We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family reunion”

Creekside RV Park & Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chappell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Creekside RV Park & Campground
Ogden, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The owner/camp host was very friendly as well as his Father. We contacted this campground in April or May and was told when whould be the best month because of harvesting and that would be anytime after the end of July. When we arrived the camphost told us which sites would be the best and was he right. We were able to park two trailers so the doors faced each other and another site for just tents. There was enought in town to keep the teenagers busy, swimming,bowling and golf. The stores bent over backwards to help us with friendly service and quality food supplies. Would recomend this campground to everyone wanting a good stay and friendly people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were traveling from across the state on our way to the mountains of Colorado June 2nd, pulling our travel trailer and our daughter's family had their trailer. We were given two sites together so that our doors faced each other and that were directly across from the swings and merry-go-round, which was perfect for our granddaughters. There are water & sewer hookups and WiFi available and the shower house was very clean. As previously posted, storm clouds were looking nasty and the owner came around and told us where to go if the sirens went off. Very friendly and very much appreciated. The noise of the trains was bearable in our trailer because we had the air conditioner turned on. It was a good experience for all of us. A nice, clean and well kept campground that you can tell the owners are proud of.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandma-2-FiveGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

I feel bad because the owner was nice, as stated, but really DID NO ONE HEAR THAT TRAIN?!!! Camping along I-80 you are bound to stay at some places by a train track, but this was awful. The campground is right by an intersection for the train so every half hour or so you hear the whistles. VERY Loud- don't stay! Sorry.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here April 2nd & 3rd. Nice clean, quiet park. Beautiful washroom & laundry facilities.
We would stay here again and would recommend it anyone in the area. Owners very nice, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Looking for a place to stay for the night, we were pleased to see the roadside sign proclaiming an RV park. As we crossed the overpass, we liked what we saw of the park-- tidy, green, and spacious--so we pulled in for the night. Friendly people, spotless bathrooms, obvious effort put in to making this a pleasant place to stay. They even came around personally to warn all the guests about a thunderstorm approaching, and telling us where to go in the event the tornado sirens went off. Fortunately they didn't, but we sure appreciated knowing where to go if they did. I almost want to plan another trip through Nebraska just so I can stay there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed6258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

I would advise everyone to find out for yourself about this place, the owners are some of the most friendlist helpful people ever. They have a very nice campgound. The cleanest Bathrooms & showers that you have ever seen. I was just there and have been there many times and never been disapointed. Don't believe everything this other guy has to say.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIssouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

We made reservations at Creekside for two separate nights -- one for our waypoint when heading to Wyoming for an RV vacation and one as a waypoint returning home from Wyoming. The first night, 7/1, was uneventful. But when we returned on 7/18 after a 500-plus mile day of hauling our RV, the lady proprietress tried to wave us off, saying "I'm full up, been full for a week. It's harvest time." We insisted we had reservations and she actually said, "it doesn't matter. It's harvest." She then questioned whether we had a reservation. I told her we'd been there per our two-fold reservation on July 1, and had just as valid a reservation now. She went to her office while her husband stood around and shuffled. She returned outside and admitted we did have a reservation for that night, but she had no spaces with usable hookups. "Harvest time is important," she said, and "it came early." She said twice that she would have a space the following night. Big whoop! We had to be back home, another 500-plus miles away, the following night!

Her husband offered to let us park either backed-in to a junky work area by the bath house, or in a grassy area complete with horseshoe pit and dog feces, and to let us use the bath house. We had no alternative place to overnight, so we accepted the spot in the field. I wasn't in any mood to back up a 30 foot travel trailer in the dusk.

I am speculating that harvest time is when this outfit makes its major money for the year, because the area is not a tourist mecca. Did the number of harvest workers' RVs total exactly the number of spaces in the park, so that none of them had been turned away or compelled to camp elsewhere when harvest began? Unlikely. So that the campground would not hold, or empty out, one full hookup site for one night, in order to honor a business arrangement, a promise, a reservation, is beyond belief.

What really stuck out though was how completely unapologetic their attitude was about refusing to honor the reservation. This was obviously routine and just business as usual for this lady.

On July 1 there had been maybe 7 to 10 other RVs there. That makes me wonder how many people this lady had turned away despite their having reservations, all week long. All dishonored due to "harvest" -- a harvest of money, in my opinion.

So in sum, avoid this place, especially at "harvest" -- not that Creekside is going to tell you about this practice of dishonoring your reservation because of some special event, when you make it. They certainly didn't tell us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RVTraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Creekside RV Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside RV Park & Campground

Property: Creekside RV Park & Campground
Address: 16551 Road 14, Chappell, NE 69129-8185
Location: United States > Nebraska > Chappell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chappell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing