We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely rooms - not cheap but worth it”
Review of The Bear's Paw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bear's Paw
Ranked #1 of 2 Warmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely rooms - not cheap but worth it”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

After our latest visit I felt I had to share this gem of a place.

The Bear's Paw isn't your run-of-the-mill country pub. Yes, there's a good bar with a regularly changing supply of cask ales to accompany the usual on-tap selection, there's leather sofas by a warming fire to welcome you on colder days - but that's far from all that the place has to offer.

The pub is deceptively large, but decorated with a comfortable, relaxed but decidedly stylish sensibility. Despite it's sprawling rooms they are separated into a variety of sizes, so it's entirely possible to have an intimate meal with your special someone or have a boisterous gathering without feeling that you are inhibiting someone else's meal. The staff are knowledgable, pleasant and happy to meet your demands with a smile without being over-bearing.

There's a well-sized, quality menu. The changing seasonal dishes tell you that they cook what is in season and your first mouthful will tell you that they cook it well. Whilst not cheap it's fairly priced and very few will find themselves arguing with the size of the bill. On the whole it's quality ingredients cooked well and served with a nice dash of flair. The latest example of this that I tried was their steak burger. I normally run a mile from this kind of dish, but the accompanying onion rings, relish and salad that you can add as you desire it becomes a classy, tummy filling dish.

They also have some beautiful rooms that, again whilst not cheap are worth the money charged. They are tastefully appointed and have some nice mod cons that add to the charm of the room rather than overpower it.

Is it perfect? No, but the faults are more niggles than anything. With the quality of the food it mystifies me why they would serve what are quite clearly frozen chips. Charge me an extra few £'s but give me decent chips and no crunchy little bottom-of-the-bag odds and ends. But the main weakness are their offering of desserts. Apart from their cheese plate, which is well put together and generous - the rest are mainly a disappointment. On our latest visit they offered a sticky toffee bread and butter pudding with custard. Sadly, the thought of the dessert was far more appetising than the actual dish. The pudding was stodgy but without the hinted at sweetness or stickiness. The custard was more a Crème anglaise, bland and missing the dash of sweetness so desperately needed. They also offer sundaes which are in need of a bit more thought and imagination.

With that said I never have a seconds pause when booking. I know I will enjoy my time there as would family and friends.

One thing not to miss - the Bailey's Hot Chocolate, especially on a winters eve!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    177
    42
    17
    16
See reviews for
203
539
12
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Dunbartonshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We came across this excellent pub by chance, looking for a stopover for the night. We were delighted to have found it and now hope to visit it whenever we pass through in future. The room we had was superb and very comfortable. Service was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a very good dinner in the restaurant. We would have liked to have been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRnJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was our first visit to The Bears Paw, its safe to say it won't be our last.
The room was spacious and modern, the staff all helpful and polite.
We dined in the restaurant, which I have to say was excellent.
Altogether good value for money, and close to the M6.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulAllington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was our second visit this year, and we weren't disappointed, so I just had to write a review ! As Hi Life card holders, an evening meal at the Bears Paw is excellent value, as from Sunday to Monday we were entitled to a free starter and main course. The food served here is absolutely superb...I had the goat cheese bon bons,..deep fried and with a beetroot salad, then I had the blade of beef, which was so tender and succulent..perfection ! It came with some roasted root veg, celeriac and parsnip, on a bed of mash along with a very tasty red wine gravy. Heaven..just faultless. I had a large Australian Shiraz which was the perfect accompaniment to the meal. My partner had the white onion soup and the fish pie, which was equally recommended. I paid compliments to the waitress about the food, but there was no feedback, but I put that down to lack of training. Just to add that the service is efficient and just right timing wise. We were seated in the bar area close to the fire place, so it was a little noisy but didn't detract overall from a really enjoyable evening. Top marks to the chef at the Bears Paw..we will be back soon !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night recently. It is an ideal area to split a long journey from central Scotland and although Warmingham is right in the heart of the countryside, it is easy to find via Sat-Nav or through the use of a good Road Atlas.
All aspects of the overnight stay were completely satisfactory.The checking-in process, the accommodation, the evening meal in the restaurant and the Sunday morning breakfast.
Service from staff was consistently warm and courteous.
The Bear's Paw is eseentially an Inn with Rooms above it - but however you would describe it, the visit will prove to be a memorable one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimBlandings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Beautiful looking inn, which is much bigger than it looks once inside. As soon as you walk thro the entrance, which is off the car park around the back of the inn, you can tell your in for a top quality stay from the initial friendly greeting and comfortable but stylish surroundings to the roaring real fire in the soft seating area.
The executive double room was tastefully decorated and very spacious. This overnight stay included a very delicious breakfast.
The restaurant meal on the night was highly enjoyable. My husband had the fillet steak which you cooked at the table and I enjoyed a very tasty rib eye.
My only criticism was we ordered a morning paper, which when arrived was well thumbed through and the supplement was missing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelvalamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had to visit family in Keele so we found this hotel 15 miles away which was a very nice place indeed. We were upgraded to a superior room with a kingsize bed and had a good meal of fish and chips in the hotel restaurant. No complaints and would use again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmkensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warmingham
4.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
20.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,167 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
315 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear's Paw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear's Paw

Property: The Bear's Paw
Address: School Lane, Warmingham CW11 3QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Warmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bear's Paw 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th century character inn situated in the picturesque village of Warmingham. Accessible from the M6 and strategically placed between three market towns; Sandbach, Middlewich and Crewe. The luxurious boutique style bedrooms with exquisite decor and furnishings are the ideal haven for a peaceful nights rest. This charming, yet stylish, gastro inn uses only the freshest and most seasonal produce which is locally sourced wherever possible and features six real ales from local micro breweries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bear's Paw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bear`s Paw Hotel Sandbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing