We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly room, poor shower, and flies”
Review of Midlands Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Midlands Lodge
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Hastings
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Upon entering the room you were hit with a bad smell. Not one of smoke but something else. After running the AC for awhile it was better but it never went away. The shower head came up to your mid chest area with a very small and old bath tub. Very hard to take a decent shower. The room was also fly infested, and they knew it, there was a fly swatter in the desk drawer. Only given a very small packet of shampoo and a few small bars of soap. Not family friendly, there were guests in lawn chairs bar b queng, drinking and smoking for hours. There is a busy McDonalds in the parking lot where the patrons can see into the pool area.
On the plus side there is a large tv, a good size refrigerator (old but clean) and a small microwave in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 40 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I Am A BusinessTraveler - 140 Nights Per Year. I Have Stayed Here 3 Times In The Past Year.
If You Are Looking For A Comfortable Room, Big TV, Perfect Bed....Look No Further. I Have Stayed At The Big Chain Motels North Of Town And They Have Nothing On This Place.
This Place Is AWESOME!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14stevetaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was in the area for a business meeting and decided to stay at Midland's Lodge. I was greeted by their friendly staff and was directed to my room right away. The room was clean and well organized. The beds are very decent compared to the affordable price. I enjoyed the nice LCD TV in my room and free breakfast in the morning. Will stay here again if I come back.

Room Tip: I stayed on the higher floor, the room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We recently stayed at Midland Lodge on our way to Colorado. We had a late check-in and were greeted by friendly staff. We enjoyed breakfast and hit the road. The price was great and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pattycake66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike67042, General Manager at Midlands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thanks for your business. Look forward again !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The room was very clean and I could tell it had many recent upgrades including the nice LCD TV. The beds were very comfortable, and the girl at the front desk was super nice and helpful.
The free breakfast was good, and my family was happy. Will definitely stay again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike67042, General Manager at Midlands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thanks for your stay !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The room was nice and clean. I got an upgrade to room no 200 that has three beds with larger room space. Nice to have LCD and a clean bathroom. Will stay again if i happen to visit the town. The lady at the front desk was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Room # 200 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Midlands Lodge literally flanks a very busy McDonald's (on two sides) on the south side of Hastings, NE. The big-name, newer chain hostelries are on the north side of town and, like many secondary markets, their prices are a bit more than one might expect or anticipate - even on booking sites like Hotwire. The very reasonably-priced Midlands Lodge takes you back to yesteryear with keys (not key cards) for your room, bare essentials (thin towels, razor-blade slivers of soap, no bottles of shampoo, conditioner, or lotion), and zero atmosphere. But it delivers on other features. A wide-screen Phillips TV graces the room, the water is hot and immediate in its delivery, and the (king-sized) bed was comfortable. The furniture is sub-Super 8 except for an excellent swivel desk chair. The air conditioning/heating worked flawlessly. There is a seasonal outdoor pool in what's essentially the middle of the parking lot.

Amazingly, I was undisturbed by any noise from the McDonald's or the busy corner on which the motel sits although some adjacent room noise can seep through the walls. One might mistakenly be alerted to a knock on one's door when it's really, in fact, next door. All rooms on both floors have outside access/egress. There's a complimentary breakfast of which I did not avail myself (OK, I love the McDonald's steak/onion/cheese breakfast sandwich. There! I said it!). Bernardo's Steak House is but a few blocks away and most of the national chain restaurants are represented in this handsome small city of 25,000+. There are also a couple Chinese buffets in town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike67042, General Manager at Midlands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for taking time and writing this review.

You are right, Hastings is growing fast with 25000 plus, vibrant, prosperous community that blends progressive thinking with a respect for strong community values. Throughout history, Hastings has proved to be a wonderful place for people to live, work and opportunity for businesses to thrive.

Glad that you liked reasonalble prices and modern features like wide-screen Phillips TV and Sealy (king-sized) bed. As you know no other hotel franchises offers this in town. We continue to get better.

Thanks for your business and hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.3 mi away
Hastings Express Inn
Hastings Express Inn
#9 of 10 in Hastings
24 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 10 in Hastings
79 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Hastings
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
C3 Hotel & Convention Center
3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Hastings
Rodeway Inn Hastings
#6 of 10 in Hastings
21 reviews
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Hastings
Super 8 Hastings
#4 of 10 in Hastings
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midlands Lodge

Address: 910 W J St, Hastings, NE 68901-6810
Location: United States > Nebraska > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: $44 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Midlands Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REMODELED with large LCD TVs and Sealy PillowTop Mattress Sets.Offering free Wi-Fi and a cable TV in every room, this hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Hasting, Nebraska city centre and the Adams County Fairgrounds are less than 1 mile away.A microwave and a refrigerator are included in every room at Midlands Lodge. A hairdryer and a work desk are also included in every room.Guests can enjoy a swim in the seasonal outdoor pool at Midlands Lodge. A launderette is available on site.Hastings Museum of Natural and Cultural History, Hastings College and The Bill Smith Softball Complex are within 10 minutes’ drive of this hotel. Aquacourt Family Waterpark and Central Community College Hastings Campus are less than 5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Midlands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing