We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I highly recommend Lochmara lodge, great location!!! I went there with my partner and we had such a wonderful time. There is so much to do there, such as kayaking, taking walks around the lodge to observe the artwork & wildlife. The rooms are special too with the view of water from the bed. Only downside is that the water taxis fare is a little expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_Patrick01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you! 'Wonderful time' is what we aim for. We try and keep the boat prices down as much as we can, but we do need to keep the boat afloat (pun intended) - and there is a relaxation pay-off in having no road access. Of course, you could get all adventurous and walk, bike, or kayak in next time :) Hope to see you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 201 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

What a great way to combine the arts, wildlife and a bit of luxury. We loved how we could spend hours wandering the grounds and keep finding new little things. The hammocks dotted around the place were fantastic. As was the art. The staff were all very friendly (including Lockie the dog!)

The menu was rather small and a bit on the expensive side so I wouldn't want to stay there more than a couple of days. But the food was just lovely - just not much variety that's all.

All in all, a great way to finish off our trip in a little luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwilassee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thanks for the review - we'll pass your feedback on to the staff. Re the menu - everything is cooked fresh on site, so keeping the menu selective makes sure everything we serve is fresh. However, for guests that stay more than a couple of nights the Chef always adds something a little different as a special to add variety. Sample menus are available on our website. Thanks again for the kind feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went there with my family for three days stay. Besides the beauty, there are so many things to do: kayaks, trekking, massage, relax at the Bath House, hammocks all around, glow worms, that wonderful luminescence in the water sea at night. The staff is soo nice! The food is delicious. I'll have to visit that lovely place again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LedaFortaleza_CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you! When we achieve 'wow' we know we're doing OK ;) The bioluminescence is cool to see. Hope you saw it by jumping in from the rope swing! Look forward to seeing you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A group of 3 couples, walking the Queen Charlotte Track stayed our last night at Lochmara Lodge. This was the friendliest place of the 4 nights we stayed along the track. Food was excellent, Grounds and animals an extra treat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We think 'friendly' is important, so this feedback is very valuable for us, thanks. Jonathan Kari, our head chef, says thanks too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Here is one of the reasons that i hope to visit new zealand again some day. Such a beautiful place. Walks, hammocks. carvings, free kayaks, glow worms, scenery, and Food glorious Food. If you ever go to Picton leave your car and spend a night here and you will not be disappointed. On our trip out in the water taxi we had the pleasure of dolphins swimming beside us. We got a super sunny day here which was a bonus and we really had a superb stay and our room looked out on the bay...wow
Reilly Family ireland

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thanks :) You're welcome back any time. Stay longer next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This lodge has no road access, so very relaxing to arrive by water taxi and be by the sea. They have high class service, local wine and good kiwi tucker including BBQ and local salmon. Also an attraction of local birds, gecko and weka.... Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thanks for the review. Just to clarify, the restaurant usually has a full a la carte menu for dinner and a blackboard menu for lunch. Our gourmet kiwi BBQ is a weekly event on a Friday over summer...whatever night you're here though, you'll find something good to eat :) Hope to see you again to try the a la carte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Was very disappointed to get challenged for a Queen Charlotte track pass which was supposed to be included in the price but never materialised in the hand. Seems the lodge encourages you to trespass over other peoples land without contributing to the path upkeep. Other than that, staff lovely, food lovely and check out the cute little piggies who love being scratched.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday-pigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thanks for your review. Unfortunately re the track, the information you have been given is incorrect. The Department of Conservation maintains the whole 71km of the awesome Queen Charlotte Track, including the sections on private land. The access pass goes to these landowners as a collective and we do include these for all guests walking the 18km from Anakiwa. Unfortunately you were drawn into some administration issues with one landowner about 200m of track on the short lookout walk. This issue should never have been allowed to interfere with your enjoyment of this beautiful part of the world and we’re working to resolve it. Thanks for the review and I’m pleased you enjoyed Lochmara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochmara Bay
8.5 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
326 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
2.9 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
262 reviews
10.6 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
334 reviews
1.5 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre

Address: Queen Charlotte Sound, Lochmara Bay 7201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Lochmara Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Price Range: $57 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great accommodation in 14 units & bay view chalets set on the tranquil shores of the Marlborough Sounds, a short cruise from Picton in our water taxi (Lochmara can easily arrange this for you, there are no roads to Lochmara). Explore the Wildlife Recovery & Art Centre, nature & sculpture trails, Queen Charlotte Track, art gallery, wildlife, free use of our kayaks, or relax on the beach, hammocks or Bath House spa. Licensed cafe/restaurant serving local and seasonal produce and local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery And Arts Centre Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing