We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable resort a stone throw away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Affordable resort a stone throw away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

With the opening of the new highway, the resort is just a short drive from the JB Custom Checkpoint. On the way there, you will pass by Jusco shopping mall where you can pick up some groceries.

The resort is on a sprawling ground, so even on a busy day, the place does not feel cramped. We actually wanted two rooms with extra beds for the kids but the rooms are not that big so we got a free upgrade to a three room suit - two with Queen beds and the other with two singles. In a three room suit, the living room is definitely bigger compared to a two roomed. There is a fridge, a kettle, bottles of mineral water, TV (non LCD).

Three swimming pools - one next to the ballroom/entertainment complex which is near the beach), one is behind Blocks K/L/M. The last one is part of the water theme park - where the kids had so much fun going round and round the slide. I thought the security guys were great - help to keep some rowdy kids in check - the slide can get congested. You do need to put on the wristband if you are are swimming. Guests arew given towel cards which you use to exchange for towels at the pools and which must be returned on checkout (Rm$5 for lost card)

The resort has buggies to drive guests to/from the check-in lobby, the apartment blocks or the ballroom complex. Otherwise, they are within easy walking distance from one another.

I noticed there were many smokers, so we could not stay too long at the small arcade game area which remains open open in the evening plus free movie screening on the weekend.

Food,as many have mentioned, was mediocre, bland and overpriced. You can drive 30 km out for seafood dinner or to the KFC. The resort does provide a 12 seater van at Rm240 for three hours - for those planning to go on the firefly tour.

We could not swim in the sea - the current was rough, looked rather challenging. Most people just stood around watching the the wave. We spent much of the time at the pools.

Room Tip: Extra bed and baby cots are chargeable. Forget extra bed - get extra room. Room at Block K are near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qt030801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    320
    308
    71
    48
See reviews for
462
113
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

We booked our trip to Lotus Desaru via the Desaru Fruitfarm Tour in Chinatown. There was an amiable chappy in charge there named Steve Er, who is a Malaysian in charge of this operations in Singapore.
Initially was supposed to take the ferry fr Changi point and then transfer to Desaru fruit farm, but staying at Lotus desaru. However, last min ferry services discontinued temporarily, so we decided to still take up package(but lowered price) but to drive there by ourselves by car.
Turned out to be a good choice, as my wife and my 1.5 yr old son could leave home at 8.40am and arrived at Desaru by 10.30am! If left by coach, we would hv to meet at People's park at 6.45am, park our car there(and pay!) , and still arrive at same time!

The Fruit Farm is nice as most of us are city dwellers, and they show different varieties of fruits and plants grown organically there eg papaya, dragon fruit, basil, jackfruits, bananas, lemongrass, etc. Also has a koi pond that kids can feed fishes ($RM2 / foodpack) and should also save some time for the mini zoo at the end of the tour . There are rabbits, ducks, geese, chickens, snakes, ostrich and a goat pen there- worth checking out! (again for the kids)

As mentioned, hotel is a 3.5star one.
The resort is big 700 roomed beach resort with a Watersport centre complete with a Giant coconut which topples over a filled gallon of water onto eager participants below! Even the adults enjoy that! There is also a Lazy Lizard water slide which runs from the top all the way down, with fast and slower speeds. Perhaps should try it with a rubber lube for more fun!
There is a swimming pool there with waterfall features but looks like a lake. Actually quite shallow, no great for kids!

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite (highly recommended) which was clean and faces the sea.
It was big enough for 4-5 adults. Had a bedroom with ensuite bathtub, a living room w sofa and tv as well as kitchennette, and a second bedroom also with adjoining bathroom. We stayed in room S405 on the third floor.

The hotel has buggies to bring u round as its quite big and the services run round the clock every few minutes. So we just took a buggie to visit the Watersport centre. Remember to bring your wristtags!

Food there was alright. Nothing fantastic , but not bad. The beach bar -RhuBar has a nice ambience for diiner as u face the sea on one side and the nicely lighted clubhouse on other side. Food also cheaper than clubhouse- serves pizza, pasta etc

Spa was available but we didnt try it this time.

All in all had a relaxing fun trip with family . Even had the chance to visit Johor Premium outlet on the way back! Good that we drove too as we could leave before everyone else, checkout earlier and also no jams.

Room Tip: Ask for Block S which is nearest to the Clubhouse for meals , swimming pool as well as beach. Also s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antchao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Just went there with as 2 couples with a close friend and his wife on the 19th -20th November.
Was initially given rooms that was quite near to the reception area and was given single beds instead of a king size for both rooms. Called the reception and the manager Silvam resolved it by getting us both King Size Beds and rooms in S block(The block just beside the Restaurant and closest to the beach (Yippee!) Service by Silvam was exemplary.

The rooms and were clean and the bedsheets freshly changed.

F&B: Dinner at the restaurant was great! Items like satay and even Ice Kachang.

Theme water park was just okay but its mainly for kids and not that big a deal.

I'll be going down again this weekend, so I'll keep you all updated on the service and the rest when I get back.

NOTE!: For those who are thinking about taking a ferry to Tanjung Berlungkor or to Sebana Cove. Do note that the penguin ferry service to Sebana has been closed down until further notice. TG Berlungkor is under reno and maintenance. Only way to get there is from Changi Ferry Terminal I think.

I'll be driving up as the ferry option is now a big question mark? Anyone else got any info on this? Please send me a message if you do as I'll be going up tomorrow and prefer not to drive.

The hotel also provide a pickup service fro Larkin Terminal for $180 ringgit. With that price, you'd be better off renting a car and driving there.

As for the photos, I'll put them up later.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the theme park if you have kids and the room really far away from it if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed there on 2 separate occasions. Very good place, great recreational facilities. But left with a sour taste in mouth after water sports personnel over charged on a jet ski rental on my 1st trip, and front office staff billed my credit card 3 times on check out after my 2nd trip.
Apart from that, the place is really good, with good facilities and kids would love the small but fun water theme park.
F&B is quite pricy and mediocre quality (for the price they would charge).
I would still recommend this place, as it's an OK place for a quick weekend away from Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManojW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

Theme park tube for water ride chargeable. I dont think its necessary as we cant take the tube out of the pool anyway, no notice was put up or anything mentioning of such upon check in and this we find a setback!. Love the people tho, very polite.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

The water park is very great and especially the coconut fall.gd plc for family and friends.more over is very convenient now to drive there wt new highway.approximately 1 hr 30mins.I use to luv the food and oso the complementry breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derektanykjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

This is the first time we stayed in a 2 storey room and spacious one. We drove there from Northern side of Malaysia. Last minute booking at the hotel itself.

At Level 1 itself, there is a toilet, living room with big TV, day bed, big fridge, very small kitchen and a nice balcony. We happened to stay at the one facing the water amusement park and also can see abit of the sea.

However the not so nice thing started off when we discovered there are traces of leftover stuffs like dirty spoons & utensils in the sink, spolit foodstuff in the fridge and signs that the staffs did not bother to clear the place up after used by previous occupants.

At Level 2 is the bedroom which is accessible by the wooden staircase. Level 2 have 2 single beds combined together, a dressing table and a fairly spacious bathroom which is a delight to us. There is a triangular shape bathtub which 2 persons can squeeze in.

The water theme park looks quite big & attractive (only a few people there). It have a big coconut which stores water and also a nice slide.

But the negative points are that the security staffs & staffs keep looking at you while you wanted to enjoy yourself and this is quite a turnoff when more than one person is watching you.

Also if you want to use the water theme park, you have to wear the sticky band which tends to drop off if not put on properly. It happened to us and the staffs refused to let us continue to use the facility which is absurd knowing that we are guest of the resort. We were asked to walk all the way back to the reception area which is like 10mins walk wearing only swimming costumes. When we returned to the water theme park, the band was wetting again and dropped off. The staffs do not want to help us to get another band or let us stay. This was despite our constant pleads and the staff told us to walk to reception again!

We gave up the idea of swimming there and went up to our room instead.

Later on, we called several extentions (transferring and hanged up in between) to ask the staffs to deliver us the band to our room as there is nothing to do in the resort besides the water theme park. In the end they decided to send someone after an hours time. Very inconsiderate service to guests.

At night we decide to try all the restaurants and the KTV lounge at Level 2 of the main reception area. The restaurant food is very expensive and ordinary. Not worth the money at all. The bar at near the seaside appears to be quite ok. But the staffs are abit dilly dally in serving. Better to eat outside the resort but we were not sure where to get food nearby the resort.

After all the setups we had, we decided to play snooker nearby the KTV lounge which the service there is better.

If not for the room setup (which I gave a 4) and the water theme park, my score for it would be "1" overall as all the rest failed naturally especially the service for quite a number of staffs we encountered, uncleaned room and the expensive ordinary food.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FollowLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bandar Penawar hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Penawar
1.4 mi away
Desaru Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
0.9 mi away
Sand & Sandals Desaru Beach Resort & Spa
22.3 mi away
Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 13 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
22.8 mi away
Raintr33 Hotel Singapore
Raintr33 Hotel Singapore
#205 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
22.9 mi away
Changi Cove
Changi Cove
#109 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Desaru Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Property: Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Address: Lot 1854 Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Bandar Penawar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Desaru Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort invites guests to design the vacation of their choice in a tropical seaside setting - whether they fancy an activity-filled holiday, a relaxing retreat, or even a mix of a little business with pleasure on the side. It's not just a resort that you can relax and unwind, it's also a place where you can have fun with your kids and loved one. Try our 'splashtacular' Water Park specially designed for fun and excitement with your family and friends, don't miss to enjoy our Water Park that features Giant Coconut Fall, Lazy River, Aqua Play, Stone Bridge, Tipping Coconut with Kiddy Slide, Poolside Grotto, and Relaxation Gazebos. Aside from this, we have expanded our facilities to create more fun and activities for the guest. The 14 acres of Team Building Park, enjoy an all-out fun full of adventure and education. Our team specializes in organising team building activities such as water rafting, survivor experience, obstacle course, explorace, treasure hunt, paintball and more. Experience the nature of the forest with your friends with different activities such as bird watching, camping, jungle trekking and lake fishing. Be relaxed and unwind with our newly opened "Lotus Suria Ayurveda Spa", rejuvenate your body, mind and soul. Our Spa offers a unique blend of various treatments for the preservation of health and cure of diseases in a natural way that Ayurveda proposes. Of all those places you've been which attempted to blend nature with modern convenience, most could not live up to Desaru and the other remoteness along Malaysia's eastern coast. Yes, nearly the entire length of the Malay peninsular is pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lotus Desaru Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Desaru Beach Hotel Kota Tinggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing