We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The man behind the counter knew history”

Pony Express Station
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Gothenburg is home to 2 original Pony Express Station. In 1931, this station was donated to the City of Gothenburg and moved to Ehemen Park Arboretum. It is open FREE to the public April-October. During off season, you may tour the station by appointment.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The man behind the counter knew history”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Unlike the previous reviewer, we ended up there on a day when the man behind the counter was an expert on the pony express. We had read a lot about the pony express and the riders before arriving so we knew the basics when we arrived. He seemed to have a love of research and a pride in knowing this history. He was able to easily answer all of our questions and add more to that. This stop does not take a long time and we were glad we visited. It is not far from the interstate, it is free and it is in a nice park. There is a little museum just across the street which we did not visit but it might be worth a look. We did go to the sod house and have added our review of that on that site page.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    57
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Neat place but volunteer clueless”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

There were lots of neat things in this place but the woman who worked behind the counter couldn't answer any of the simplest questions - she obviously forgot her script! She had no knowledge of the Pony Express history except that only one rider had died; she didnt know the connections between Wells Fargo, American Express, and the Pony Express; and couldn't answer basic questions about the museum artifacts, like the kind of fur of the old coat!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank newyorkwalk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice look back in time”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Take some time and pull off the highway at Gothenburg, NE. There is a little museum there dedicated to the pony express days. This was a very BRIEF period in history that is worth taking a look back at (or seeing for the first time, for the younger crowd). Nice little collection of historical artifacts in an original building that has been restored and moved to this site. The museum sits in a nice little small town park -- perfect for a picnic. (Clean facilities, too.) The local ladies that run the museum are very friendly and enjoy sharing their knowledge of the pony express. We arrived late in the day and it was closing time, but they stayed on and let us enjoy the museum, giving us their full attention without regard for the time. Take a few minutes and stop in and sign their guest book.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mommasavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanamingo, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pony Express stop”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We really, REALLY needed a stop driving through NE. It really helped, it cost us nothing, had some cute things available for purchase if desired. Not far from the interstate, just follow the brown signs, Nice park, few interesting items of historical note. It isn't large, but it is well maintained, interesting, and free. Between this and the sod house (even if the house isn't open, you can still see the outside) we spent maybe an hour. We got to stretch our legs and engage our brains. It was interesting, but not time consuming and worth the stop. Not an expensive tourist trap and now we can add NE to our state map without guilt because we actually did SOMETHING lol

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Worth a stop every time we go through Gothenburg. The volunteers are always very engaging and knowledgeable and the artifacts are unusual. We like feeling the buffalo hide coat and seeing the authentic pony express saddle with US mail pouches.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadwarriors2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pony Express Station also viewed

 

Been to Pony Express Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing