We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Speakeasy

The Speakeasy
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Holdrege
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Food, Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Our relatives showed us the way out to the Speakeasy, just a short drive outside of town (if you know where you are going...)

The restaurant was mostly empty on this weeknight, but we found the surroundings comfortable. Our party of six gave the menu a good sampling; we took the onion rings and mushrooms from the appetizer menu, then jumped into three different cuts of steak and all four sauces plus the salmon.

While I wouldn't quite rank the Speakeasy on par with the Omaha or Lincoln steakhouses, the chef does do a nice job, the staff is friendly, and the surroundings are comfortable, making the folks of Holdrege and surrounding area better off for its presence.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tradr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holdrege, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“it's always a surprise to find a excellent restaurant in the middle of nowhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

good service, good food, great atmosphere just plain good
An excellent establishment to meet friends, entertain guests or treat yourself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holdrege, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always a great meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ryan the chef there has brought big town food to little town Nebraska. I try to go with the special of the night because it is fresh and fun and something new. You can't go wrong with ANY of the steaks and of course their homemade onion rings!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SherriLindstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood, Nebraska
Level Contributor
387 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Out of the way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

First of all realize this place in not in Holdrege itself but about six miles southeast towards Wilcox so you won't just stumble upon it. We had to order the onion rings as it seemed every table around us had a plate and they were worth it, light tasty breading and perfectly cooked. Everything about the meal was great except for the two things you'd want perfect, the meat. My wife's steak was decent but not what you'd expect for the price and my prime rib was OK, not the most tender and over seasoned for my taste. Still as choices go this is one of the better places in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Letsroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Speakeasy also viewed

 

Been to The Speakeasy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing