We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“hideaway in the hills”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Chiara

vista frontale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
vista frontale
vista dall'interno della casa terrazzo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
29 reviews
vista frontale
vista dall'interno della casa
terrazzo
Ingresso
cucina
Cucina
Cucina
Interno
Letto
Bagno
bagno
Terrazzo
Esterno
Giardino casa
Barbecue
Barbecue
vista dal terrazzo
vista frontale
Vista del golfo dell'Addaura
Vista del golfo dalla terrazza
Vista all'alba
Spiaggia di Mondello
Mondello - Antico Stabilimento balneare
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mondello, Palermo, Province of Palermo, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
splog2015
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hideaway in the hills”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely little villa up in the hills overlooking the sea, our host Salvo was great, he picked us up at the airport took us into Mondello showing us some of the highlights, He then took us to the villa to drop of our case, then on to the local supermarket to do some shopping. The villa itself is lovely With all the amenities you could require inc out door BBQ and shower, lovely patios with plenty of loungers, the kitchen is well equipped should you need it and bathroom nice and modern. Its a 20 min walk down to Mondello beach which was fine for us all in all a delight. Salvo then took us back to the airport for our journey home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonorCH
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A tree house overlooking the sea”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

That's how it felt! It was like a wonderful little cabin hidden in the trees. Like other people have said, we were surprised by how much outdoor space there was: two terraces, a mini terrace over the house and a lawn. We spent most of our time in Mondello sat outside on one or other of the terraces.

Very, very handily, Salvo picked us up from our previous apartment in Palermo. I have no idea how we would have got to Mondello otherwise, and the journey over the mountains was amazing. Salvo stopped to show us viewpoints, churches, the sea...loved him. He also took us back on to the airport at the end of our stay, first dropping us off at the beach for one last hour in the sun.

Mondello itself is lovely. The sea is beautiful, the mountains are beautiful and some of the architecture is lovely. We were there over the (Sicilian) bank holiday weekend and the beach wasn't going to win any prizes after being hit by thousands of people but it was being cleaned up on the Monday.

The house was neat and clean, with ample space when you just know you'll be outdoors all the time. The kitchen was a bit limited for our needs (we cook a LOT) but wouldn't be if you plan on eating out most nights. We did use the outside grill on our last night which was interesting - due to our own complete lack of experience! You can buy charcoal at the little market down the hill if you need it. You can get pretty much anything you'd need there, including fresh bread, wine and vegetables alongside toiletries etc.

My favourite thing about the villa was the view. My lord! From the bed, you can see the sea and from the terraces you can see a LOT of sea. The top terrace (on top of the house) gives you a great view of the mountains looming behind you too.

Given that it was the bank holiday weekend, we were greeted by thumping drum and bass from a nearby house party (we were pretty pleased with that to be honest) but it was very quiet the rest of the time, bar family chat around the evening meal.

I don't know what else to tell you: comfortable bed, hot sun, lush greenery and a view of the sea that could break your heart. Book it.

Oh - if you don't like climbing hills, this ain't for you. It's a mountain, which helps offset the calorific value of all the arancini and cannoli you'll be eating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the outside areas - amazing.
Liked least: Kitchen utensils but we are fussy cooks!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngNRich8...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to relax in the sun”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was a lovely holiday. We felt we could hang out there all day, and did! There was more outdoor space than expected with lovely views of the sea. It's in a quiet area with main sound of the birds. Modern inside living area with gas cooking facilities and well equipped kitchen. Because of its location on the mountain, the mountain gives shade early evening, which may be a blessing in the summer. There is always sun at the beach below. I'd recommend a car to buy food and explore. Rosella, the owner, was very helpful and kind. She gave insturctions on how to reach them and we felt she was there if we needed anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and sound of birds
Liked least: In Shade a bit too early over the apartment
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilze j
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Paradise in the heart of Mandello”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We spent the most amazing 4 days in Mandello!
Villa Chiara is a little Paradise on this Earth where we would love to come back again and again.
We were so lucky to choose exactly this place!!!
Owner of this beautiful place Rosella and Salvo were very kind and welcoming.
From the moment we landed in Palermo we felt special.
Rosella was kind and picked us up from airport as well as on the last day her husband Salvo bring as to Palermo city centre and shoved us around where we stayed one more day shopping.
Fresh and delicious fruits were waiting for us in Villa Chiara.
Clean and modern apartment with beautiful sea view.
Trees and flowers all around.
Very modern and all new decorated place with little cosy kitchen where i as a big cook found everything you need to cook and serve.
Large bed and separate bathroom with shover and toilet.
You can wish for nothing more at Villa Chiara!!!
Very intimate and specious area outside with large table, beautiful grilling place, where we grilled our fish every evening.
Also the place offers wonderful area for sunbathing.
If you wish to get away with your loved one from busy city life and if you like comfort, peace, beautiful view and turquoise sea with beautiful sand, good food - this is the place to come!!!
Thank you again and again Rosella & Salvo,
Looking forward to come back next year!!! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: apartment clean, modern and beautiful
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KataandGa...
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best holiday ever”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The owner are extremely friendly, and the flat is beautiful and totally clean. It has a lovely garden, where we had a great time. It is a perfect place to have a really good rest. The beach is lovely.
Best holiday ever!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: thr garden
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
262Harry1...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely villa in a good location 10 mins from the beach”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is a genuine gem- the owners Rossella and Salvo were very kind, Salvo even picked us up and dropped us off at the airport for a much smaller charge than the local taxi's offer. The villa itself is modern inside and very clean, it's a cosy place but easily big enough for two people, with a private terrace and lawn as well. Mondello beach is simple 10 minute walk away, which was fantastic. All in all it was a fantastic holiday and the owners are genuinely lovely people, we would definitely recommend this villa to anyone looking for a nice two-person getaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rossella and Salvo (owners) were very helpful, villa was clean and modern, close to beach
Liked least: An oven in the kitchen would have been useful, but overall I had no complaints whatsoever
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnieszka...
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Villa is located just close to Salvo and Rosellas villa in a calm area by a natural reserve. It is basically a small equipped kitchen, a bedroom and bathroom with shower, very convenient for a couple for example. It has a small terrace where we have enjoyed taking breakfast and dinners with a splendid view on the blue turquoise sea.

It has also a small garden. We took the most of it by playing badminton. You have also an additional terrace with a swing and many transats which you can use to get some tan if you don’t want to go to the beach. The wifi connection is excellent.

This villa is 15 minutes walk from Modello beach but it is uphill, so it requires some walking everyday. Salvo and Rosella borrowed us their car for free to go down and up, this was very practical!

Actually, Salvo and Rosella are very hospitable; they have helped us every time we asked them. The first surprise was a cute fruit basket which was waiting for us when we arrived. Salvo picked us up from the airport and drove us to Carrefour (supermarket) for our first shopping. He also offered us a bottle of Sicilian red wine after we asked for some wine advices.

Salvo took us for a free tour in Palermo to show us the main monuments and some restaurants worth trying, this was even before we went there by bus. He also took us to Montepellegrino and showed us the Saint Rosalia sanctuary and some of the most beautiful views and landscapes of Palermo. There is actually lot to say… He took us to buy some local food specialties for very good prices, from this kind of places which only the locals know of. He pointed as well a bakery close to Mondello beach where we used to buy our ciabatta every day. He drove us gain to the airport, very nice of him.

Modello beach is a bay with clear water and not that many waves (we were there in last weeks of June). You will for sure enjoy floating on the water facing the hills around the bay! During weekends, the beach was so crowded that it was not possible to find a suitable place if you got there late. Along the beach there are privates spaces reserved for people willing to pay 20 euros par day or 10 euros after 2 PM. This price includes access to two transats with parasol, and open air showers. We took this option many times, especially when the sun was shining very sharp.

The people in Mondello are very friendly and the prices are reasonable. After all, they show the prices so you can decide before you order. It is a safe area, we walked many times back to the villa very late in the night…

To sum it up, if you look for some place where you can relax, get some tan, enjoy food (especially wine and gelato), so Mondello is for you.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing