We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Value Lodging in Grand Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Grand Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb Value Lodging in Grand Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This motel was GREAT!!! Even though we love our furry friends, this motel is no pet/no smoking and very quiet which made it smell as clean as it actually is. You can choose a room that backs up to your car for easy luggage loading or an upstairs room (off the interior hallway) for extra quiet. The owner was very accommodating (thank you Janet) and the staff was friendly and efficient (kudos to Debi, Linda & Angie). The light continental breakfast was just right and the coffee was much better than the ordinary motel fare. We highly recommend the Island Inn

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    35
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
22
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I too stayed here after viewing the reviews. I agree the motel personnel were friendly and our room was clean and comfortable for an older property that is starting to show it's age. But it is over priced compared to other chain motels in town that are newer, offer inside corridors for all rooms and have a continental breakfast to boot.

Room Tip: Compare prices and hotel amenities of others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhusing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentine, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We decided to give this place a try because of the comments on Trip Advisor. We found the reviews to be spot on. Clean rooms, very nice owners, easy to find and very reasonably priced! We will definitely stay here every time we are in Grand Island

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upwardho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in room 118 last night. Very clean room. New carpet and wallpaper. Bed comfortable. The bonus was finding the mattresses are encased in allergy proof covers.
A great value for a nice clean quiet room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This isn't a 5-star resort, but you won't find a better place for the price you pay at the Island Inn. Very reasonably priced for a nice clean room. The staff at the front desk was very good at checkin and then again at checkout. Made you feel like you were part of the family. The Continental breakfast was small (just some packages of rolls or danish, juice and coffee, but for the price, absolutely no complaints.

Tip, If you want a hotel like feel, request a 2nd floor room, (hallway entrance) however, if you want to be able to enter your room directly from the parking lot, then the 1st floor is for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBert-NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

cute little location, more of a mom and pop operation. its clean, the service is good. Its not in the greatest shape, but if you are staying for a night its not hard to look over the imperfections.
Its got all the things you need for a quick stay, a little off the freeway but worth the extra few miles

Room Tip: back side has more noise than the front. It doesn't make sense but that;s how it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here overnight this week, and were very favorably impressed by an outstandingly clean room and friendly customer service. If you require a large place with the latest facilities, this is not it. But if you want a clean room, great service, a refrigerator, and free wireless internet, this is an outstanding choice - and we paid about half what we would have paid at a mid priced chain. Our request for an iron and ironing board was responded to immediately. There are ample places to eat out nearby also.

Room Tip: downstairs room was nice and quiet. call motel direct for reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdavedmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Island hotels
0.5 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#5 of 22 in Grand Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Grand Island
Rodeway Inn Grand Island
#9 of 22 in Grand Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Island Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Island
Hampton Inn Grand Island
#2 of 22 in Grand Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Grand Island I-80
Days Inn Grand Island I-80
#4 of 22 in Grand Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Property: Island Inn
Address: 2311 South Locust Street, Grand Island, NE 68801
Location: United States > Nebraska > Grand Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn - a comfortable, clean, well maintained inn at an affordable rate. We offer a 24 hour front desk with friendly, knowledgeable staff. All 20 Main Floor Bathrooms have COMFORT RISE BATHROOMS STOOLS and a Grab Bar by the Stool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Grand Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing