We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice but a bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Grand Island
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice but a bit noisy”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a vintage 60's holiday that has been extensively remodeled and updated to current lodging expectations with one exception, sound control. All parts of the facility are new looking, well maintained, and clean. AS we were traveling with a lot of things in our vehicle, I appreciated the ability to park close to the room. The room was updated with flat screen TV, a new heating / cooling system, new beds, and an updated bathroom. The only thing missing was good sound control. There was a lot of activity in the hallway during the night which frequently woke us up. We had a nice dinner in the bar/grill which had a good variety of items to select from. The staff was very nice and made us feel welcome as well as give excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuelleA0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a reveiw about Midtown Holiday Inn. The guest input is very important to us and it gives us an opportunity to praise our staff and coach them when necessary.

I appreciate knowing that there was not suffiecient noise control while you were here. We want all our guest to have a good nights rest as if you were home! Our security controls will be evaluated to see if there can be some adjustments made in this regard.

Safe travels to you and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in Grand Island Nebraska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
16
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alma
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Room was very clean and quiet, good location, courteous staff. Other than some difficulty in finding my room (maze-like layout), the stay was very enjoyable. Will definitely consider next time I need a room in Grand Island, Nebraska.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuelleA0, Manager at Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay! We sincerely appreciate the time you take to give input on our facility and employees.

We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Angela L Mueller
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
159 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

From the outside, this Holiday Inn looks fairly average. Look on the inside, and you will see that all of the guest rooms have been renovated. The stay was very comfortable. The room had all the necessary amenities, including nice shampoo and conditioner from Bath and Body Works (as a female this is always rather important). The WiFi worked well also. I did not use the pool but it looked to be very fun for kids. I ate the breakfast buffet in the morning, and it was very tasty, but it was a bit pricey in my opinion. There are three things about this hotel that really lower the quality in my opinion. 1) I don't think there is an elevator. Not a problem if you can get a room on the first floor, but if they are crowded some night, you may need to haul luggage up the stairs. 2) The layout is very confusing. The rooms are not in successive order. I spent ten minutes looking for my room despite the woman at the front desk giving me a map and drawing out my path. Odd rooms and even rooms are in separate wings, and 200 and 400 number rooms are on the same floor. Strange. 3) someone taller than 5'4 will have to bend over in the shower to get their head wet. I don't know if this was a problem in all rooms, but they did such a nice job with the room renovation that it is a shame if they ignored the bathroom. The ceiling did look pretty low so maybe they just had nothing to work with. These drawbacks are minor in my opinion and would not deter me from staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k86j84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda S, General Manager at Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property. We appreciate all reviews. We realize the lack of an elevator is a problem if your room is on the second floor. We do have plans to include that addition to our next rennovation coming up soon. You will also be pleased to know we do also have plans to review and rename all our room numbers so locating them will be an easier task. I agree with your comments on this fact. We are looking forward to making these changes and hope when you travel into our area again that you will choose to stay with us again. Thank you, RHonda S., GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Probably one of the nicer Holiday Inns you will stay in. Front desk staff actually seems glad you are there. Rooms are clean and most include a mini fridge and microwave. Bed and bedding is above average although I hate those mini pillows everyone seems to be using. If you smoke you will want to request a 1st floor room with patio door so you can easily step outside as this is a non-smoking property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodpeddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda S, General Manager at Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review. We welcome and take great pride in our service and appreciate comments that can help us improve our service quality and product. We hope the next time you are in the Grand Island area you will choose to stay with us again. Happy travels to you ! Rhonda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

In town for an event and stayed 2 nights. Very nice lobby with contemporary decor; definitely an upgrade from a typical Holiday Inn. This is one of the few properties I've been in with a central pool area complete with activities for kids such as putt putt. It was a very family friendly environment. The breakfast was excellent and the service very good. There is also a surprisingly popular bar/lounge called "Images" which had a good crowd on Saturday night and a full compliment of local talent. The rooms did have an older feel but were fresh, clean, and comfortable beds. Looks like a very good place to hold events. The one I was attending went very well and catering was very good. Will definitely stay again if in town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda S, General Manager at Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you very much for the nice review of our hotel in Grand Island, NE. We take great pride in the service and product we deliver. We appreciate knowing when we have done a good job with that as well as when we have not. Thank you again. Hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again. Rhonda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The rooms were spacious and A/C worked well (important at 101F with high humidity), and they had nice tv's, big bathrooms, tubs, everything you need, including blackout drapes (which didn't quite close completely). The hotel itself is in good shape, nice lobby and open spaces. The pool is indoors, and I would have preferred it being outdoors for sunning. Check in was terrible--I arrived at 2:30pm and my room wasn't ready, so I came back at 3:30 and it still wasn't ready. I finally demanded a room at 4:15 since my event was at 6pm, and there were 3 other people waiting for their rooms at the same time. Bar didn't open until 4pm, so we couldn't even hang out there waiting. Our event was in a conference room, and the service stunk. Food tasted pretty good for a hotel, about average, but they removed the buffet as soon as everyone passed through. We didn't even have an opportunity to go back for salad! I would NOT recommend this venue for an event.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SensorCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear SensorCEO,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay here at the Midtown Holdiay Inn in Grand Island, Ne. We are pleased that you found our facility and rooms very nice. We are sorry that you experienced the delay in getting into your room. With a full house of a Nat'l cattle show here in Grand Island on Friday night......there was a tremendous delay in getting rooms cleaned as they did not check out until 1PM on Sat. We apologize for this incident and want you to be assured that this was an isolated case and that we usually can always accomodate early check ins. I apologize that this explanation was not explained to you at that time. We also are sorry that the buffet for your group was not left up for a longer period of time. We always check with our contact who books the function for a requested time by them to remove the food. We apologize that you did not get a chance to return for salad. We appreciate all reviews in order to help improve our service to the traveling public. Sincerely, RHonda Saalfeld, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This property appears to have orignially been a Holidome and has recently been modernized. The rooms retain front windows, but most areas have been enclosed to eliminate "motel" like exterior access. A colleague and I stayed three nights on business. Our rooms were nicely appointed and in good condition. The public areas were in similar shape. The exterior view of the hotel from the street is incredibly bland and unappealing, but the property is actually a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 167Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We agree about the drive by first opinion and are hoping to get that addressed this next spring...we sit a ways off the street and it is hard to see our nice entrance so thank you for the good tip and we will definately work on that !! Rhonda Saalfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Island Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Island
0.5 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#6 of 22 in Grand Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Island
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Island
Hampton Inn Grand Island
#2 of 22 in Grand Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boarders Inn & Suites with Full Circle Venue and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown

Property: Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown
Address: 2503 S Locust St, Grand Island, NE 68801-8225 (Formerly Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown)
Location: United States > Nebraska > Grand Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concerts, sporting events, water parks, shopping, and 200 years of history are within 10 minutes of a great hotel guests love in Grand Island, NE. Hotel Grand Conference Center places you minutes from area attractions including Island Oasis Water Park, Stuhr Museum, and the Nebraska Bird Observatory at Crane Meadows. Our hotel is also the central location for guests visiting our local businesses such as Case IH, Chief Industries and Swift. If shopping is what you are looking for Grand Island is Nebraska's third largest retail center. Grand Island is home to Conestoga Mall, as well as many specialty stores and several large national chain stores.Our hotel has 196 beautifully decorated guestrooms, which include 6 suites, each of which is equipped with free high-speed Internet capabilities. All Rooms come with microwave/refrigerator units. The hotel has more than 13,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, which can serve groups from 10-500 people in size. For your enjoyment we have an indoor pool, whirlpool, 5 hole mini-golf course, and pool table. Stop by our Breakfast Cafe for "free" hot breakfast daily. Unwind at Images Bar & Grill located inside the hotel, serving the best steak and pasta dishes in town. Also check out our nightly drink specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown Hotel Grand Island
Grand Island Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing