We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's a difference between quaint & run down” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olde Main Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chadron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olde Main Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Chadron B&B and Inns
Sturgis, South Dakota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There's a difference between quaint & run down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

After reading the reviews, I thought this would be an above average B&B. Having stayed in several B&Bs I found this one way below par. After my stay, I re-read the reviews & just couldn't believe the other reviewers had stayed in the same place. Poorly maintained. The room needed updating a decades ago. The bathroom needed a new toilet & the shower had a cement floor like an old VA Hospital shower. Smelled musty. Nothing in the room had been dusted in awhile. Very poor lighting. If my home were in this condition I would be ashamed to have company over. Jeanie was very nice but this place is just awful. I almost swore off B&Bs forever after this but later stayed at the Captain Lord Inn B&B in Kennebunkport, Maine, & was reminded how beautiful, clean, & delightful an older building can be. The Captain Lord also shows how having "character" does NOT mean falling apart.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScooterMam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
13
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stopped for 2 nights in Chadron on our recent road trip - and we stayed in many places on that trip, with this being one of the memorable ones. We stayed in a little suite on the 3rd floor - which had a small separate kitchen and eating area and a shower, that needed a bit of an update, but that somehow didn't seem to matter because of the historic charm of the building and its western character. Jeannie, the innkeeper, is a real doll, and treats you like long lost friends - she even fixed a special breakfast for us on our departing morning, to accommodate my husband's dietary needs. The whole atmosphere of the place is relaxing and homey - and Chadron is a great base from which to visit Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse monument and Carhenge. I'd also recommend the Museum of the Fur Traders just out of town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Level Contributor
815 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

The madam, Jeanie, really loves this place and it shows. She welcomed us with drinks and treated us as old friends, rather than guests. She went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable.The rooms have seen better days, but for 1 night, it was an experience to stay at this historic Inn.

Room Tip: go for the general miles suite, upstairs. it is the best of the rooms. do not expect luxury, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIAMISHEILA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Charming historic hotel/B&B. The innkeeper is great. Rooms have a great deal of character, well cared for. A bit old, but much better than you'd expect for the price. The food is fine.

The only drawback is that there's not much to Chadron. The hotel is not only the best in town, it's also the best restaurant. One night when I was here the restaurant was closed, and Jeannie to a few guests with her to dinner elsewhere. It was acceptable, nothing more.

Bottom line. If you're going to be in the area, it's well worth going a bit out of your way or adjusting your schedule, to stay here. But, for me, the Inn is pretty much the high point of Chadron.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Denverreviewer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I spent two night at the Olde Main Street Inn and totally agree with the other reviews. The inn is a delight as is the Jeannie, the owner/bartender. You are given a welcome drink upon arrival and also meet her lovable dog, Ginger. I am a light sleeper and thought that noise from the bar below would bother me. On the contrary, I heard nothing. The only noise of any consequence was from a nearby train engine and the street sweeper. No two rooms are alike (Jeannie encourages you to walk into other unoccupied rooms to check them out.) . Traveling alone, I did not need a suite. My room was a bit snug, but totally adequate. Jeannie is a delightful owner and you literally can spend hours talking to her and learning about Chadron and life out on the Plains. Her freshly baked cinnamon buns in the AM are a delight as well. I warmly recommend the Inn if you are visiting Chadron or Western Nebraska.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank calumet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed at the Olde Main Street Inn over Labor Day weekend, and wished we could have stayed longer. We were on a road trip from Chicago to Nebraska/South Dakota, and the Olde Main Street Inn was absolutely the perfect place to stay on a trip like that. At the turn of the 20th century, the hotel was the type of fancy inn that used to populate these old railroad towns, but have now fallen into disuse or disrepair. Luckily for humanity and road-tripping adventurers everywhere, the owner and her family have restored this one to just the right condition. The hotel retains its original class and charm without being too done-up in its restoration. There's remnants of original 1890s wallpaper, a beautiful bar, and the rooms have a ton of character. Just looking at all the old photos and the early-20th-century newsclippings all over the walls will teach you everything you need to know about the history of the American west. The owner/bartender is fantastic and very friendly, and there are lots of interesting regulars in the hotel bar. We stayed in the Mari Sandoz suite -- what a deal -- tons of room, including a real kitchen. If you like a hotel with character, I can't imagine that there is a better place to stay in northwest Nebraska, if not the whole state.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadtriproadtrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, MO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2006

I would agree with the previous post-this is a very unusual, interesting place run by a hospitable innkeeper. It is charming but not cute, interesting but not quaint. The suite we stayed in consisted of rooms that rambled from one to the other and the furnishings are old but comfortable. The shower is old and rusty but CLEAN and the water pressure is great. DON'T stay here if you want cutesy-wutsey, but DO stay here if you want unique and interesting accomodations. I've seen very few places like this anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UBBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chadron hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Chadron NE
Super 8 Chadron NE
#4 of 5 in Chadron
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN West Hills Inn
0.0 mi away
Motel 6 Chadron
Motel 6 Chadron
#5 of 5 in Chadron
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Main Street Inn

Property: Olde Main Street Inn
Address: Chadron, NE
Location: United States > Nebraska > Chadron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chadron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing