We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Grand Island
Certificate of Excellence
Greeley, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I booked this motel based upon the experiences of others listed on TripAdvisor. And I'm glad I took a chance on it. My needs were simple, just an overnight stay. I don't need a pool, or full breakfast, or extra amenities... the accommodations were very nice. With a full-sized 'fridge (but no in-room microwave), a person could stay for some time here. Be sure to ask for the AARP discount (if you're eligible). The room was clean and well-kept, but no extra frills.

As a family-owned facility, the owners were extremely polite and helpful in recommending dining options. I was extremely pleased with my stay here, and I will stay again when I am in the area. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwlarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    35
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
22
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our way back from a road trip out west. For less than $80 we had two queen beds, A/C, and the largest fridge I've ever seen in a hotel room. The front desk help was very courteous and friendly. Check in and check out were very quick and easy. It is located near food and shopping. There is no breakfast, but they did have what appeared to be store bought pastry items available in the lobby in the morning as well as hot coffee for the guests. There was also vending in the lobby if you needed a snack but don't care to venture out. There is also a large ice machine in the lobby. I helped myself to a bunch of ice to refill the cooler we had along with no hassle from anyone. The owners are very nice people. This is a locally owned hotel that really cares about the comfort of their guests, not just another chain. The hotel is old, but it is obvious that they take great care in what they do here. The room was very clean and we had plenty of space for our family of four. If I am ever back in the area I would be happy to give them my business again.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms mean you will not hear people tromping around above you and entry is from an inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clark50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
148 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

I'm glad I discovered Island Inn. It is a family run motel that is clean and comfortable. I love being able to park my car right outside the door of my room. For those who prefer indoor hallways, the upstairs rooms provide that. Each room has a full size refrigerator. The owners are great. It's an older facility but very acceptable. It's a resonably priced place to stay. Business has taken me back and forth across Nebraska many times and I'm always greeted warmly, by name, when I walk in the door.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are larger but there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elainest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Very cheerful and helpful counter person. Our king room was large, very clean and up-to-date. It had a comfortable recliner and a medium sized refrigerator/freezer that worked well. I would recommend this inn to anyone. Fresh baked cookies at check-in. A very nice place for a budget price.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chippewabluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We prefer privately owned and managed motels over the big national chains, and therefore we have chosen the Island Inn over the local Days Inn and the likes. We were happy with our decision.

The Island Inn is conveniently located, has a welcoming and competent front desk service, spacey and well appointed rooms, and by far the largest fridge we ever came across in a motel room (more like a walkable closet). If you happen to find yourself in Grand Island, Nebraska, the Island Inn is a good place to rest your head!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fossilizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed here the night of 8-12-11. Motel accommodations were basic but comfortable despite noisy a/c and leaky faucet. Owner/hostess was very pleasant and helpful. There is no continental breakfast so one must rely on local fast food. We went to Wal-mart the next morning to buy yogurt and other healthy food for breakfast. A local restaurant, Pam's Pub and Grill, was recommended for dinner. It's okay if you want all you can eat buffet. Mostly fat people there so don't plan on anything healthy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

It was like being at home with the clean room, comfortable recliner and bed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HARLEYRIDEON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Grand Island
Rodeway Inn Grand Island
#10 of 22 in Grand Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.6 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#6 of 22 in Grand Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Island Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Grand Island I-80
Days Inn Grand Island I-80
#4 of 22 in Grand Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Island
Hampton Inn Grand Island
#2 of 22 in Grand Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
5.3 mi away
Motel 6 Grand Island
Motel 6 Grand Island
#15 of 22 in Grand Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Property: Island Inn
Address: 2311 South Locust Street, Grand Island, NE 68801
Location: United States > Nebraska > Grand Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn - a comfortable, clean, well maintained inn at an affordable rate. We offer a 24 hour front desk with friendly, knowledgeable staff. All 20 Main Floor Bathrooms have COMFORT RISE BATHROOMS STOOLS and a Grab Bar by the Stool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Grand Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing