We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bear's Paw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bear's Paw
Ranked #1 of 2 Warmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great hotel, can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel.....so good I feel compelled to write my first Tripadvisor review! Beautifully renovated, very helpful and friendly staff, comfortable, clean and highly equipped room (apple tv available for rent and free wifi that works well - brilliant!). Dinner in Restaurant was very good although service was a little slow - perhaps not quite enough staff as restaurant was very busy and included a small wedding party. The Eton mess desert was so good though it made up for the wait! Breakfast was the best we've had in any hotel.......perfectly cooked porridge and full English with homemade black pudding was perfect start to the day. Can't wait to visit again. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    159
    38
    13
    15
See reviews for
189
507
11
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Meltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed in other hotels in this area, but this is far the best yet!
The rooms are decorated to very high standard, good facilities including AppleTV, good shower, expensive furnishings and fittings.
(In the lake district you would pay £180/night for this quality.)
Breakfast was excellent, next time hope to try the restaurant.
Great for business and leisure breaks.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that points away from church, (bells chime and ring very 1/4 hour and on the hour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have stayed in the place many times, as my head office is only a 2 miles away. The rooms are excellent and the food is great. They have free wifi that works. The rooms have no AC but windows open and all is fine. Worth a visit over night or two.

It just a good place to stay its clean and fresh. They have a good selection of wines. (Beer I dont know about, don't drink the stuff).

You have to book as early as possible they are always full. Which is a good sign. The staff are attentive.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and decorated in the cool way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way North from the South Coast. My husband chose it primarily because it was dog-friendly (but also because of the real ales on tap in the bar). I had expected a typical country inn (i.e. somewhat down at heel) but the Bear's Paw has been refurbished to a very high, contemporary standard and our room was stylish and comfortable. The Staff were all very helpful and friendly, including with our dog, and the food (and beer) was great. I can't recommend this highly enough, even if you are not travelling without pets!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had booked the Bear's Paw as somewhere to stay when we were at a wedding. We arrived at lunchtime to find a busy bar and restaurant. Although it was busy we were quickly checked in and offered a table for lunch. There were three of us for lunch and we had pasta with freshly roasted vegetables, burger and chips and fish and chips - we all really enjoyed our lunch. The website said checkin at 3 but our room was ready at 2. The room wasn't huge (we had opted for one of the cheaper rooms) but very nicely decorated. The bathroom (again quite small) was immaculate. Everything in the hotel/bar/restaurant is maintained really well.

For breakfast the next morning there was a table with pastries, cereals, fresh fruit and yougurt. My husband chose to have porridge (freshly made) and I had the cooked breakfast - delicious. Other options were smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, kippers etc.

The hotel is situated in beautiful countryside next to a picturesque church. It was one of the hottest nights of the year and we debated whether to turn on the fan in the room or open the bedroom window. We chose the window but we hadn't thought about the church clock which chimed every hour throughout the night!

We didn't have time to enjoy the countryside but will definitely return and explore the surrounding area.

We really enjoyed our brief stay and the staff were incredibly friendly and professional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiriamG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We went as a couple for a romantic meal, booked short notice but got a nice table for two in the bar area. Of a weekend I'd book at least a week in advance to get a really good table in the restaurant. Staff were really friendly and helpful, even though they were all clearly rushed of their feet! Food was brilliant! I had the halloumi salad which for simple meal was really tasty. My partner had a steak pie which he said was also delicious. The Eton mess for dessert was one of the best I've ever had too . The restaurant itself was really nice, homely pub style. Imagine if to be lovely on a cold winters night!
Quite pricey, each main is around £10-15 but well worth it. Good for a special occasion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiemuka33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We called for dinner, and were not let down. Some people have complained about prices, but we were more than satisfied with the quality, and quantity of food. One member of our party had the huge half duck, the others succulent steak pies. Plates of fish and burgers passing out table made us wish that we could have tried more dishes. No room for pudding.

The new decor is very pleasant; plenty of individual areas to feel intimate. Friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snorrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warmingham
4.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
20.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
3.3 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#10 of 79 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear's Paw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear's Paw

Property: The Bear's Paw
Address: School Lane, Warmingham CW11 3QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Warmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bear's Paw 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th century character inn situated in the picturesque village of Warmingham. Accessible from the M6 and strategically placed between three market towns; Sandbach, Middlewich and Crewe. The luxurious boutique style bedrooms with exquisite decor and furnishings are the ideal haven for a peaceful nights rest. This charming, yet stylish, gastro inn uses only the freshest and most seasonal produce which is locally sourced wherever possible and features six real ales from local micro breweries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bear's Paw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bear`s Paw Hotel Sandbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing