We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST SERVICE IN THE WORLD!!!”
Review of Westerner Motel

Westerner Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chadron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westerner Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chadron
Certificate of Excellence
tonto basin, arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEST SERVICE IN THE WORLD!!!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

In August this year while traveling on our Can-am Spyder and going back to Wyoming from Wisconsin we accidently stumbled across this small motel. WOW AND DOUBLE WOW. Not only were the prices right the owners were just absolutely wonderful. The motel is small but very clean and I have never had better service anywhere in my life. Russ and Terri (?) are some of the nicest people in the world. They told us the best places to eat, gave us a cold beer and even though we were only going to spend one nite we had such a great time we stayed an extra nite. The prices were fantastic and the hospitality could not have been better. most of their guests are repeat customers. So if you are ever in the area give this place a chance. you wont regret it!! Only 130 miles from Sturgis. Tom and Jeri

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeri c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    22
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
22
37
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
303 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stopped here during our tour of the midwest and were really sorry time just allowed one night. See Ms. Mardi (owner) for special attention and tell her WHO DAT. Great little stopover. Room was neat and clean. Couldn't ask for more.Sent us to a great little breakfast place right down the street on the way to the Interstate connector. How convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamler, Oh
Level Contributor
313 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

First it has the charm of the old motels I stayed in a child. You pull your car or motorcycle right up to your room.
They had a bike wash all set up for us upon arrival. We needed some things from the store and they allowed us to use their personal vehicle so we didn't have to get boots and helmets again.

They have a gazebo where we all sat at night and chatted and used our lap tops. I can't say enough good about the cleanliness or the hospitality. This place is a "10"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lange1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Recently on a road trip with my wife from NYC to L.A., we stayed here. Booked over the phone the night before and was very friendly. Arrived the next day and was as welcoming as they could be.
Room was clean & fairly large, AC worked well, fridge a m/wave, shower was good and the WiFi worked fine. The bed was super comfy.
I would defiantly stay here again. The owners felt like old friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We rode motorcycles from Dubois, WY to Chadron NE. We had booked rooms at the Grand Westerner in Chadron. We were greeted like old friends!! Our room was large, the air was on and we were very happy with our room. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. We had dinner next door at the Grove Bar and Grill. The food was awesome and the price was very, very reasonable! The next morning we had breakfast at Helens Restaurant and the service was fantastic, the food delicious! and the coffee was plentiful. It's a hidden gem!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marmalaude58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We drove into Chadron with no reservation, and once again on this trip we got lucky. The exterior of this traditional, courtyard-style motel was immediately appealing, with its bright blue doors and tidy appearance. Each door has a knocker made of a Western spur - clever touch. The friendly husband-and-wife proprietors greeted us at their outdoor gazebo, and showed us a room before we committed. The room was clean, all was in good repair, and the price was very reasonable. Not luxurious, but towels were good and beds were comfortable - no king size, so we had a double queen room. WiFi worked well in our room. No breakfast is included and coffee is available at the office rather than in each room, but that was fine with us for the price. Mardi offered to make us a fresh pot that evening when I asked about it! There seem to be a lot of these older-style, mom-and-pop motels across Nebraska and South Dakota that have been refurbished. Parking in front of the room and not having to climb stairs is a definite plus for us, as we are "older." They also have some 2nd floor rooms with balconies for watching the sunset. Very homey, would stay there again.

Room Tip: The proprietors will gladly show you a room before you rent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachflower_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper
Level Contributor
270 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Westerner (closest to Walmart). The first room the lady tried to give us was VERY small, it had a full size bed and it was for my daughter and i. We decided that a small bed was just not going to cut it. We go moved to a different room with at least a queen size bed. Cable tv, comfortable chair, minimal electrical outlets. The bed was actually quite comfortable. It was a bit warm in the room and wanted to turn on the AC... after looking and looking for a thermostat, I thought, THIS is odd! There are NO thermostats, you have to climb on a chair in the middle of the room and twist the little white plastic nob for the vent to open and allow a little air to come thru the duct work. If you want a sudden blast or cool down or heat up of the room, it won't happen here. I've stayed and hundreds of motels, but never one with out a thermostat.
The customer service IS GREAT though. The price is right, the wi-fi did not work on my black berry, but DID work on my lap top. If you are on AT&T for your cell phone, there is no AT&T in Chadron, you'll be on "EDGE" (whatever company that is) and they are not 4G, or let alone even 3G. There is no continental breakfast, no business center, no fitness area. Pretty plain Jane. It is easy to find though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TSR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chadron hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western West Hills Inn
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Chadron NE
Super 8 Chadron NE
#5 of 6 in Chadron
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chadron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 Chadron
Motel 6 Chadron
#6 of 6 in Chadron
67 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Westerner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westerner Motel

Property: Westerner Motel
Address: 300 Oak St, Chadron, NE 69337-2248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Chadron
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chadron
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Westerner Hotel Chadron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing