We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic Super 8 experience without frills or adverse surprises.”
Review of Super 8 Gretna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Gretna
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Clean and well maintained. Everything worked. Good bed. Had a ground floor. Quiet. Not memorable as really bad nor really exceptional. Expected and got a clean quiet comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 236 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stopped here because we wanted to be west of Omaha. No other hotels in area. Lots of families with kids. Front desk staff in AM was unfriendly. Room was okay as most Super 8's are with tiny bathroom. Breakfast in morning was far below average. No sugar free cereals, no fruit, no yogurt and basically no protein. One could not get far on that range of carbs.

Room Tip: You won't have any food choice except McDonalds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Avoid this place at nearly all cost. For the overpriced $70 room, the heater couldn't be used unless we wanted a fire (or so it seemed from the noxious burning fumes emitting within 3 seconds of turning on the heat). The room condition was horrid with a bathroom fan on its last legs and the hot/cold water in the shower reversed.

It is clear that this particular owner is simply trying to milk every penny of profit out of this hotel. The breakfast bar was empty at 8am so we paid for breakfast at the McDs in the same parking lot.

Next time, I'll stay at a truck stop before staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ihaveaclue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

After reading others' reviews, I have to say "it's a SUPER 8" - what do they expect? It was fine, a bit pricey for the chain (generally Super 8s are about $50 a night - this was was about $75). It's a completely smokefree property, which is unusual for both this part of the country AND this chain. The room was clean and rather large with one queen bed - there was room for an additional bed but I had a compact fridge instead with a little freezer. The TV doesn't have many channels but enough to keep you entertained. Everything was clean and wireless internet is included.

The pool area is very nice. It feels warm and stifling at first but when you first step into the water it all feels much better. The hot tub is fine but the jets are not very strong.

Breakfast is so-so - all carbs, basically (cereal, muffins, bread, English muffins), and they do have a self-serve waffle iron. They have juice and (not very strong) coffee, too. As another reviewer pointed out, they share a parking lot with a gas station (that has a minimart) and a McDonald's, so if you don't feel like going out for dinner, your meal is only a short walk away.

The desk clerks aren't what I would call super helpful or super friendly but they weren't rude or nasty, either. They were fine. It's a SUPER 8 - the staff is courteous, the rooms are clean, breakfast isn't great but it's included in the room rate, and the pool is nice. What else do people expect?

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciocio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

$70 military rate was no deal for this hotel. Overall dingy in appearance and odor. The breakfast bar had only 1 english muffin, 6 mini muffins, and WalMart packaged oatmeal. We didn't even shower in the morning - just got up and left asap.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notreallyfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We had to stay here due to the Midwest Blizzard and I-80 West being closed.... they don't allow Pets, but due to the Emergency Status, we stayed with our 4 cats and weren't charged extra! They also gave us a Discount for the 2 nights we had to stay. The Staff were real nice and the Hotel was very clean! Would definately stay there again if we're ever in that Area....

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank wiccan1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

We did not stay at this motel. We booked our room a month in advance with a print out internet receipt. That receipt clearly states we had until 4p.m. the first day of our stay to cancel our room. My husband ended up getting sick and we were not able to attend the wedding. When I called at 6:30a.m. to cancel - I was told I had to cancel 24 hours in advance. Not so, according to my computer print - out. After arguing, I was able to get them to cancel....probably only because I could have sent a copy of my print out to the attorney general for verification if my credit card had been charged. Will NEVER book here again, and with family in Omaha, we travel there a lot.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank crafttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Omaha I-80
9.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Omaha-La Vista/Hotel & Conference Center
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Omaha Southwest/La Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#57 of 82 in Omaha
45 reviews
9.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Omaha La Vista
11.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gretna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gretna

Address: 14355 South Highway 31, Exit 432, Gretna, NE 68028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range: $56 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Gretna 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Gretna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Gretna
Gretna Super Eight
Gretna Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing