We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced about right.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Grand Island
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
111 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Priced about right.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

For 80 bucks it was ok, probably worth it if you use the pool. Breakfast was good, room was clean, but you could probably find something nicer for the same money. All in all it was nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hzgmech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    24
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
18
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

What more can I say..... This is an average hotel. It's like many other Sleep Inn's I have stayed in.

We stayed here for a night while on the way farther west. The staff I encountered was very friendly. The bed was comfortable but a bit hard for my wife's tastes. The room appeared to be clean, although there was an old bag of apples in the refrigerator which makes me wonder a bit about the thoroughness of their cleaning. All in all, it was a fine place to stay for a night.

There is one drawback to the hotel - it's about 6 miles off the Interstate. There are plenty of things in the area as far as restaurants and shopping, but it's a bit of a drive if you're just on a road trip. But then again, everything in that area is!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

We stayed here while traveling through during the Thanksgiving holiday, arriving late at night after driving through freezing fog. We were exhausted from our 13 hours of driving and ready to crash. But our room's heater/AC unit did not work at all (as if it was unplugged, which it wasn't) and the bathroom fan sounded like a jet planelanding on our room. I told the woman working the desk about this and she immediately moved us to an identical room, but it had heat and a normal bathroom fan. Beds were comfy and Wi-fi worked well. The breakfast was fine for us, with toast, bagels, yogurt, fruit, coffee and juice, along with those make-your-own waffles that so many folks like. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenaissanceWoman001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

This is a great value. You have to like the Sleep Inn concept, which I happen to love. This used to be one of the better hotels in the area, but now there are some brand new hotels in the area, but this is going to cost almost half of these new hotels.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmymarinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

I checked in in early evening was was verry happy with the accomadations. I have stayed at other hotels in the area and this is my top choice. High spped internet work good and all kinds of food around. I order Jimmy Johns and had it to me in less than 10 minutes... The staff was great, the room was clean and everyting was neatly and tastefully done. All for under 80 bucks...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgrego1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

This motel is in a great location, near a shopping center and numerous restaurants. Our check-in process was speedy and Shawna at the front desk was very friendly, warm and helpful. Our room contained a fridge, microwave and in-room coffee. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows (4) were poofy instead of the usual flat ones found at budget motels. Breakfast was waffles, pastries, oatmeal, cold cereal, juices, english muffins, toast, bagels and fruit. They offered butter, which elevated their standing in my book, as well as the crock stuff. There was a small indoor pool and a bubbly spa (we were the only ones taking advantage of this - nice!). If we're in Grand Island again, we'll stay here for sure.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JinIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2009

I personally find the Choice Hotel group - a Hit or Miss proposition. To me, they fill a niche of a one or two night stay where you are not going to be missing too many comforts of home.

In Grand Island, this Sleep Inn (and Quality Inn - stayed at both) gets a passing grade. What makes it more on the positive side is the location. Located right on State Road 281 and right by a Sam's Club and shopping mall - what the Sleep Inn typically lacks in amenities is made up for the convenient location.

Hot tub in this hotel is fine - usable, water is plenty hot and facilities are clean enough for a night or two stay. Rooms have the customary free internet - while it wasn't blazing it was sufficient for emails and internet browsing. Bed was average, sheets and bedding were clean although a bit worn.

Although nothing happened the night I was there - apparently a couple nights before a large group of highschool kids, traveling for a sporting event had converged on this hotel and apparently it was hard to get some sleep. While I don't think this is a knock personally on the Sleep Inn - it is a reflection of a potential risk you take when you stay at a no frills hotel in a small middle American town.

Bottom line - if you're traveling through Grand Island - you clearly aren't the person who demands a Ritz Carlton and if you're familar with the Choice Hotel brand - the Sleep Inn and Quality Inn hotels are a safe bet for a decent night stay.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteakSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Island
Hampton Inn Grand Island
#2 of 22 in Grand Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 22 in Grand Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Island Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#6 of 22 in Grand Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Island
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 1716 N. Diers, Grand Island, NE 68803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Grand Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Grand Island
Grand Island Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing