We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Bliss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stoneridge Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stoneridge Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Lake Hayes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wedding Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We selected Stoneridge for the wedding of our dreams and were not disappointed. Suzanne and Wayne are not only brilliant at the details but also wonderful people. The chapel and reception were out of this world. If your looking for a venue that will leave your guests breathless and you with memories forever Stoneridge is the place!! Thanks to all the staff, Suzanne, Wayne and de Vella for all you did for us.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SteveBell_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    6
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
31
102
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in early February and had a brilliant stay. Location was perfect with a view over Lake Hayes and mountains in behind it. The rooms were very nice and spacious and our room had a lap pool out the front - perfect for those 27 degree days.

Our host Wayne was friendly and helpful and willing to go the extra distance to make our stay worthwhile, including organising a courier for all the wine we had purchased during our trip. The in house chef made excellent breakfasts and a good latte to get us going in the morning.

There were a couple of weddings held at the facility during our stay but we barely noticed them.

Just superb and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prytax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We recently held our wedding ceremony in the gardens at Stoneridge and it was nothing short of spectacular. The back drop is amazing and the grounds immaculately maintained. Suzanne was extremely helpful and made the whole process very smooth, including being able to pick up the little extra bits of organising that we ran out of time to do. Highly recommended if you're thinking of getting married in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonoKnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had our 10th wedding anniversary here and it couldn't have been more spectacular, gorgeous or perfect. We were looked after by Diego and he was a gem. The food was amazing (thanks Bert), the setting is incredible and the owners so helpful and caring (thanks Wayne for picking us up from the airport).

There were a number of weddings when we were here (not that we really saw them) and I can't think of a better place to tie the knot.

Room Tip: The cottage is amazing but all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

extremely friendly staff, very efficient and lovely breakfast !
amazing views over Lake Hayes from beautifully furnished bedrooms, 15 minutes only from Queenstown, very relaxing experience during those 3 days !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nausicaa_75011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

As most people looking at this venue will know - it looks amazing on the web and we booked it from the UK having never seen it in real life.

So I can't tell you how impressed we were by how stunning the venue and whole property is in real life! It's really lovely and calming, and well maintained. It was such a privilege to get married somewhere so spectacular.

The reception venue is really cool, if you like the medieval look with stone & wood like we do then it's perfect!

We had the dance floor area at the back with the lower ceiling and it was alittle too hot for dancing (but it was a hot day) but not a lot could be done about that, except maybe a big fan!

We were lucky there was no event the night before so we were able to take the time we needed to set up, took till 10pm for us to set!!

Liasing with Suzanne via email was easy and she replied quickly to my many many questions.

While the venue is expensive we feel it was good value, especially compared to London prices and just how spectacular Stoneridge is.
Their add-on's are expensive though such as tea lights, PA system for ceremony, lighting the candelabra, so we hired from other sources where we could. Food & drinks were a reasonable cost and overall we were happy with the price.

The staff on the day were great, I had lots of guests comment that the staff were very attentive, especially during the drinks reception outside.
They all did everything I asked straight away and checked we were happy with our meals. I can't fault the service at all.

The food was good and I really enjoyed my meal. My only comment would be that the desserts lacked presentation or wow factor & the sticky date was only ok, but otherwise the food was a great success.
The wine was also good I don't think many people drank the non-Stoneridge wines.

It was a really hot day for us and we had the very large sail put up for our outdoor ceremony. Our guests certainly would have melted without it!

If it is hot then I recommend another sail outside Hayes room for your pre-dinner drinks or let guests into room as ours were huddled under the very little shade available.

I would thoroughly recommend Stoneridge for both ceremony & reception venue for your wedding. I'm happy to be contacted directly of you need more info.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KymmieMcwhinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneridge, Owner at Stoneridge Estate, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We thank the reviewer for their comments, and we are so glad that it was a spectacular wedding.

The venue contract specifies everything that is included and also identifies extra costs. We try to make these extra costs transparent so that the client has no trouble understanding the details of the contract.

Thanks again for your feedback, and we are so happy that you chose our venue to celebrate your special evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

My husband and I fancy ourselves a bit of hotel snobs. We only ever stay in 5 star or luxury boutique accommodation and expect the quality and service that comes with the inevitable price tag. After a while even the most sophisticated of establishments across the globe becomes a bit ‘ho-hum’…until we discovered Stoneridge estate, that is.
This place is truly exceptional!
The, lake and mountain views are simply astonishing and ever changing with the light of day. The landscaped gardens are a sight for sore eyes .. beautiful vineyards, bridges and ponds, bursting with rose and lavender.. truly romantic. It is impossible to take a bad photo on this estate!
The lodge and cottage are architectural masterpieces – oozing with the character and charm of yesteryear, whilst providing unadulterated luxury. But what truly keeps us coming back is the unsurpassable hospitality, exceptional service and of course the scrumptious food and fine wine!
The only way to describe Stoneridge is .. absolutely exquisite!

Room Tip: The cottage is magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehulst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Hayes
6.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
5.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
8.1 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
8.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneridge Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneridge Estate

Property: Stoneridge Estate
Address: 756 Lake Hayes-Arrow Junction Highway, Lake Hayes 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Lake Hayes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Hayes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stoneridge Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast accommodation with panoramic lake and mountain views in a tranquil setting overlooking our boutique vineyard and water gardens. Three beautifully furnished rooms, with ensuite bathroom, private balcony, TV & telephone. Private guest lounge, open fire, SKY TV, DVD player, lap pool and hot tub under the stars. Complimentary Internet. Also a private, self contained cottage with cosy open fire, ideal romantic retreat for couples and honeymooners. Stoneridge Estate, Queenstown New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Stoneridge Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing