We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No.84, good family holiday.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsdown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingsdown Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, we have been before and would go again.
Our chalet/lodge was very clean and well equipped. Excellent price for a week in the summer holidays.
There are 6 of us in total, 2 adults and 4 kids aged 6-14. They all loved it here, especially the swimming pool.
There are 4 bedrooms, 2 downstairs (1 twin and 1 double). Small but managable kitchen, although oven is rather slow. Good shower over a small bath. Some parts could do with a bit of updating, but everything worked and was clean.
Upstairs are two twin rooms with a toilet. Good size tv compared to our last rental here, it was tiny. We couldn't get the DVD player to work but there were many more activities to do, so not a big hardship.
One problem with these rentals is that there are no windows downstairs, so one night we had to have the door of our bedroom open. Anyone could have walked straight in but it was too hot to sleep!
The location was good for us on this occasion as I had limited mobility and it is very close to everything but the downside is some noise in the evening as people are going past. Next time we might chose one slightly further away. This chalet does get the sun all day which is very nice.
You do have to pay for electricity. We spent approx £6 for the week, bring £1 coins for the meter.
The park is well kept, very neat and tidy, with some good sea views. The restaurant is nice, slightly pricy but they do lovely pizza for a good price. The free wifi is in the lounge/restaurant but all the boys get in there first to play minecraft and then it's hard to connect to it. On plus side its nice to have a break from technology.
The beach is a stony beech so no sand but the kids enjoyed stone throwing competitions.
We went to deal a few times and there is a nice restaurant on the end of the pier, lovely views.
The holiday park also held their annual family fun day on the bank holiday, which included free bouncy castle, free bucking bronco, free sumu suits, face painting for £1, BBQ, and free outside cinema later in the evening.
All in all, a very relaxing stay but with enough activities to keep the kids happy.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Als_holsandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 227 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

It would be easy to sing the virtues of the Kingsdown Holiday Park, but it is far better to advise you try it for yourselves. Excellent value for money, on-site facilities and environment, it is WELL worth the visit. Have been again since May 2013, and views remain the same. Go or miss a true gem of Kent

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sisterofmercy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KDP_Team, Holiday Sales Manager at Kingsdown Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave this pleasant review. We really appreciate all reviews especially ones as complimentary as this! I hope that we’ll see you again in the future and Kingsdown Park will continue to charm you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife, 2 and half year old daughter and myself stayed at Kingsdown in July 2013 and enjoyed a great holiday. The park itself is well presented, clean, and a very safe, tranquil site (particularly for children). We found the staff friendly and helpful at every turn. We had been specified a bath in our cabin which our first cabin didn't have, however we were given a selection of other cabins to choose from and found an appropriate cabin shortly after. I think the majority of cabins are privately owned and then maintained and let out by the park so there were stark differences between the cabins in terms of décor etc (depending on owners personal tastes and budget) but all were clean and tidy. The park is popular with overseas visitors with many from France, Germany and Holland also staying (unsurprising given the location) which made a refreshing change on a UK holiday. The park is well located for walking to the nearby shingle beach and plenty of family day trips out are also within easy reach. Overall we thought it a very good value family holiday park which we wouldn't hesitate to visit again. A more obvious sign for the park from the road would be helpful when trying to find it initially!

Room Tip: The cabins do vary greatly in terms of their furnishings and décor as many seem to be privately owne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpianBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent and well kept holiday park with friendly and very helpful staff. Good, welcoming lounge bar with reasonably priced food and drinks. Lodge 38 was very well equipped and would have been comfortable if it had not smelled so musty and damp. Although the lodge was clean we were not able to unpack our clothes at all since the wardrobes/drawers, curtains etc smelled really unpleasant. Despite the much appreciated efforts of the park manager and cleaning supervisor in purchasing air fresheners etc the problem did not go away. What a disappointment!! We are not a fussy family and did not let it spoil our holiday, but it could have been so much better!

Room Tip: Suggest you avoid lodge 38 until furniture and fabrics are replaced and the lodge properly aired. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tel1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KDP_Team, Holiday Sales Manager at Kingsdown Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Kingsdown Park on here. All reviews are greatly received!
I'm sorry you experienced some issues with your accommodation but I’m glad to read that our staff responded quickly and professionally to your concerns. I can only apologise that we could not resolve the issues fully before your departure. I hope this doesn't deter you from returning to Kingsdown Park as from what I have read you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Picked out Kingsdown Park at short notice from the Hoseason's website and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Kingsdown Park was clean and tidy and although an unusual shape, the "Sheds" or "Toblerones" as my teenage daughters quickly named them were comfortable accommodation. Staff were always very friendly and ready to try and help with any advice about the park or local area.

Deal is just two or three miles up the road with a full range of pubs, bars and restaurants. Also two large supermarkets so no need to fill your car with supplies. Unpack your clothes and then go food shopping!

The nearby beach is shingle rather sand which is a shame but more than made up for the excellent food and drink at the Zetland Arms on the seafront.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just returned from a great weekend stay at kingsdown park, chalet 66 and am already on the lookout for another great deal! We were a party of 3 adults and 5 children ranging from 15 down to 6 and there was something for everyone.....especially the kids! Of course, there was plenty for the adults too, including a very pleasant lounge bar which we frequented on many occasions! The staff were very obliging and nothing was too much trouble! Great food at great prices with great service!!!! Will definitely be recommending to friends.....very family orientated. Only downside to the break away was all the tears I had from my youngest when we had to say goodbye to the bar staff...she was besotted with them all, especially Rachel and Les!!! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angiem435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KDP_Team, Holiday Sales Manager at Kingsdown Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this and share it with everyone. I’m so glad to see you enjoyed your time here at Kingsdown Park and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

we visited in march in chalet 68 and loved it so much, that my dad booked a holiday for all his grandchildren, and children [tho sadly my sister has died and my brother in law was working, so only their kids came] in the same chalets. these chalets are well appointed, maintaind well and have had new double glazing since we went in march! although the weather was scorching, it wasn't too hot in the chalet and we slept fine. since there is a patio at the back as well as grassy area to sit out and porch at the front we could always choose sun or shade. the park didn't feel too busy or full despite it being school holidays, we could always get into the pool, again never felt too full. at low tide the beach has some sand at the wave line, though later on it is pebbly. we loved sandwhich beach - only a short drive, and visited deal and walmer castles, richborough fort and port lympne.
my only gripe with kingsdown was the execrably slow service in the bar/restaurant. it was half empty, there was plenty of staff, but it still took 2 hours to have 2 courses, and we were in a hurry!!
i would definatley recommend this pace.

Room Tip: chalets 67 and 68 - search on internet and book direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank HappyHEmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KDP_Team, Holiday Sales Manager at Kingsdown Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

A big thank you from all the Kingsdown Park staff for taking the time to write this lovely review, it’s always a pleasure to see Kingsdown Park has been enjoyed by yet another family!
I’m sorry to hear you had a less than satisfactory experience in our Lounge Bar and Restaurant; it has had many shining reviews so far this year and we can only offer our deepest apologises to you. Hopefully we’ll see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsdown
2.8 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
107 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
555 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sutton Vale Country Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Plough Inn Ripple
The Plough Inn Ripple
#2 of 3 in Kingsdown
46 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Kingsdown Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsdown Holiday Park

Address: Kingsdown Park Upper Street, Kingsdown, Deal CT14 8EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal > Kingsdown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kingsdown
Price Range: $40 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the review page for holidays booked direct through Kingsdown Holiday Park only. Kingsdown Park is the perfect location for peaceful relaxing breaks or active, fun family holidays. Whether it's finding shells with the family on the beach, strolling around a pretty fishing village or getting active on the golf course or tennis court, Kingsdown Park has a wonderful holiday waiting for you. In the heart of a spacious tree-lined park atop dramatic cliffs, Kingsdown Park is set along an unrivalled piece of Kent's stunning coastline. The Park has is right by the beach, a giant beach playground for families, where you can swim, play and relax in an inspiring environment. A charming seaside town, Kingsdown has some quaint pubs perfect for tasty lunches or dinners, and the nearby town of Deal boasts an excellent selection of cafes, bars & restaurants, all just a short stroll away. The wide range of local shops offer everything from everyday groceries to that special seaside memento. Kingsdown's relaxing appeal is mirrored by its close proximity to the south east's best visitor attractions, many of which are no further than a short 30 minute drive. The county of Kent has unrivalled beauty and we are sure you will find an abundance of visitor attractions, sight seeing tours or just shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingsdown Park Holiday Village Hotel Deal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing