We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Second H0me? Moana Lodge! in Plimmert0n ;)”
Review of Moana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moana Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
1 review
“My Second H0me? Moana Lodge! in Plimmert0n ;)”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed almost 4 weeks at Moana Lodge, while discovering the Wellington area.
It is a 20 minute drive to Wellington. Idearly located near to the city. Beautiful quiet place within a calm realaxing environment.
Seriously, who does not like to stay in totally clean rooms, in a tidy nice equipped kitchen, surrounded by kind people [Hey Danny ;) ] .And the best Backpackers in New Zealand!! Just 10 steps to the beach!
I loved to cruse the streets with my longboard around Moana Lodge, rolling at heaven's place ;).

Honestly this is an amazing place!!
Next time i come to Wellington i definetly come back to Moana Lodge!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreAsS1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachViews49, Front Office Manager at Moana Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are glad you liked the scenery and the service. We look forward to seeing you again....with your longboard in tow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    24
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
43
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

It really was nearly a home to me. You could see the sun set from the lounge and the hills from the kitchen. Here are some beautiful walking tracks around this area and wellington is close. One step out of the door and you are directly on the beautiful beach. I enjoyed my stay pretty much! The staff is lovely and very competent. Only the best are working their. Everything is clean and tidy especially the kitchen which is absolutely amazing. You've got everything you need even a dishwasher! The rooms are cute and if you've got a little luck you get one ocean-side.
And one tip for couples: book room number 14, an own house perfect for being alone when you dont want to meet the other people (which are always nice and handsome- after my experience).
If you want to be in the best hostel in new zealand - go their!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisakampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachViews49, Front Office Manager at Moana Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and value your comments. Room 14 is indeed a wee gem elevated with a beautiful view and plenty of sunshine. We work hard to keep things clean and tidy so it's lovely to get positive feedback on our facilities and staff.
Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heide, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Moana Lodge is much more than a hostel, it's a five star backpackers accomodation that is definetely worth a visit. You will be absolutely blown away by the breathtaking oceanview just in front of your window. Shortly after entering this inviting accomodation it will feel like home already. You will notice the love and attention to detail in every single room as well as in the rest of the building. The toilets and bathrooms are very clean and modern. You can enjoy your meal in the beautiful dining room and make yourself feel comfortable in the lounge afterwards. Me and my boyfriend loved this place and I will definetely be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachViews49, Front Office Manager at Moana Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi Rebekka,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and all the facilities...not to mention that beautiful view! We hope you will visit us again soon.
All the best for your travels.
From the team at Moana Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I wanted to thank Danny and his staff for such an awesome experience during my 4 nights with you. We used the lodge as a base while attending a block course at Whitireia, the close proximity to the Polytechnic insured we didn't have to leave to early. At the end of the day, the lounge was a great place to relax, study and enjoy the magnificent views.
Moana lodge is immaculately presented with the rooms clean & warm and very comfortable beds. The kitchen is well stocked with every possible utensil needed which made cooking meals a breeze.
Most defiantly looking forward to my next stay in 4 weeks

Thanks Danny & Staff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachViews49, Owner at Moana Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you Lisa for your very positive comments. We are pleased you and your colleges all enjoyed a pleasant stay at Moana Lodge. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I booked this hostel for a week in July. My impression of the staff members, including Danny were very pleasant. They were friendly, approachable and made an effort to resolve my queries. For example, when I lost my free internet vouchers, I received replacement ones with no qualms nor quarrels. Furthermore, I was particularly impressed by the bedrooms, because some beds in my room were traditional beds instead of bunk beds and I could hear the sound of the waves when I woke up.

I was particularly impressed by the amount of free 'goodies' that were supplied by the hostel that other hostels may charge for as extras; free duvet, free towel, free internet vouchers and free bathroom body wash. I didn't even have washing powder but Danny gave me some for free.

Overall, an exemplary experience by exemplary staff and an exemplary location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorfromLondon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachViews49, Owner at Moana Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which allows us to know we are achieving and a high standard of service and hospitality for our guests during their stay. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived at the lodge during sunset and the views were just spectacular! Danny was wonderful when he checked us in, he was very friendly and informative, the lodges is beautiful.

The kitchen is huge and well equipped. The dining room is large and the lounge room has amazing views of the ocean and the mountains.

We stayed in a private double and the view from our room was amazing we didn't want to shut the curtains while we were sleeping! It was nice to lay in bed with the electric blanket on and listen to the waves. Room was clean, towels were provided. Free wifi was also a bonus. And the rooms are a reasonable price.

Not too far from Wellington is also a great aspect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classy2010, Owner at Moana Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Rachael, thank you for your feedback and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. And glad you liked our guests kitchen. We loved having you stay and look forward to seeing you again if you are back in Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wow. I received a super-friendly welcome by Danny and detailed information about the city and Wellington. He booked me into a huge room facing the ocean. The complete house was spotless and there was attention to detail, e.g. all toilets had a specific color scheme, hair dryers were offered etc.

The kitchen was PERFECT with all the utensils you need. All clean and well maintained, a real jewel. Dish washer. Max 30 min to Welli by car. Guest ages ranged from a baby to an 80 yrs old couple, which I thought was a cool mix and proof that all ages love the lodge!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jboe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classy2010, Owner at Moana Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. And glad you enjoyed our great kitchen facilities. Thank you for taking your time to provide this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plimmerton
14.2 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
94 reviews
15.2 mi away
Greenmantle Estate
Greenmantle Estate
#1 of 7 in Paraparaumu
89 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spinnaker Motel
Spinnaker Motel
#1 of 2 in Porirua
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
AAA Mana Motel
AAA Mana Motel
#2 of 2 in Porirua
62 reviews
4.6 mi away
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
0.0 mi away
Marina Motor Lodge
Marina Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mana
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Lodge

Property: Moana Lodge
Address: 49 Moana Road, Plimmerton, Porirua 5026, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua > Plimmerton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Plimmerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moana Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located for an exceptional beachfront experience, Moana Lodge offers excellent accommodation facilities combined with amazing sea views. Just ten steps from the water’s edge and overlooking Plimmerton Bay, it provides the ultimate stay for a peaceful relaxing break. Being an accredited 5 star backpackers, all facilities are immaculate and well kept. With a fully equipped farmhouse kitchen, outdoor courtyard, and friendly welcoming hosts, you can be assured of a peaceful relaxing stay.Situated just 20 mins from Wellington city, with easy access to public transport, you can truly get out and about enjoying all that the Capital has to offer. And at the end of a fun filled day you can come home, relax, and enjoy a wine in our sunny outdoor courtyard!Moana Lodge offers a superb range of rooms catering for groups, families, couples and individuals. With a combination of single, twin, double and larger family rooms, you can choose the option that best meets your requirements and budget. And for backpackers travelling alone, enjoy your stay in our 4-bed share room. As quoted by Lonely Planet: “…this exceptional backpackers right on the beach is immaculate and inviting…”. Moana Lodge also attained the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Moana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing