We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff made the difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Columbus
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Columbus
Western Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff made the difference”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Columbus Holiday Inn Express is a nice place to stay. It does have a chlorine pool smell throughout the building but other than that, the rooms are nice. The staff was amazing during our stay. The lady who ran the continental breakfast was always so helpful (I was traveling alone with my 2-year-old). She would grab my daughter fruit out of the back and got me half-and-half anytime I needed a cup of coffee. Very conveniently located, too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicKel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments about the Holiday Inn Express in Columbus NE. We are always very excited to hear that we made you feel welcome and that your stay was excellent! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    39
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
12
7
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

But sadly, that's not saying a whole lot.

The room was huge, the beds were fantastic and there were plenty of pillows. The pool was fairly small, but I have seen smaller.

There was more truck noise than I expected, but then I also expected to be harassed by the train, but I never heard the train. I was on the back side facing the fields, so that might have helped with the train.

My shower head wasn't working properly, but I didn't remember to report it to management. There was a horrible smell of manure outside that managed to make its way into the lobby area -- I don't suppose there's a whole lot the hotel could do about that. They managed as best they could and the smell never seemed to make it to the elevators. It was definitely coming from outside. It would have been nice if smokers were encouraged to be further away from the entry doors though.

The breakfast is abundant, but rather gross. The food is all industrial, precooked, prepackaged food that is heated up in trays in a convection oven. It was all very low quality - but again, there's not much else in Columbus and I ate it because I didn't expect to find any better.

Room Tip: Ask for the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracieKnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very nice facility. Definitely the best in Columbus. There was a couple of snags with our room, however the staff took care of everything and really made us feel welcome. The beds were great and even though the hotel was full our room was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachkid_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha, nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a newer Holiday Inn Express and comes with all the newer amenities. The rooms are bigger, very clean, the A/C is fantastic, and the hotel has a pretty great collection of DVDs you can check out. The management also hosts a reception with appetizers and beer/wine most nights from 5pm-7pm. There is nothing like having a cold beer after working outside all day! I've stayed at a few of the hotels in the Columbus area and this one is definitely your best bet for a comfortable, quiet, clean place.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to highway/street noise, ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. The f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice comments about our hotel and staff! I have shared this with the entire staff. We strive very hard to make your stay excellent and meet all your expectations. Thank you and we really do hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed for 1 night and I was satisfied. Giving it 5 stars is a bit of a stretch. Nothing was really wrong and it was just what I rated it. Average.

Checkin
No problems and off to my room in a matter of minutes.

Room
Huge. More than enough space to dance if you were so inclined. A little bit dated but nothing to worry about. No stains or anything gross.

Bed
Average HIE bed.

Bathroom
Good size again and no problem getting hot water right away.

Small Dorm Fridge
There was one in my room. I even forgot some drinks in there.

Iron
I iron everything and the iron sucked. Plus the bottom was so disgusting I had to wipe it off with a towel so it didnt stain my clothes.

TV
Ton of channels but no channel list so you are stuck flipping to find your programs.

Internet
Decent internet speed all day and night.

Breakfast
Same ol breakfast at all HIE. The size of the room was OK. there was a large group there when I arrived so they took up most of the tables.

Check out
Again no problems

Overall I was satisfied. 3/5 is not bad at all its just not a 5/5 Le Meridian. If I was back in the area I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morganrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear ktscott01,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

From the minute we got there, we noticed the difference. Checkin and check out was great and Joe made my day! Joe put on a clinic on service! Our room was very clean. The bed was great, shower wonderful and breakfast perfect. Thanks for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YounesMGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel, we know there are many wonderful choices! I have passed along these wonderful comments to our staff and it was recieved with smiles. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Columbus Nebraska.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent a little more on this room than the others while we were on vacation but you could definately see the difference! The room was amazing and comfortable. We were traveling with my elderly parents and it gave my daughter and I a chance to relax in the pool/whirlpool while my parents relaxed in our room. (much needed mini break!) The breakfast wasreally good.. Everything you could possibly think of was available. The staff were all so friendly.. I would recommend this hotel to anyone anytime!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YounesMGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel. We strive to make our guests feel welcome while also having the best stay possible. We hope you choose us again on your next trip to Columbus Nebraska!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.7 mi away
Ramada Columbus Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Columbus
59 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Columbus NE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Victorian Inn North Columbus
2.7 mi away
Columbus Inn
Columbus Inn
#6 of 10 in Columbus
29 reviews
2.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#8 of 10 in Columbus
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Columbus

Property: Holiday Inn Express Columbus
Address: 524 E 23rd St, Columbus, NE 68601-2827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Columbus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus, a Quality Excellence Award-winning hotel, offers 88 smoke free, guest rooms including 19 suites of which 3 are whirlpool suites. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus guest rooms feature the following: free high-speed wireless Internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffeemakers, large work desks, desk lamps, and 32' HD flat screen TVs with HBO. We have a heated indoor pool and whirlpool. We also offer our guests a free hot breakfast every day with eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage or bacon and fruit as well as many other items! If you re staying during the week make sure to enjoy our Manager's Reception (Monday - Thursday 5:30 PM to 7 PM) which includes free beer, wine, snacks and a Priority Club point drawing! Don t forget! Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus is the closet hotel to Becton Dickenson and Cargill that offers a Manager's Reception and Priority Club points! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Columbus Hotel Columbus
Holiday Inn Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing