We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautifully refurbished, fantastic beach location”
Review of The Zetland Arms

The Zetland Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Kingsdown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“beautifully refurbished, fantastic beach location”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Well worth a visit on foot, by bike - but drive carefully along the stony and bumpy road before parking on the beachy area. Plenty of outside seating, but recently gloriously renovated inside. We stopped briefly for a drink but the locals love it and it's often fully booked for food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    181
    65
    36
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great fish dishes”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went for our tea one evening and liked it that much we returned for a dinner. It was very close to where we was staying and it always seemed busy. The inside seating area is small but there is a lot of seating out back and the front. We didn't book and both times found a seat out back, luckily the weather was really nice. We had fish dishes every time and they are great potions and yummy! Its in a great location next to the sea and hidden away, but very busy. Would recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Booking???”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Went here last Sunday and was told they were fully booked, we could however have a sandwich. As we didn't want a sandwich for Sunday lunch we decided to just have a couple of drinks. On the plus side, the food we saw did look very appetising.
Tried to book a table for this Sunday and was told that they are not accepting bookings for Sunday lunch, so we don't want to waste our time again.
It would be good to know what this restaurants official policy is on booking tables, perhaps the owners will reply to this review.
I am determined to try this restaurant and if I find it to be good or perhaps even excellent I will withdraw this review and do another one based on the restaurant and food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark503900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth the Walk”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Both my sister and I had walked from Deal town centre all the way out to the Zetland Arms, very warm day and not too busy being a Monday. Good service and great pub food and plenty of it. Nice to go to a pub where you can order a pint of Prawns for a starter. Lovely atmosphere inside and great views over the channel. Will be going again soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhulke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top marks”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in for a meal Sunday. Found it was fully booked, the big guy managed to squeeze me in which I was thankful for as we had the best meal to date. The zet gets better every week.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beerguzzle35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Zetland Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Zetland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing