We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Gothenburg
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The front desk Whitney is amazing person.
All people working at the hotel very polite.
I strongly recommend this hotel.
Hotel clean.
Rooms and bath super clean.
Mattress and pillows
Flat screen TV various channels.
Everything in room works.
Internet very fast.
Breakfast perfect.
Safe place.
Pizza hut walking distance.
I stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GELCJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 218 of 218 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

After making a bone-head decision to drive OVERNIGHT from Kansas City, MO to Ogden, UT with a 3-year-old and a 1-year-old in the car, we made the decision to "throw in the towel" and stop here after fueling up across the street. Wasn't sure what chain of motels this place was until my wife went in to find out since the sign was missing. Got our room and was heading down the hall passed the drunk guy outside the room that appeared to be "making mends" to a broken relationship. The guy was rather quiet and harmless. Anyway, got settled in the room and the room and bathrooms were average motel cleanliness but the shower curtain smelled like a wet dog. As I pulled back the covers for some much needed rest, what appeared to be "body hair" of some sort was on the bottom sheet. Grossed out, I just pulled the flat sheet over and slept on that and refused to cover up with the comforter. After waking up feeling refreshed despite the body hair incident, I took a nice, hot, wet dog shower. Feeling energized, we headed to the free breakfast. Breakfast was awesome! Biscuits, gravy, cereal for the kids, COFFEE!, and bagels. We munched up what we could and headed on the road again. Kinda weirded out about our stay but I'll be willing to give this place a second chance if I'm ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I strongly recommend this hotel. We had a good experience here. The BRAND NEW AMERICAN owners were fantastic and really wanted to know what was right and wrong with the property. The best thing was we were bumped up to a King Suite, because they didn't have any King rooms left. We didn't have a working refrigerator, the towel rack near the sink came off the wall and the air conditioner was noisy, but they had just gotten the hotel that week and were making improvements. Room was very clean, bed comfortable and there was an extra pillow in the room. Glad I didn't need to call to get one, it was already there. Staff was great! They offered to call in the maintenance man on the weekend and it was our decision to allow him to stay home-graduation weekend, you know is very important.
Only real complaint was breakfast was almost all starch. This may be hotel policy, but they need to take into consideration that some need to have some other protein than peanut butter and milk. A sausage patty or strip of bacon would have been nice or eggs for my hubby ( I can't eat eggs).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homebodywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at this motel again in October 2012, my experience was similar to that of my previous trip that spring, nice spacious room, a standard, yet sufficient continental breakfast in the morning, and decent price. However, at this time I would not be comfortable in recommending this place based on my previous experience. First, a company that is well known for publishing travel guides no longer lists the property in their 2013 guide, which potentially could mean that their standards have dropped. Also, on a recent drive-through the area along I-80, I noticed that the Super 8 signs both on the building itself as well as the one in front of the motel have been taken down, only leaving the frame. This makes me wonder if the motel is still up to Super 8 standards. I would rely on the recommendations or non-recommendations of more recent guests before making a decision to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gothenburg
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Gothenburg
Comfort Suites Gothenburg
#1 of 3 in Gothenburg
224 reviews
10.9 mi away
Knights Inn Cozad Lexington Area
10.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Cozad
Rodeway Inn Cozad
#1 of 2 in Cozad
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Gothenburg

Address: 401 Platte River Rd, I-80 Exit 211, Gothenburg, NE 69138-2607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $71 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Gothenburg 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Gothenburg
Super Eight Gothenburg
Gothenburg Super 8
Gothenburg Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing