We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not wait to go home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Certificate of Excellence
nelson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not wait to go home”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

We booked for the stay for two nights get one free special and looked forward to a relaxing break having read such great reviews. On arrival, our family chalet was stale, grubby and claustrophobic. But we stayed positive until a boat load of drunk party goers arrive shouting their heads off. Horrible! Another "function" the following day. We found the staff far more intersted in catering for these people. We were unable to get even a slice of bread or a piece of fruit for our young daughter. Food was overpriced and unsuitable for families. Healthy, simple food was not available. The chef was uninterested and unhelpful. Could not wait to leave after one night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edward31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Communications at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
We’re very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience – our aim is to give all our guests and visitors a wonderful and relaxing experience, and so we take your feedback very seriously. We have a separate area for functions, but ALL our guests are important to us and should feel valued, and our kids-friendly policy means that our staff usually go the extra mile for littlies (there should always be fresh simple food available – we grow lots of it on site!), likewise we service rooms daily and have a thorough housekeeping process. Our reputation has been built on the great experiences people have at Lochmara, and your feedback is both unusual and upsetting for us, so we will be looking in to it to make sure it doesn’t happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    46
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
38
100
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

Kick back, relax, switch your phone off (though convieniently the coverage is patchy) and enjoy this little gem. Accessable only by boat or from the Queen Charlotte walking track and set on the shores of the Queen Charlotte Sound, Loch Mara is ecologically designed and tastefully decorated with tons of art pieces hidden around the grounds, all of which, contribute towards the perfect place to unwind.

With (almost) every room with view to die for, super friendly staff the good quality local food and wine, we struggled to find something we didn't like.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_The_Gerbi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

the best stay of our trip .friendly alpacas and sea birds lizards to spot, hammocks where we saw shooting stars,interesting art.and artists Our room was a little noisy from upstairs ,but there was so much to do and see around the lodge that we didn't spend much time there,we went canoeing ,walking, feeding the birds and swiming with the fish.
the views from the lookout were incredible .worth the walk
at night we went to visit the glowworms and swim in the glowing water on the beach-- a must do its a truly magical experiencei cant .recommend it enough .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explorerNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

i recently stayed at the loch mara lodge as part of a wedding party and it was extremely enjoyable.
the hotel is owned and run by a couple where the enthusiasm of the owner is infectious
and she is thinking for you ...
the hotel is an inexpensive motel type accomodation but the food is 5 star ,
the only thing i think i would need to make this a highly recommend ed is ability to get to the queen charlotte track and for the walk to be signposted around the resort...its not easy walking .
i had a massage here also and it was very good.
the motel has linited access to teh outside world,if you stand at the water edge you might get a mobile signal and while we were there, their internet was down for 4 days ...
so dont expect to communicate with family etc while there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHighgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

We had a long weekend away here for some R&R and it was a tonic. I can thoroughly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LachlanHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

We loved our stay at Lochmara... great trip in from Picton where we dropped off our bags and then were taxied about 12 miles down the trail for a day hike back to the lodge. Hike was incredible, but by the time we started down the final hill toward the Lodge we were ready to be "home". And then we were, as we walked through the gate and were greated by some (overly?) friendly alpaca, welcoming hammocks and interesting art. Our room was no-frills, but the view was incredible and there was so much to do and see around the lodge that we didn't spend much time there. Our stay was on a Sunday night, so there was a bbq dinner where all guests were invited to eat together outdoors, and we met another honeymooning couple and had a great evening together talking and enjoying the cafe when it became too cold to be outside. Later we went to visit the glowworms and see the glowing water on the beach-- a truly magical experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexAndBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

We had only one night here doing the Track but it seems plenty of people come here for a holiday and stay a week. It's a very good place. We had a 2 bed apartment. It had rained heavily the day we arrived so we were all a bit wet. The heater dried things off quickly. The beds were very comfortable. It wasn't the sort of apartment we could have lived in had we been staying longer, but that didn't matter. We had excellent food in the cafe both at dinner and breakfast. There is a very good communal feel. The staff are very good. Friendly, helpful and professional.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blah1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochmara Bay
2.9 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
1.6 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
10.6 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre

Property: Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound, Lochmara Bay 7201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Lochmara Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great accommodation in 14 units & bay view chalets set on the tranquil shores of the Marlborough Sounds, a short cruise from Picton in our water taxi (Lochmara can easily arrange this for you, there are no roads to Lochmara). Explore the Wildlife Recovery & Art Centre, nature & sculpture trails, Queen Charlotte Track, art gallery, wildlife, free use of our kayaks, or relax on the beach, hammocks or Bath House spa. Licensed cafe/restaurant serving local and seasonal produce and local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery And Arts Centre Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing