We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, excellent centre but poor management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place, excellent centre but poor management”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The lodge and centre have great staff and the food is good however the management service experience was poor. At check out just about everyone had some problem with their accounts and the bill itself did not detail each of the items so you had to ask what each amount represented. There was confusion about what groups were entitled to and what they were charged for. This left a very bitter taste for a lot of people. A real shame as it is brilliant spot.

Room Tip: If you stay, the standard rooms have excellent views as well as the superior ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thanks for the review and feedback – we take all feedback seriously and I have investigated your concerns regarding management service. I suspect that you are part of the party who ordered breakfast, not realizing that it wasn’t included in your pre-paid voucher issued by your travel agent? We apologise that this spoiled your stay at Lochmara (although thanks for the positive comments on everything else!), and we hope the complimentary breakfast went some way to showing you our real efforts to make sure guests are happy. In the future, we will recommend that all guests have read their vouchers issued by their travel agent and present these when they arrive, so everyone is clear on what has been pre-paid. Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    46
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
39
100
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We walked here, detouring 3kms off the Queen Charlotte walk. Arrived early, about 1.30pm and was welcomed. Bags not yet arrived, but still shown to our room. Cafe made us great coffee.
Explored the wildlife area, glowworm grotto, and chilled out.
Best dinner ever - smoked poisson.
Recommended detour, or for a boat visit.
Accepts day visitors too....

Room Tip: Worth the extra walk here.... different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thanks Linda W! Love it when people kick back, relax and feel welcome. We've passed your comments on to the chef too - the poussin is a real favourite. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We didn't stay the night, but spent a day here with friends and family. I wouldn't have bothered to write a review except I really felt the massage I had deserved a mention. It was incredible. The therapist was incredibly intuitive and just did a superb job. I would come back just for another massage if it wasn't so far to travel! Thanks for having us for the day - we had fun despite the rain :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kiwilisa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you! We've passed your comments on to Marique (the massage therapist) as well, we think she's pretty great too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed here years ago and loved this place. There is such a friendly atmosphere, unlike many backpacker hostels and it's a great place for walks or for just relaxing. I went canoeing on the bay and there was also an amazing hot tub which can be hired privately. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryko26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review after all this time - we do say once discovered...never forgotten. We don't have backpacker accommodation available anymore, but we still have the kayaks, and we hope we still have the friendly atmosphere too ;) Check out the website and then come back and visit to see what's new, we love having past guests come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We decided to take break from the queen Charlotte walk here. - it is an hours deviation each way but will reduce the final days walk on the track . We planned to go kayaking in the afternoon but unfortunately the weather wasn't great but enjoyed relaxing and watching the various animals included endangered parrots . The food although limited compared to other good lodges on the track was of a much higher standard and the cost and wine was more reasonable . I had manuka smoked baby chicken and my wife grilled John dory on lentils and garden vegetables including broad beans , it did take longer to arrive but a more intimate feel to the other lodges .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for the review. 'Genuine' makes us genuinely happy - thanks. Will pass the feedback on to the cafe an keep on keeping the prices as reasonable as we can. Sorry about the rain, we'll see what we can do about that next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Fabulous location, peaceful, beautiful food and excellent service add up to a must do stop in a busy schedule. Transported across from Picton in the Lochmara water taxi with our 10 year old enjoying the ride up front with Shane, great fun! We loved kayaking, walking round the pathways, discovering the hammocks. A highlight for Joe was the animal feeding with hands on feeding of karikaris ( think that's what they were!) and watching the pigs and chickens in a feeding frenzy with recycled food scraps from the kitchen. The eels enjoyed their lunch(not all were hungry!). We saw our first glow worms at night, a couple of minutes walk from our tui chalet. Fully recommend a visit here and thank you to the lovely staff at Lochmara.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you :) And you were super close - the parakeets are called Kakariki (it's also the Maori word for green, appropriately!). Thanks for visiting us, and the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great value, exceptional standard of rooms, service and surroundings. Genuine wildlife protection and care facilities on show with rare parrots, and endangered eels and gheckos. loads People pay to come for a day trip here it's so good. Also, the restaurant is a top shelf gormet dining experience. If you are tramping the Heaphy Track it is worth the extra 1/2 hour off the track detour to stay here. Free kayaks and if you can cook them you can harvest rock mussels from the kayaks.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimierod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for the review and recommendation! Fantastic that you had a great time. I'm sure this was just an unintentional mixup, but to confirm for other readers, the track we are on is the Queen Charlotte Track - the Heaphy is a further West, between Tasman and the West Coast. They are both great tracks though, offering different experiences for hikers. Lucky you, if you walked both of them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochmara Bay
8.5 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
313 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
3.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
616 reviews
4.3 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
246 reviews
10.6 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre

Property: Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound, Lochmara Bay 7201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Lochmara Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great accommodation in 14 units & bay view chalets set on the tranquil shores of the Marlborough Sounds, a short cruise from Picton in our water taxi (Lochmara can easily arrange this for you, there are no roads to Lochmara). Explore the Wildlife Recovery & Art Centre, nature & sculpture trails, Queen Charlotte Track, art gallery, wildlife, free use of our kayaks, or relax on the beach, hammocks or Bath House spa. Licensed cafe/restaurant serving local and seasonal produce and local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery And Arts Centre Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing