We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cutesy, relaxing & quiet”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kingsdown, Deal, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachael M
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cutesy, relaxing & quiet”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a couple of nights at Myrtle Cottage over May Bank Holiday weekend - and it was fab. Perfectly sized for 2 (though it can sleep 4). Cute little courtyard garden, wooden burner in the front room, half/barn style door to the road - and only a short stroll to the beach. I think it may become a fave

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2017
Hello Rachel
I am delighted to had a lovely time at Myrtle Cottage and we hope to see you again.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review too.

Keepers Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancyb173
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretty kingsdown cottage”
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Myrtle cottage was lovely. It was very small which is why I put 4 for value and rooms as I felt it was a bit steep price wise.
The parking is certainly an issue which is why I put 4 for location. Village is meant to be 20mph but no one seems to bother with this!!
But kingsdown itself is lovely. We were a few doors away from the Kings head which is highly recommend. We also visited Zetland arms which was nice but very busy
The local butchers is a must all produce local and home made . Lovely people as well
You can walk to Deal along the front. Our little dog loved it as well very dog friendly area
We will certainly return to kingsdown but maybe somewhere that parking is a bit easier !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovemberI...
Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely location in a village by the sea”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I stayed here with a friend and her dog in July. It was a lovely weekend in a great location.

Kingsdown has a village pub, a shop and a great butchers, and is about a 3 minute walk from the beach and another great pub, all you really need for a weekend away!

The cottage is very well equipt for a weekend away with everything you could need, most of the basics are covered, and it's really comfy and cosy. We enjoyed cooking and eating in the garden, lots of long walks and a visit to Deal for the Saturday market.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden table
Liked least: The twin beds - they were SO uncomfortable.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B
1 review
“Friendly & home from home”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great place in a great location.
Friendly pubs & 5 mins from the beach
Great Saturday market in nearby Deal

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia1212...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location but average accomodation”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Myrtle Cottage in May 2016 for 5 nights. The accomodation was ok, we had everything that we needed but the standard was not the best. Additionally, for 4 people the cottage felt a bit cramped, eating together at the small table was quite a challenge. Thankfully the weather was nice so we could enjoy the outside. The location is great and makes for a perfect relaxing stay. On the whole, it was a great stay, however, we think that the standard and care for the accomodation could be improved.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire S
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage, great location”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a couple with our eleven year old daughter during the autumn half term. It was our third visit and we will definitely return again! Myrtle Cottage is beautifully furnished and very well-equipped. The owners have thought of everything to make you feel comfortable and at home. We particularly like sitting in the garden and we all love the stable door! It is in an ideal location, one minute from the newsagents/convenience store, post office and butchers (which also sells amazing cheeses, chutneys and fresh vegetables) and a five minute stroll to the beach. There are three pubs to choose from and a meal at the Zetland Arms (right on the beach) is a must. We took our dog with us and she enjoyed walks along the beach and up along the cliffs, where the views are amazing. We can't wait until our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Furnishings/decor, location
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very pretty cottage in a lovely village. A short walk to the beach/sea and within spitting distance of the local pub where the food was ace.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing