We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Quality Inn we've stayed at in a long time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Grand Island
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were in the process of moving possessions from west of Kearney to Lincoln. We had
decided Grand Island was a good destination instead of driving on to Lincoln. We have had
good luck with Quality Inns and found this to be clean, comfortable, and the staff extremely
helpful and friendly. We had a spacious room with a wonderful king size bed. The perks of
the evening cocktails and the morning buffet for $2.99 add to the hospitality of the hotel.
It appears that people are finding that this is a good destination for conducting business as
there was a conference being held there that was drawing a large attendance. It seems to
be a wonderful way of establishing clientele. We definitely would recommend this Quality Inn
to the traveler on business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie B, General Manager at Quality Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our Quality Inn and Conference Center. We are very proud of our Hotel, and its a joy to hear all the little extras our staff does not go unnoticed by our guests.
We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you as guests again when traveling in the area. Thank you again, Angie Badsteen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 133 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This property used to be a Holiday Inn. Many times when properties change franchises, the result is less than great.
Not the case here. I stayed here years ago when it was a Holiday Inn, and I've stayed here 3 or 4 times this year since the change. It's actually better than it used to be.
The rooms have all been upgraded. Flat screen TV's, new bedding, new furniture, etc. My room this time had a desk and comfortable office chair (I'm a business traveler), a couch, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, etc.
The rooms are fairly spacious, and extremely clean.
The lobby area is higher-end, and maintains the grace from it's Holiday Inn days.
There's a very nice lounge with a pretty limited menu, and a restaurant that has a buffet, but not every night as I found on my last trip.
This hotel also has an indoor pool although I've never used it.
I've stayed in many hotels in the Kearney-Hastings-Grand Island area, and this property is right up there with the best of them. Really surprised to read some of the negative reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Partssales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel LOOKED clean and hospitable, but I got 13 bedbug bites, and the hot tub foams! The buffet dinner was also awful. The pinot grigio was the worst I've ever had. Do not stay here! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nanette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeepakGrandIsland, Manager at Quality Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We were sorry to here about the issues you had at our Hotel. Had we known we would have done everything we could have to make them right with you. We would greatly appreciate it if you could take the time to contact us so we could verify the room your were in to have it inspected. We value your comments and hope to here from you soon. Thank you, Angie Badsteen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I was on my way to Omaha and I didn't feel like driving the extra 2 hours so I stopped at the first hotel I saw. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and there were plenty of areas where I could just hang out. The buy one get one free drink in their lounge was the perfect way to end my night. Also, I didn't bring a swim suit but everyone seemed to enjoy the indoor pool and the gym was adequate enough for me to get a good workout in. The bed was extremely soft and the 2.99 breakfast included bacon, sausage, potatoes, french toast, biscuits and gravy, cereal toast yogurt fresh fruit and it came with free coffee, tea and orange juice. WAY more than I was expecting. In the morning checkout was extremely easy! I didn't have to go to the front desk at all! I just called to let them know I was checking out and I left my keys in the room. I definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Had to make a game time decision during a long road trip and had to find a pet friendly hotel in Grand Island after finding out all the hotels in Kearney were booked for the night. Anyways, the Quality Inn was right off the highway, whereas the majority of the hotels in Grand Island are 10min north into the actual town. The hotel itself is very dated and was very overpriced. I think we paid around $120 for the room plus the pet deposit. The room they gave us was right next to the door and the hotel was filled with young kids who basically ran dow the halls and screamed till 12am, which isn't necessarily the hotel's fault, but it's worth knowing the clientele.

The room was fairly large, but just felt gross. Carpet was stained, beds were nothing special, bathroom was small. I could justify staying at a hotel like this for maybe $80/night, but not for $120. They do not have free wi-fi or breakfast, and there are no close restaurants other than an Arby's--you'd have to drive into Grand Island.

Luckily I don't plan to ever be in Grand Island, NE again in my life, but if something crazy happens and we are there, we won't be staying at the Quality Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoctorsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Did a one night stay en route west on a motorcycle trip. Booked here because of price, and the property was quite nice. I'm a bit of a bird watcher so enjoyed the big pond out back to check out the local avian friends. Also loved the inner court yard where we enjoyed a couple of drinks after dinner away from that summer sun and heat.
Happy they had a restaurant on-site since there were no others within walking distance, and it was fine.
Would have given it a rating of 5, but they charged us $2.99 for breakfast, which is no big deal, but this is a Quality Inn, and breakfasts are supposed to be included in the price. Be consistent folks -- this is a marketing issue.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndmVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My friends and I were driving cross country on a summer road trip and stopped overnight in Nebraska. Our room at the Quality Inn was clean and comfortable, and the staff was very friendly. We didn't have time to go for a swim, but the was a large pool area and there was even a gym. This hotel was a great, convenient, place to stop on our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenni_k85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Island hotels
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Island Inn & Suites
8.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#13 of 22 in Grand Island
92 reviews
14.8 mi away
Days Inn Grand Island I-80
Days Inn Grand Island I-80
#4 of 22 in Grand Island
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Grand Island
Rodeway Inn Grand Island
#11 of 22 in Grand Island
103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motel 6 Grand Island
Motel 6 Grand Island
#15 of 22 in Grand Island
65 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Island
Hampton Inn Grand Island
#2 of 22 in Grand Island
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Conference Center

Address: 7838 S US Highway 281, Grand Island, NE 68803-9127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Grand Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Grand Island
Price Range: $76 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to both Grand Island and Hastings. Full service Restaurant and Bar on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Grand Island
Holiday Inn Grand Island
Grand Island Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing