We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Nearby Hotels
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Sunnyvale Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$92
$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$54
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Street Living Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$54
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$69
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Picton Beachcomber Inn(Picton)(Great Value!)
$78
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
118
54
28
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
54
28
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taxifree kayaksqueen charlotte trackglow wormsday trippershot chocolate in the roomkune kune pigsinstant coffeeduring high seasonbeautiful view of the baycafe restaurantmarlborough soundsevery staff memberwine selectionbath housesunny daynice ride
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 216 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2009

Stayed here over Christmas with our 2 children. Apartment was pretty basic with small kitchen area but no cooking facilities or lounge but this was made up for by the fabulous location. Lots of wildlife - birds, alpacas, dog, fish - free use of kayaks to paddle around in - and lots of places to explore and escape. Hot tub for private hire and massage available. Cafe/restaurant provided for all meals - although provided limited options for 3 of us who are vegetarian.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giddychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Lochmara Lodge was absolutely the highlight of our holiday – and we didn’t even stay there! (We would have, but they were full!). Instead we stayed in our boat, and over the course of a few days, we tied up to the visitors mooring and had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Lochmara Cafe. Every single meal was divine – particularly the evening meal. The service was friendly and the atmosphere was great – everything was just top quality. We live in Wellington and often go to restaurants here in the city, and we would easily rate Lochmara Cafe up there with the best of them. Can’t wait to visit again! Loved the arts trail too!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Location
Thank jasminerose09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

After two weeks touring the South Island we stayed at Lochmara to relax for two nights. we stayed in a luxury lodge whiich was spacious and nicely fitted out with fantastic views from the balcony, or even sat up in bed. the grounds are great to explore with trails past statues carvings and numerous hammocks to rest in along the way, with free kayaks to use as well, rope swings a semi open air spa pool to relax in. also feed the native birds in the breeding programme. You are tied to eating in the resteraunt but even though expensive the quality was excellent.
It is a great place to relax in the peace and quiet of the Marlborough sounds and only a twenty minute water taxi ride from Picton.
Would have been 5 stars but on one afternoon the resort was taken over by a private Xmas day out with a lot of loud shouting singing etc and took priority over the paying guests at the lodge, I know they've got to make the place pay but seems out of keeping with with the peace and tranquility of the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braniff58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

Reading the reviews about this place, I had high hopes, but was sorely disappointed. Our room was tiny and minimalist to a fault -- there was a single light bulb hanging above the bed, and the room smelled of mildew and sewage (they were apparently having a problem with the sewage system while we were there). That said, the view from our little shoebox was quite nice, and there were interested things on the grounds. We enjoyed looking at the glowworms, relaxing in the hammocks, and having a beer at the bar. The private hot tub was also neat. So, if you're looking for a nice hotel room, this is not the place for you, but this could be fun if you're looking for an interesting location as a whole.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Beautiful place with gorgeous views of the bay and surrounding mountains. Very relaxing time. Especially loved all the sculptures and hammocks all over the property and kayaking in Lochmara Bay. Stayed in the luxury chalet for 2 days and wish we'd stayed longer.

But just a warning that the cafe is quite expensive - decent food but probably overpriced and with limited vegetarian options and slow service. We were surprised to find a fridge and plates etc in the room so you may want to consider bringing some wine and food with you if you are catching the water taxi to the lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KALAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews