We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a wonderful moment...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Reviewed June 1, 2011

The room, food, staffs and facilities was wonderful... People there was very friendly and helpful.. Im sure to return wif my frens for another long stay to enjoy the water sports...

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aneng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 856 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2011

- Got a one-bedroom apartment, room was spacious but smelt bit murky and dusty. Didn't make a fuss over it as you get what you pay for.

- Ambience at the Rhu bar was excellent but the menu spread could be improved. Limited choices of food - pizza/ pasta mostly, and no finger food! There is only one other restaurant at the resort that opens at 7pm and another that only serves buffet (spread didn't seem too enticing either).

- Beach exceeded my expectations-- I'd previously read that Desaru was a run-down place with dirty beach-- but I was pleasantly surprised. Of course it is no Bali or Phuket but water was fairly clear and nice for swimming. The jetski also seemed very popular with guests

- Good amenities, 2 swimming pools (as I counted, could be more) and 1 water park for kids. However, I noticed that everything else from the karaoke to the gym to the internet room came with a charge!!! Can't remember the exact charges but was enough to put me off.

- Staff were friendly but need more training. Check-in was slow , reception staff seemed lost.

Overall, despite the few kinks I'd say the Lotus is good for Desaru standards.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessa_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Worth staying and those with kids will definitely will enjoy it...

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blackruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

This is the best u can get in Desaru. Very nicely located, good facilities, OK rooms and most important availability of Indian food.
Was with family for 2 nights and we enjoyed our stay. Kids enjoyed the mini theme park, beach was good, staff are very courteous and helpful, premises very clean and neat. It is renovated and should recognize their efforts to do decent job.
May seem a bit over priced - but for Indians this is the place where u get good Indian vegetarian food. I would recommend this place to all Indians planning a trip to Desaru.

Room Tip: ASK for those facing the theme park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKM_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Was there with my best friend (both female from Europe, mid20s) as we wanted to just relax for three days. Were very disappointed PLUS it was extremely overpriced for what we got!

- dirty rooms (dirty bed sheets, bathroom...)
- horrible beach (very dirty!)
- small pool that is very crowded

Mostly visited by families, so I would absolutely not recommend it for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pasadenaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

this place is only good for a family lacking in ideas as to where to bring their children to a weekend getaway. don't expect service as this place seem to be a do-it-yourself style. I was particularly annoyed by the reception/front desk/concierge lack of knowledge about their hotel's facilities and programs and nearby areas. Usually given vague answers, one example and pretty laughable now, was when i asked about the meeting time for a certain tour that i signed up for and was told "around 5 or 6 o'clock", I asked" so is it 5 or 6?", staff replied" yes, like I said earlier, 5 or 6!!". I eventually found out after I personally went to the recreation counter that it was 7.15!
For your information, I loathe the stay enough to check out early but was still charged 25% of the remaining stay! ( so don't book so many days even if you're planning to stay longer, simply extend after the first day, the rates don't change anyway!)
I went to another nearby hotel and the service was night and day!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spore7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We booked the Lotus resort as we found the cost very reasonable over the Easter weekend. We booked a 2 bedroom suite for a family of 3 adults, one toddler and one baby.

We decided to take the ferry from Changi ferry terminal to Tanjung Belungkor. A word of warning - the ferry terminal at Changi is highly disorganised, it took nearly an hour to get our tickets and the ferry did not leave on time at all (was at least an hour late departing). Immigration at Tanjung Belungkor then took another 30-40mins. By the time we arrived at the resort we were all feeling rather tired and frazzled, but perked up when we saw the facilities.

Here are the things we enjoyed the most about the resort and the things we enjoyed the least.

1. Decent apartment, spacious and clean with separate living area. There was a fridge with freezer compartment for our baby's food, microwave, sink, mugs, spoons and kettle, but no other cutlery. It was good enough for our needs, but not full cooking facilities.
2. Cot provided for our baby - looked new and was well made. Baby enjoyed it and slept well!
3. We were in block N and this was very quiet and overlooked a large green area and we all slept well at night with no disturbances
4. Beach lovely and has a refreshing breeze.
5. Water park fantastic for our 3 year old. We went there twice a day and did not notice the water being dirty.
6. Little slide and playhouse in the green open area near the restaurants. Our 3 year old loved playing around it and we could sit in the cafe and watch her, while finishing our lunch!
7. 2 other quiet swimming pools. We didn't use them as we spent most of the time at the water park, but the one near the restaurants looked very nice.
8. Friendly and helpful staff

Negatives:
1. Check in took 30 mins and seemed a bit disorganised.
2. We had problems with our key cards twice. First time the batteries had gone in the room door so a contractor had to replace them. He did however arrive within 10 mins. The 2nd time we couldn't get into the room, we had to go to reception twice and they finally replaced the card.
3. Lack of choice for food, given the size of the resort. There was one western cafe by the beach which only served pasta or pizza and service was unbelievably slow. The chinese restaurant did a nice a la carte menu, but was only open in the evenings at 7pm. The main restaurant, where we had breakfast only did buffet lunches for MYR40 + per person or MYR 80 + per person which seemed a bit steep.
4. Scary clown who roams around the resort daily handing out sweets and balloons to the kids. It was a staff member wearing a clown suit and awful clown mask and my 3 year old was terrified of him (so was the wife!)
5. You have to pay for everything you lose, from towels to keycards to wrist tags for the water park. Very annoying as I'd rather they just build these costs into the price of the room and give these things for free, including wifi.

Although there are quite a few negatives in my review, overall we did really enjoy our stay and found the weekend very relaxing (ignoring the journey there) and we would consider going there again, but probably driving up instead of taking the ferry!

I will just add however that the trip back was much easier, with quick check in at the ferry at Tanjung Belungkor and no delay in the ferry leaving. We left the resort at 2.15pm and were back in our car at Changi ferry terminal by 4.30pm!

Room Tip: Block N is good for 2 bed apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crossleggedmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Penawar
0.2 mi away
Sand & Sandals Desaru Beach Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Desaru Coast
8.5 mi away
Amansari Hotel Desaru
Amansari Hotel Desaru
#4 of 6 in Bandar Penawar
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Lakeview Terrace Resort
Lakeview Terrace Resort
#1 of 1 in Pengerang
8 reviews
22.7 mi away
Changi Cove Singapore
Changi Cove Singapore
#100 of 317 in Singapore
349 reviews
22.1 mi away
Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Desaru Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Address: Lot 1854 Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Bandar Penawar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Price Range: $55 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Desaru Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort invites guests to design the vacation of their choice in a tropical seaside setting - whether they fancy an activity-filled holiday, a relaxing retreat, or even a mix of a little business with pleasure on the side. It's not just a resort that you can relax and unwind, it's also a place where you can have fun with your kids and loved one. Try our 'splashtacular' Water Park specially designed for fun and excitement with your family and friends, don't miss to enjoy our Water Park that features Giant Coconut Fall, Lazy River, Aqua Play, Stone Bridge, Tipping Coconut with Kiddy Slide, Poolside Grotto, and Relaxation Gazebos. Aside from this, we have expanded our facilities to create more fun and activities for the guest. The 14 acres of Team Building Park, enjoy an all-out fun full of adventure and education. Our team specializes in organising team building activities such as water rafting, survivor experience, obstacle course, explorace, treasure hunt, paintball and more. Experience the nature of the forest with your friends with different activities such as bird watching, camping, jungle trekking and lake fishing. Be relaxed and unwind with our newly opened "Lotus Suria Ayurveda Spa", rejuvenate your body, mind and soul. Our Spa offers a unique blend of various treatments for the preservation of health and cure of diseases in a natural way that Ayurveda proposes. Of all those places you've been which attempted to blend nature with modern convenience, most could not live up to Desaru and the other remoteness along Malaysia's eastern coast. Yes, nearly the entire length of the Malay peninsular is pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Desaru Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Desaru Beach Hotel Kota Tinggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing