We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy but very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maagan Kibbutz Holiday Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ma'agan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but very nice”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for two nights with our tour group, our one bedroom unit was very clean and quiet and the beach in the compound was right on the Sea of Galilee, we enjoyed the walk on the beach after dinner! I really like their food, not fancy but the salads were very fresh and I would say the best I've had comparing to several 4 stars hotels in Israel. I would like to come back to this place .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    91
    39
    9
    6
See reviews for
80
39
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently with a tour group and was disappointed with food, as compared to our stay three years ago. Dining room is apparently being renovated, and the substitute location is crowded and has minimal selection of foods. Rooms are also looking pretty dated. I suspect 80-90% of their business is tour groups so they don't see the need to improve guest experience significantly. Too bad, because with their beautiful location this could be an exceptional place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank michaelinanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nepal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

stayed here with tour group for 2 nights, setting right by the the lake is beautiful - but given our tours were from early morning til evening, didn't spend much time here, the facilities closed by time we returned from tour and our cabin was on the far side away from the lake.
location far away from anything, one night walked 20 minutes to nearest small group of shops as friend needed medicine from pharmacy
staff not very helpful
accommodation ok, nothing special
food selection very minimal on shabbat, and not great compared to other places we stayed on other night
wifi free in lobby area, no signal in rooms.
probably a good place for families wanting peace and quiet in country setting for kids to run around in, but not great for others

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nepalidocj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had stayed for a night at Ma'agan Holiday Village. Managed by the kibutz next door. had thought this was like a kibutz this, but this is more of a resort on its own. the rooms are like apartments - with a bedroom and a living room with a small kitchenette area. good for long stays. all rooms are on ground level, and you have a small lawn in front of your rooms. enjoy the open space. great swimming pool. also at the banks of the sea. as this is a kibutz concept - the breakfast is not very elaborate, but good. they have a general store within the resort for you to purchase stuff. overall its a nice stay. seemed a bit pricy though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajatBMumbai (Bombay)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

At first, I was disappointed not to be located in a waterfront chalet along with most of our party, seeing as we had all paid the same price. The robotic receptionist's response was "the hotel is full", but I soon realised this was untrue, as many chalets around me were unoccupied.

Taking an evening walk past the waterfront chalets I suddenly noticed 4 huge rat like creatures sniffing around the chalet doors. When we left 3 days later I showed the receptionists my photographs and asked what was this creature? One receptionist looked and wouldn't reply, the other said "nutria, water rat" and then went very quiet.

Our chalet had an odour - a cross between vomit and strong cleaning fluid. Even with the windows open, this odour which seemed to be on the sheets, clung to my nightdress until I washed it when I got home.

The worst thing for me was the food. Four members of our party ate out at the restaurant down the road after the first night, despite being tired and having paid for an evening meal. The vegetables were either out of a freezer or out of catering tins. Food was tipped into the metal serving trays like feeding pigs from a trough. We had no fresh green vegetables and the salad was cheap - no artichokes, asparagus, stuffed vine leaves, olives as we'd had in other hotels in Israel. The main course was luke warm and greasy, the soup was cold. The dining room was like a college canteen, suitable for backpacking students perhaps.

Had we not been part of a group, I would not have stayed more than one night. I very much got the impression that this badly managed kibbutz is trading wholly on it's great location, taking advantage of the fact that most of their clients are part of group tours - so you can't just check out and go elsewhere without inconveniencing the whole group. Therefore, they are able to feed you as cheaply as possible but charge a commercial rate.

Room Tip: large water rats hang around the waterfront chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AWalkerSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

On our tour of Israel, my husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. It was wonderful! Lots of food variety in their cafeteria. Rooms are quiet and relaxing. Very nice grounds to stroll around. Great swimming pool area. The Sea of Galilee was warm and the water clean and clear.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad spot for a room. It would depend more on how close or far away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nedra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Although the rooms are equipped with a kettle and microwave but there is a big but! Minimum was put in coffee, tea, sugar Fork and spoon, dish!!! Too bad the location is very good place but the total cultivated in a neglected Breakfast needs improvement

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eldad195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ma'agan
6.1 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
5.0 mi away
Ein-Gev Holiday Resort
Ein-Gev Holiday Resort
#1 of 2 in Ein Gev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ohalo Manor
Ohalo Manor
#2 of 2 in Jordan Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Nof Ginosar Hotel
Nof Ginosar Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ginosar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
10.6 mi away
Kibbutz Lavi Hotel
4.7 mi away
Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza
#16 of 37 in Tiberias
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maagan Kibbutz Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maagan Kibbutz Holiday Village

Property: Maagan Kibbutz Holiday Village
Address: Ma'agan 15160, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Jordan Valley > Ma'agan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ma'agan
Hotel Class:3 star — Maagan Kibbutz Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maagan Kibbutz Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maagan Holiday Village Hotel Jordan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing