We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great weekend - Has new management”
Review of Cherrabah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cherrabah Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elbow Valley
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a great weekend - Has new management”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went there for a work weekend from 09/08/13/-11/08/13.

It's now under new management and we were treated really well. Staff were accommodating, friendly and always helpful. Food was excellent. I am a Coeliac and they catered for me really well. No complaints from a great weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozeD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    6
    10
    16
See reviews for
23
13
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Going by the website is soooo misleading, we went out here for the long weekend and checked in and had dinner which was frozen meals and deep fried frozen seafood, when the third couple we were traveling with arrived we made a group decision to leave it was 9 at night and we drove I to warick and found a motel. Cherrabah is unclean , unsafe , and depressing i would go as far to say that if the council check it out it would close it down. We found out that the Chinese bought it and bring out tours from china , it is a total scam and should be closed down . Hope this helps someone some time and money .

Room Tip: Don't go !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fiona1966399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fran E, Manager at Cherrabah Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Was I surprised to find this review on trip advisor
Your booking was made in good faith for the 3 rooms, several conversations were had with members of this group earlier on in the day and no complaints were received. At no time do we serve frozen meals in our restaurant all meals are prepared and served fresh.
As per our Terms and conditions, which were signed on arrival, there is no refund of early departure. After talking on the phone to the gentleman who made the booking (after he departed) he clearly was disappointed with the accommodation (at no time to we promote Cherrabah Resort as 5 star we rate our self’s as 3 star on Wotif and other sites. We have made a mistake in not showing our rating on our web site, which is been addressed .Due to this I waived the accommodation charges for all 3 rooms.
As of 1st May Cherrabah resort has been under NEW MANAGEMENT. We have addressed many of the issues that have appeared on Trip advisor new beds, refurbishment of the rooms, some rooms have already been completed. Plus the refurbishment of the dining room.. New activities have been put in place for our guest to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elbow Valley hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The website is misleading. We payed over $200 for 2 nights at this place and im telling you now it is just disgusting!. Terrible service, overpriced food that is all frozen meals and just deepfried. The rooms are old, dirty, creepy and smell like someone died in them. I will not be coming back here ever again as it is not worth the money or drive out. Highly dissapointed. This place is a sick joke!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank georgiachilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fran E, Manager at Cherrabah Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

My apologies for not responding sooner to your review.
As of 1st May Cherrabah resort has been under NEW MANAGEMENT. We are addressing the issues you have raised, new beds, refurbishment of the rooms, some rooms have already been completed.. New activities have been put in place for our guest to enjoy.
Please be assured I have addressed the menu with our chef and we are presently working on a new menu. At no time do we serve frozen meals in our restaurant all meals prepared and served fresh.
We promote Cherrabah Resort as 3 star, which is clearly stated on Wotif and other sites. We have made a mistake in not showing our rating on our web site, which is been addressed. I am sorry that you feel you have been misled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Heights, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a two night stay at Cherrabah recently as part of a Living Social deal offer. We arrived late on the Friday and departed on the Sunday. We arrived after dark and after figuring out how to get the remote gates to open, struggled to find the resort reception as this was not signposted and there were no lights to direct traffic. The facilities are run down and in dire need of some maintenance. Some of these are a potential safety risk, e.g. spas where one was being repaired (presumably) and there were bits and pieces lying about everywhere, not to mention potential electrical shock risk if found by a child. The spa structures themselves are also not safe (loose glass panes, no lighting etc.). The food was mediocre and dominated by heavily fried, oily offerings. Little to choose from for kids and sadly lacked any form of fresh greens or veggies. Service was really poor particularly in the restaurant where the single waitress had to pre-empt the delivery of food to every table by "I'm so sorry this took so long" (and there were not that many tables dining either). Rooms were small, and beds were hard. We also ran out of toilet paper since there was only half a roll to begin with (small things people!). The shower leaked creating possible fall hazards in the bathroom and the TV couldn't pick up any channels (although not being big TV people this did not bother us much). One of the reasons for our visit was the horse riding opportunity which we did enjoy as this got us out an about in the surrounding bushland and our children really enjoyed this. The horses appear to be well looked after but the resort did mix up our riding time and we had to wait a while since they didn't think they had a group going out that morning, despite us booking the ride the previous evening at reception. The kids did have a dip in the pool which is rather small for the size of the resort but there was not much else for them to do there and we spent our downtime playing our own games outside. We did not ask about activities offered such as canoeing but the state of the equipment (canoes etc.) suggested that these are not well looked after. The gold course is also apparently no longer operational (my son asked about this). Overall the stay was rather disappointing and I certainly won't be going back, I'd rather go camping in the nearby national parks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tr4velGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Overall the resort is run down and tired. Charged 5 star rate for -1 star accommodation. Booking was incorrect, food was bland and poor standard (mould on the bread for toasting at buffet). Door to unit would not close without force, tongue on door lock back to front. Bed was old and sagged in the middle, ok if you like sleeping literally, on top of your partner. Springs were easily felt in worn areas of the mattress. Steps to entrance we rotten and friend fell through, thankfully not injuring themselves, just a fright. Floor on veranda was rotten and hand rails not to safety specifications. Children could almost walk under the lowest rail. Viewing swings scattered around the property we rusted and falling over, not to mention dirty and un-usable. Amenities for the camping area have wildlife living in them and excrement everywhere - totally not presentable for human use - though we were told we could camp here and use the facilities. Really, they must have been joking. Rubbish scattered around in the bush and dam/lake. Water totally unsuitable for drinking or walking your teeth but ok for showing, if you keep your mouth closed.
Seriously the Southern Downs Regional Council needs to review their operating licence, which we will be recommending.

Room Tip: Choose Kilarney or Warwich for accommodation if attending an occasion at Cherrabah Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fran E, Manager at Cherrabah Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
My apologies for not responding sooner to your review.
As of 1st May Cherrabah Resort has been under NEW MANAGEMENT. We are addressing the issues you have raised, new beds, refurbishment of the rooms, some rooms have already been completed. As we don't have a sauna on the property I am assuming you are referring to the spas. Which are about to be removed and replaced with a new outdoor spa alongside the swimming pool. New activities have been put in place for our guest to enjoy.
Please be assured I have addressed the housekeeping and reception issues with the relevant department heads.
I don't believe as the manager of the resort I had any conversation with you in regards to any of the above issues.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place is an absolute disgrace, right from the start the reception person is rude,unhelpful and not a pleasant person.the facilities are nothing like the advertising. We came here with friends for a family weekend and left very unhappy. The place is rundown and a major safety issue,nothing works and most things are broken. We found under pants left under the bed,the shower holder broken and left sharp were I received a cut. The 3 saunas with only one working ,well the management think so. It was so cold ,the door broke when opened and the glass fell out the other saunas with toads living inside. This place is owned by Asians and is run by the rudest person I have ever met.Do not go there it is a total ripoff in all aspects and a major health hazard.

Room Tip: Totally run down with broken and very hard beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Cherrabah with a Cudo voucher. Our inital stay was rained out and the owners were happy to let us transfer our 2nd night to another weekend. Our inital visit was ok. Service was great when you could find staff. Food was average and the rooms were ok? No drinkable water in the rooms for cleaning teeth etc, bathroom really small and the shower really didnt work at all and the toilet broke.

Second visit was really good! There were more people booked in this weekend - hence more staff! Room this time was much better!! Food was great, even if though they got our order wrong. Main suggestions to owners would be to get palatable water to the rooms via tanks etc and maybe cameras or buzzers or something in homestead so they can be alerted to when people are waiting at the bar or at reception during quieter times. Owners are obviously starting to update some of the older rooms, which is much needed but overall, 2nd visit was great! I beleive there are new managers in place and things are starting to be renovated and upgraded. There is some definate potential and i would love to give it some time and check it out again. I dont think i would stay overnight again for the price they charge (i had a voucher so it was worth it for what i paid) but think $140 a night is a bit much for the rooms?? Unfortunately for us, there was a large group partying in the homestead, so our peace and tranquility was dashed by the drunk party goers at the homestead :-( so we got very little sleep. The horseriding was excellent!!!! We also ventured out on our bikes for a trek through the property. It is a very beautiful place with lots to see and great scenery. We will definately go back for a day trip to check out the sights around the property a little further.

Room Tip: Ask to be put into one of the newer rooms definately! The older rooms have extremely small bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarDar09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elbow Valley
0.8 mi away
Abbey of the Roses
Abbey of the Roses
#3 of 13 in Warwick
128 reviews
23.8 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Warwick
Comfort Inn Warwick
#4 of 13 in Warwick
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Warwick Vines Motel
Warwick Vines Motel
#12 of 13 in Warwick
40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buckaroo Motor Inn
Buckaroo Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Warwick
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Criterion Hotel Warwick
Criterion Hotel Warwick
#6 of 8 in Warwick
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherrabah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrabah Resort

Property: Cherrabah Resort
Address: 1 Keoghs Road | PO Box 304, Elbow Valley, Queensland 4370, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Elbow Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elbow Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherrabah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cherrabah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherrabah Homestead Hotel Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing