely disappointed. (All the below mentioned are based on our experience)

Here's our verdict -:

PROS
1. Check-in & Check-out was swift (as there was no crowd or guest arriving/leaving at the same point of time which is a weekday) *5 stars
2. Extremely clean environment of the Resort! *5 stars
3. One-stop resort (water park, SPA, restaurants, beach & activities available, mini retail) *3.5 stars
4. Amazing space for 2 persons in a duplex 1-king sized bed room *5 stars for space only
5. In-room amenities (standard needs including fridge & microwave) *1 star
6. Shuttle/Buggy available to transport us *3 stars (Would have been better if there was a button at each point for on-call service)
7. Housekeeping responded swift *4 stars
8. Breakfast was a decent spread *3.5 stars
9. Overall staff service *3 stars

CONS (Full Experience - read on if you would like)

Got the buggy to bring us to Blk B (which was actually 5 minutes away by foot) and we made our way to level 5 (we asked for lower level, but that didn't seem like one, however we didn't mind). Lift was creepy because the lights were flickering (nothing was done to it the numerous time we were in and out of the lift for the day). We were given a room near to the end of the hallway.

In our room: When we got there, the first look - it was amazing but as we moved closer into details, it was such a LET-DOWN. I remembered the front desk spoke to each other if the room was ready and one of them said it is - but NOT AT ALL. It seemed like we entered a room that was not well prepared for guest. The balcony door was opened and that caused dust entering the room. We opened the black booklet and immediately found an envelope full of numbers written on it (wow?). We needed some warm water to drink, so we filled the electronic kettle and fit it to place; switched on the power - SHORT CIRCUIT. So we thought it is the outlet issue, changed to another outlet and same thing happened.

Since we couldn't use that we opt to just drink the bottled water provided and the cup provided was DISGUSTING. There were some kind of bubble liquid and white particles in it. We touched nothing (utensils etc) then.

We have no issues but just one comment on the water park: the water is indeed murky.

In the evening, we tried Rhu Bar Restaurant where we had our dinner. We had Satay, Sharks Fin, Chicken something, Vegetable (Ubi), a plate of rice and a pot of chrysanthemum tea - just these and it caused us a whopping MYR $109. That is EXPENSIVE. The vegetable had tonnes of SAND PARTICLES in it and that cost us MYR $15++ (i think).

We returned to our room after a walk that evening. Watched TV had a bath etc. The toilet was provided with 3 small tubes of soaps and shampoo where the items were dirty inside and outside. Why provide if the items provided are not fit for use? Thank goodness we brought our own toiletries including bath towels.

The HIGHLIGHT of our stay: It was time to head for bed. I was at the lower level sitting on the sofa watching NG while my friend headed up to get comfortable. The moment she flipped opened the blanket she SCREAMED her lungs out upon seeing BLOOD STAINS (of dripping patterns and less-than-bright red) on the bed sheet. I believed if it wasn't that red, she wouldn't have reacted that way.

We felt utterly disgusted with everything and decided we should just stay on the couch even after the housekeeping had the bedsheets changed.

The following day for check-out, we headed to the drop off/pick up point. We waited approximately 5 minutes but there was no buggy/shuttle, though there were at least 3 or 4 staffs who either saw us while walking towards us then turned another direction or on the bike passing by us, who didn't offered any help. We were in visible view at the security check point. We thought that we should head back into the room to call for the service, then someone approached us and informed he will call a buggy service to get us. There was no name tag on him but we re very thankful for his help. Another 5 minutes passed still no sign of a shuttle/buggy and there was one buggy coming our way with no guest (thought it was for us, but nope) he saw us, looked away and just drive past. "EXCELLENT".

Once we were done with check-out, my friend and I heaved a huge sigh of relieved we were done with the most pathetic and disgusting stay.

------------

As per my friend, quote: "We are good customers and we are not mean".

: we could have indeed made a lot of fuss but the thing is, there isn't a point to it if the employees themselves do not have an attitude for service.

: we are never coming back

Room Tip: 1. Request for view if you don't want to look at the trees when you are at the balcony. 2. Rooms are available for family use (visit the webpage for available types).
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NyssaNyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were here in December just before Christmas eve. We had requested for pickup from the ferry terminal and the resort guy was there on time. Pickup is charged and this can be booked by calling the resort guys a couple of days before landing there. We were in the resort before check in time which is 15:00 PM so we requested for early check in. Check in was smooth even though it was crowded. The resort tram dropped us off to the room. This is a very huge resort so tram service was very helpful and service runs till midnight. We had booked a double bedroom suite. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The resort also has an inbuilt water park which was very badly crowded so we decided to go to the beach. The beach is very much accessible from the resort (Tram service drops you off to the beach). There are a lot of water sports and also para sailing which is worth doing once. The resort has 2 restaurants serving the entire crowd. Believe me the resort had full occupancy during our visit. Out of the two restaurants only one will be serving the guests at any point of time and the service was awful. We had to wait for 45 mins just to get an omelet and there are NO VEGETARIAN dishes in the menu. Our ready to eat saved us from starving.The next day breakfast was a total mess. No sufficient table to serve the entire crowd. We had to wait for a long time to get a table. Breakfast menu was huge and we some how managed to get some cornflakes and croissants and got out of the restaurant. The resort also has a linkup with a tour operator. We had booked for fruit farm tour with them which was worth the money. Never visit this resort during peak season.
This resort is good for relaxing. There nothing much to do except the fruit farm tour.

Room Tip: Never book a room near the water park. Its very noisy.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaamya-Ajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews