We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet and peacefull”
other travelers have booked this property
Lounge area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge area
looking to the left from front verandah Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Lounge area
looking to the left from front verandah
Lounge area
view from front verandah
sun rays on Ball Bay beach looking towards Cape Hillsborough
kitchen area
Patio area
standing on front verandah towards beach
front verandah
street view
Ball Bay beach during low tide
Visiting kookaburra
Horse riders enjoying our beach
View from verandah
2nd bedroom with beachfront views
Wander down for some fishing off the beach
3rd bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ball Bay, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Quiet and peacefull”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Recommend staying here. Was so relaxing. Peace and quiet. Bliss.location was ideal. Straight opposite the beach. Can fish off beach, over at rocks or small walk to estuary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Thank you for a lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you make the 9 hr road journey north once again for your next holiday at our idyllic beachfront location
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinomarti...
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“What a fantastic way to start a holiday!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Ball Bay Beachfront house was our first stop on our trip North with friends visiting from Colorado. What a treat for us all. The house was practically on the beach and we had secluded privacy, felt like nobody in the whole world knew where we were. The house was neat and clean and well appointed with all modern conveniences yet still possessed a lay back beach atmosphere which allowed us to enjoy the balmy evenings out on the verandah and soak in the magnificent ocean view. No complaints from these happy campers! It was difficult to pack up and leave but we still had several weeks touring to do. This property is great and well worth the trip. We have no problem in recommending it to anyone who enjoys beautiful scenery, peace and quiet and comfortable accommodation. 10 out of 10 !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach location and the peacefulness of the property
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2015
Thank you so much for a great review .Glad your American friends enjoyed our small piece of paradise. So many wonderful places in the world but Ball Bay is still unspoilt which is why we still love it. Thanks again for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin260
Sondre Land Municipality, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I want to live here”
Reviewed November 21, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

It's going to be a real task to pack up and head back to winter in Norway after almost three weeks of paradise here in Ball Bay. I am from Australia and now live and work in Europe, and try to come back every two years to Australia (wish it was more of course).

Each time I go back to Oz, I try to visit a place that I haven't been to before. Two years ago it was Kangaroo Island. This time it is Ball Bay. Why? Well being from Australia I've already done and hit all the touristy places and now just want to indulge in the thing I miss the most when I am away - the Australian bush and nature.

I guess you have to spend many months or years out of your home country to fully appreciate what you have there, so that what you miss is magnified 1000 fold, and once you get back, you appreciate every little drop. This means I had been looking forward to this trip for a long time before we even arrived. And I was not disappointed with my stay at Ball Bay.

This time we decided to choose one base and stay there for the entire length of our stay, rather than tour around the countryside with a car and tent. We chose Ball Bay because of several reasons: we wanted absolute peace and quiet, the beach in front of our door, warm weather and pure nature around us.

Long story short: That is what you get at Ball Bay beach house.

Firstly, the location is perfect if you don't want to be in the centre of things. And if you want to get your hands dirty, then Mackay city is only 40 mins drive away. As one sign in Mackay says: Cold beer, hot girls! If that's your thing. :)

Secondly, about the beach house: it is a big house with high ceilings, beautiful wooden floors and a large verandah overlooking the beach. It's not brand new or the latest flashy McMansion on the beach. But I am not interested in staying in that kind of plastic setup. Ball Bay beach house is a well lived in and well looked after Australian home. The bedrooms are large and there is one bathroom, plus laundry. Outside you can hang your clothes on the line. In the kitchen there is gas (which I love!) and a fantastic wok which means cooking up many feasts. There is everything you need in the kitchen, even a hand mixer and milkshake thingy, oven, microwave, fridge/freezer etc. I found the house very homey and comfortable. The gardens are also very nice and I am sure you'll find a few new friends in the garden if you are willing to look high and low. If you want to watch TV, you can do so, although many channels may not work 100%, and in that case, use the DVD player. There are DVDs, music CDs, and books that you can use as a part of the accommodation.

There isn't much action in Ball Bay meaning at any time of day or night, it is mostly dead quiet, apart from the constant sound of the beach and wind in the palms. I know, it's a hard compromise. :D Peace and peace is why I came here and it is what you get.

At 4.45 am in the morning, you'll be woken up by a range of Australian birdlife, and the sight of the sunrise peeking in through the blinds and windows will make you bounce out of bed with joy for the new day. Immediately after you'll sprint down to the beach for your morning walk, where at 5.30 am you'll be greeted by the sun, turquoise waters and paradise on earth. Don't worry though, the beach isn't crowded and it is wonderfully long and you can even reach the nearby Smalleys Beach (I think) when the tide is low (there are very changeable tides in this part of the world) and you can cross the estuary / river.

In November, you'll be able to see some turtle tracks coming out of the ocean and up onto the shore where the mama turtles lay their eggs. I think you can see them for real in the late afternoon / evening. Of course there is other wildlife available, and you'll be able to see them at Ball Bay and at the nearby Cape Hillsborough National Park, which is a 5-10 min drive away and worth MANY visits because it is simply a breath taking national park with many fantastic walks.

As for what else is in the local area: there is Seaforth, but I was not so excited by it. They have a jetty there (although you can bring your boat to Ball Bay if you have a tractor and can drive down onto the beach. The beach house does have a tractor parked in the carport, but you'd have to ask the owner if you can use it. Not sure about that one.) Seaforth also has a petrol station and many other things, like a general store, post office, and places to eat.

Neighbouring Halliday Bay has a golf course (not quite what you'd expect) and a safe swimming enclosure. But I found Ball Bay much nicer out of them all, even though there are no services or shops there. Probably why I like it. On the road out to Cape Hillsborough there is a teahouse and a kiosk at the park. There is also an organic store about 15 mins drive away just before you get to the turn off onto Bruce Highway, with a small but good selection. You can even sit there and have a cuppa. Next door is a watermelon farm, and further down the highway at Farleigh (I think) they sell more watermelons and pineapples from local growers.

There is no problem with staying cool at Ball Bay (my tip is not to use air con otherwise you'll suffer even more). Keep cool with the ceiling fans, the lovely sea breezes and drink plenty of water. Besides in November it isn't that hot - I lived in Darwin for 5 years and it can be pretty stinky hot there in November.

A swim in the ocean at Ball Bay in November is also delicious, but it is the start of stinger season. Although a quick dip in the shallow part is okay, and if you are brave you can go further out. Some people said there are crocs swimming around, but I didn't see any and I think it isn't that bad as further north, just be aware that you may share your space with some of the 'locals'. This is Australia, after all. :)

Regarding internet, the owner suggested buying a prepaid mobile stick from Telstra and using it on one side of the house. But we bought a mobile internet stick from Optus and it worked everywhere in the house. It wasn't lightning fast, but it wasn't slow either. You could still watch videos etc. There is a Telstra and Optus at Canelands shopping centre in Mackay and a prepaid stick for one month costs around $AUD40-50.

In sum, one thing I don't like about holiday accommodation is paying for a generic hotel room or apartment that looks like every other hotel room or apartment around the world. That's why I chose Ball Bay beach house. It is unique and it is a piece of tropical Australian life. I liked Ball Bay and the accommodation and I can see why people choose to live or retire here. I will take warm memories with me back to Europe.

A little bit about Mackay: Mackay is not the most tourist oriented metropolis in Australia so you are limited in what you can do there. But appearances can also be deceiving.

Mackay has many freebies which are of really GREAT quality: Artspace Mackay, Regional Botanic Gardens, Orchid House, Showground Markets on Saturdays, Bluewater Trail and Bluewater Lagoon. These are all FREE and will also show you a locals side of Mackay.

For those who want more action, try the Whitsundays and Airlie Beach. Airlie is not my cup of tea but worth a visit for seeing the reef and also island life down under style. Don't forget Eungella National Park and Finch Hatton Gorge, all worth visiting.

One thing that may be of interest is a day trip to nearby Keswick Island, off the coast of Mackay, where just like Kangaroo Island, they also have pure bred bees and lots more to offer. Perhaps an unknown treasure waiting for exploration. I guess that will be on the list for next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanna B
1 review
“A charming spot.”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This is a lovely spot for a family get away.It's nicer than the pictures show. I wouldn't hesitate to bring the family back. The house has everything you need, and the beds were comfortable. The birds are well fed, and the few people we saw in ball bay were freindly. A curious decoration on top of the fridge set the kids off laughing .....

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2014
W
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferntree Gully
Reviewed November 18, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing