We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stoneridge Estate
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Hayes Motel(Queenstown)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Millbrook Resort(Arrowtown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
154
8
4
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
154
8
4
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuecellar doorwinter weddingcheese platterworth every dollarlarge bedroomviews are spectacularnew zealandtwo nightscooked breakfastqueenstown areaour honeymoonmountain rangegreat accommodationreception arearental caroverlooking the lake
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 173 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2008

My husband and I were just recently married at Stoneridge Estate. The Estate is very beautiful and the staff were extremely gracious and helpful. We had our ceremony in the adorable 'Chapel by the Lake' and our reception followed in The Hayes Room. The scenery is absolutely stunning and I cannot wait to see our wedding photos!!

The owners, Wayne & Suzanne, along with staff Pablo and Carly went out of their way to assure that everything was perfect for our big day. Without their help I could never have done all the planning necessary from New York City. They ensured that no detail was overlooked for our event. The reception room was decorated very elegantly and the food was absolutely delicious. All of our guests were very impressed.

I highly recommend Stoneridge Estate to anyone thinking of getting married in New Zealand. It truly was my dream wedding!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kristin0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

My husband and I travelled to Queenstown to attend a wedding reception at Stoneridge recently and were very disappointed at the service of the hosts. The property is beautiful and the surrounding mountains are breathtaking. However, we were surprised at the attitude and service of the hosts. To give a couple of examples: (i) the reception dinner was intended to be a 4 course meal ending with cheese and coffee. The dinner ran a little late, as wedding dinners often do, so the caterers and hosts decided not to serve the cheese course or coffee without checking or apologising to the guests or the wedding couple. When our table asked for the cheese course, we were eventually served but when we then asked for coffee, they said they were not serving any more because it was too late. We were one of the few tables with the cheese course, some tables did not even get any (ii) One of the guests had prepared a slide show to be shown during the dinner. When he enquired with the male host whether they had a CD player for the music, the answer was "no". But what shocked us was that we then saw him put in a CD for a dance into a CD player later. No doubt, we could not believe the unhelpfulness. (iii) we were dancing near the band later and at around 11.30pm, the band announced the last song. At this point, the male host approached the band and said very rudely "that's it, no more". We were near the band and saw the way the male host had talked to the band. These are just a few examples. The general sense we got as guests was inflexibilty and unhelpfulness of the hosts. We suspect they may not be used to holding a big function and were clearly stressed out. We received fantastic service at the other places we visited in Queenstown and Central Otago but Stoneridge needs to pull their socks up and not rest their laurels on the beautiful scenery around the property to sell themselves. Particularly for weddings, guests will remember the slightest thing that marred their experience.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuxuryNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneridge, General Manager/Host at Stoneridge Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2008

The hosts of Stoneridge Estate are Wayne and Suzanne Gore and were not at this particular wedding. Instead, there were 8 high trained service staff whom looked after this wedding party of 77.

I'm sorry that this particular reviewer did not enjoy their experience at Stoneridge as other guests at that particular wedding seemed to, considering the gracious comments placed in our visitors book that evening. The reception dinner did run nearly 1 hour late due to the bridal photography running extremely behind schedule and with speeches also running well overtime. The Stoneridge Chef was ready with the meal at the predetermined time (set out in the function runsheet previously approved by the bride and followed by the Duty Manager) and given the circumstances of the scheduling had no choice but to delay the courses in order to accommodate the Bride and Groom’s timing. Buffet tea and coffee were served to guests until the venue closing time of 11:30pm. It is not accepted that the cheese course was not provided. It is admitted however that the cheese course went out late but the reviewer is mistaken if they thought that the cheese platter was not offered to each guest.

Music with Slideshow- The reviewer does not understand that the guest who wanted the slideshow wanted his pre-recorded slideshow to play thru Stoneridge’s sound system. With the correct leads he would have been most welcome to have done this. If we had been made aware of his wishes prior to the commencement of the reception we could have worked to obtain any necessary audio equipment he needed. Ironically, the bride and groom did book audio visual gear (which we had organized to hire) but had cancelled it prior to the wedding. It is unrealistic that we would offer our sound system (as we always do for mp3, Ipod, and cd music) to play the music for the first dance but then not offer it to someone else to provide background music for a visual display.

Dancing- It is apt the that the reviewer should say ‘at around 11:30pm’, it was in fact 11:40pm that the band were told “that’s it- no more” as Stoneridge’s license requires all bands and amplified music shall stop at the venue at 11:30pm. This requirement is detailed in the venue contract that all couples must sign when booking the venue and the venue must be vacated by 12:00am.

Stoneridge Estate holds many functions each month and our staff are extremely competent and experienced in dealing with functions of up to 120 guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

As we drove the stone gravel path up the hill through the vineyard, our first impression of Stoneridge Estate was incredulous. It was every bit as grand, inviting, and impeccable as in the website photos. We entered through the massive wood doors into a magical world. Suzanne, a symphony of light, energy and charm, was just finishing her conversation with a bride and groom, and turned her attention to us. From that moment onward, each time we were in the presence of either Suzanne or her husband Wayne, we felt as though we were the only guests in the place. We chose Stoneridge wanting pretty views, and a smaller lodge that would feel intimate, but still offer the feeling of spaciousness, luxury and privacy. Our four nights at Stoneridge exceeded every expectation. Our gorgeous and comfortable suite upstairs had a generous balcony overlooking lovely Lake Hayes (just 15 minutes from Queenstown, and more serene). When we awoke to the first light of day, the silver sky was emblazoned with pink and orange clouds. On our balcony in our robes, my husband and I had two cameras clicking away as a pair of hot air balloons appeared over the mountains and headed our way. The light and color of the sky, mountains, and lake reflection changed and then changed again. Finally appearing downstairs for breakfast, we were delighted with fresh cut fruit, our favorite cereal, the scent of fresh baked pastries, and the offer of a hot breakfast prepared to order. We were introduced to baby Brooke, a ray of sunshine (8 months old at this writing, and pure delight!), and then catered to and nurtured by Wayne and Suzanne until we were well fed and had our day perfectly planned; helicopter flights reserved, hikes mapped out, and ideal dinner reservations arranged. The other couples we met during our stay were all lovely, and several were newlyweds -- it was a pleasure to be in the company of young love. My husband and I adored every moment of our stay - from the evening cheese plates served with local wines by the pool, to the bubbling hot tub overlooking the lake - and found ourselves hoping that our flight home would be delayed, so that we might enjoy yet another night at Stoneridge. I would recommend Stoneridge Estate to even our most discriminating traveler friends.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2007

We booked our stay at Stoneridge through our wedding planner. From arrival Wayne and Suzanne were brilliant hosts! We stayed in the newly renovated honeymoon cottage on the estate, with it's own hot-tub, which was beautiful. Tastefully decorated, with luxurious furnishings. The food was really lovely, and plentiful! A wonderful base for our wedding, although we didn't actually get married here. The winery across the road was also well worth a visit for a fantastic and very reasonable lunch. Would go back in a shot.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gingerlou77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

Stoneridge Estate was a wonderful, quaint place to stay. The owners, Suzanne and Wayne were lovely people who went out of their way to ensure we had everything.

We went there to get married at the Chapel by the Lake, which is on this property. My now husband and I can only say it was "magical". The scenery was breathtaking and we have some wonderful memories of our wedding.

We will definitely be coming back here for one of our anniversaries.

If you want a magical memory, stay here :)

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debbie1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews