We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”
Review of The Bear's Paw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bear's Paw
Ranked #1 of 2 Warmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I am lucky enough to live a 20 minute drive from this fabulous place . The interior of the place is beautiful and the outside seating area truly relaxing . The food is to die for - the best onion rings I have ever tasted !! I'm looking forward to an overnight stay to round the whole experience off. I cannot recommend this hidden gem highly enough

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatsmumUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    163
    40
    15
    15
See reviews for
191
515
12
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for one Saturday night.
The staff are all very efficient , welcoming and knowledgeable.
Had a few drinks on the small lawned area in front of the hotel before being given the key to our room.
It was a very hot summers evening and the room was very warm too , but a fan helped cool it down.
The local church clock chimes all night , so with the windows open it disturbed our sleep a little.
After a while you get used to it though and it is a pleasant chime that you don't often hear nowadays.
The bedroom and bathroom are nicely furnished with new flat screen tv , tea and coffee making , over bath shower etc.
The restaurant is the main attraction here and the menu , wine list and bar offer a varied and good value choice.
Though it was full by 8pm the service was excellent and the waiting time between courses was acceptable.
The breakfast was slightly disappointing , the poached eggs arrived hard boiled and the toast was not toasted and the bread was about the poorest quality you could have.
The bacon and black pudding though was tasty.
The fresh fruit , juices and pastries were excellent.
Would recommend this place for its tranquil location , food and service.

Room Tip: All good I presume
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skilegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

beautiful country inn in cheshire countryside
we booked a superior room for one night and was not dissapointed
the room was very spacious with every modern convenience
we ate in the bar in the evening food was freshly prepared and delicious
breakfast was also superb a big thank you to all the staff
we loved our stay at the bears paw

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnj694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I needed to book accommodation for 6 of us visiting my brother and his family in nearby Sandbach. I was lucky enough to find this little gem of a hotel!
The staff were helpful, friendly polite and attentive without being intrusive!
We had an evening meal and breakfast during our stay and very glad we did too! Everything was to a high standard-all diners very happy!
The rooms were very tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable.
The hotel's public areas were also comfortable.
We look forward to staying there again and indeed trying one of the other four hotels within this chain!

Room Tip: We were in Room 10 which was overlooking a nearby property, a field and a white horse! Quiet and thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAREN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I got a wowcher for bed and breakfast and bottle of wine so we booked for when we had a day off together not knowing exactly where we were headed. What a really lovely surprise, the place was brilliant. After a hard days work, looking forward to spending a night away, we were greeted by great staff who were so helpful. The room we had was tastefully decorated and very comfortable, the bathroom had a powerful shower and was great after getting too warm in the sun! Our evening meal was really delicious and breakfast the next morning had plenty to choose from, again being manned by helpful staff. All I can say is what a shame it was only one night, but we will definitely be back for more!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Lovely country hotel in Warmingham with excellent restaurant. All the rooms have been refurbished to a high standard. The bar and restaurant are busy with a good atmosphere. More staff required....we had to wait 55 mins for our main course to arrive and mine was over cooked. Having said that I am sure we will return in the future. My husband enjoyed his meal and breakfast was good.
Check out the hotel on www.thebearspaw.co.uk

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times now. I have to stay for work nearby and the location couldn't be more perfect.

I've stayed in a few different rooms and they are always clean and are very modern. The beds are comfortable and there are always extra pillows.

The food in the restaurant is lovely. On my most recent stay, it was served fast and hot. The staff were friendly and helpful too.

I can't fault this place and would definitely stay here again if I was nearby for anything other than work.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarShakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warmingham
4.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
20.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
3.3 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#10 of 79 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear's Paw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear's Paw

Property: The Bear's Paw
Address: School Lane, Warmingham CW11 3QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Warmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bear's Paw 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th century character inn situated in the picturesque village of Warmingham. Accessible from the M6 and strategically placed between three market towns; Sandbach, Middlewich and Crewe. The luxurious boutique style bedrooms with exquisite decor and furnishings are the ideal haven for a peaceful nights rest. This charming, yet stylish, gastro inn uses only the freshest and most seasonal produce which is locally sourced wherever possible and features six real ales from local micro breweries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bear's Paw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bear`s Paw Hotel Sandbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing