We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went there with my family for three days stay. Besides the beauty, there are so many things to do: kayaks, trekking, massage, relax at the Bath House, hammocks all around, glow worms, that wonderful luminescence in the water sea at night. The staff is soo nice! The food is delicious. I'll have to visit that lovely place again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LedaFortaleza_CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you! When we achieve 'wow' we know we're doing OK ;) The bioluminescence is cool to see. Hope you saw it by jumping in from the rope swing! Look forward to seeing you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    46
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
39
100
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A group of 3 couples, walking the Queen Charlotte Track stayed our last night at Lochmara Lodge. This was the friendliest place of the 4 nights we stayed along the track. Food was excellent, Grounds and animals an extra treat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We think 'friendly' is important, so this feedback is very valuable for us, thanks. Jonathan Kari, our head chef, says thanks too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Here is one of the reasons that i hope to visit new zealand again some day. Such a beautiful place. Walks, hammocks. carvings, free kayaks, glow worms, scenery, and Food glorious Food. If you ever go to Picton leave your car and spend a night here and you will not be disappointed. On our trip out in the water taxi we had the pleasure of dolphins swimming beside us. We got a super sunny day here which was a bonus and we really had a superb stay and our room looked out on the bay...wow
Reilly Family ireland

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks :) You're welcome back any time. Stay longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This lodge has no road access, so very relaxing to arrive by water taxi and be by the sea. They have high class service, local wine and good kiwi tucker including BBQ and local salmon. Also an attraction of local birds, gecko and weka.... Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for the review. Just to clarify, the restaurant usually has a full a la carte menu for dinner and a blackboard menu for lunch. Our gourmet kiwi BBQ is a weekly event on a Friday over summer...whatever night you're here though, you'll find something good to eat :) Hope to see you again to try the a la carte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Was very disappointed to get challenged for a Queen Charlotte track pass which was supposed to be included in the price but never materialised in the hand. Seems the lodge encourages you to trespass over other peoples land without contributing to the path upkeep. Other than that, staff lovely, food lovely and check out the cute little piggies who love being scratched.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday-pigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately re the track, the information you have been given is incorrect. The Department of Conservation maintains the whole 71km of the awesome Queen Charlotte Track, including the sections on private land. The access pass goes to these landowners as a collective and we do include these for all guests walking the 18km from Anakiwa. Unfortunately you were drawn into some administration issues with one landowner about 200m of track on the short lookout walk. This issue should never have been allowed to interfere with your enjoyment of this beautiful part of the world and we’re working to resolve it. Thanks for the review and I’m pleased you enjoyed Lochmara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Mostly enjoyed the lodge, and the restaurant cooks some of the best food I've ever had (and my wife is a Cordon Bleu chef). Would like the owners to go the extra mile with the kids (having built every cool toy known to man for them to enjoy - e.g. would've been great to use the flying fox for more than one ride). Rooms are good. Beds are amazing BUT two small things: have somewhere for my wife to put her makeup bags in the bathroom - all of our toilet bags were on the floor because the only shelf was tiny, already full and too high for her.And I'd love to have had a luggage shelf at the foot of the beds. I don't mind having no wardrobe, provided I have somewhere to put my bags that isn't the floor.

Room Tip: Some very cheap rooms are used in package deals with a Kayaking company - don't do it - a lady s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for the feeback. We'll look info the bathroom shelf space. Some of our rooms do have luggage racks and wardrobes, we'll add this into the info for each room so if it's important to you, you can choose a room accordingly. So pleased you enjoyed the flying fox enough to ride it again! This activity takes two staff to run and we do provide it for free, so we do have to have some limits on it. It's the first year it's been open, so after this season we'll review how the system worked and any changes. Jonathan Kari, our head chef, says thanks :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
128 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We returned to Lochmara Lodge after our first stay 4 years ago. We booked the great Kakariki Chalet again. The chalet was fine as before, lots of space, nice and tasteful interior, large bathroom, and everything was very clean. After our 33km day hike from Mahana Lodge to Lochmara Lodge we were happy to find an excellent BBQ buffet at the restaurant in the evening, an amazing choice of vegetarian, excellent and delicious warm and cold salads, stuffed potatoes, pizza bread, desserts and so on. Vegetarian stacks were also prepared for us from the grill –great and recommended! We also had dinner the next evening which again was delicious. The grounds are a great spot in the Sounds, hammocks all around, Punga people watching you on the lodge’s tracks, and the glowworms not to be missed when night is falling.

What made us rate this place only 4 points instead of 5 how it could be is mainly the fact that meanwhile a lot of day trippers are coming to Lochmara Lodge between 9 am and 6 pm, mainly families with young children using Lochmara Lodge and its grounds as a large playground running around, screaming, leaving toys and toddlers everywhere, and changing the restaurant including the verandah into a mess. We had the strong impression that Lochmara Lodge is even trying to attract more day trippers to come here announcing this family fun on their website. They even have a parrot with clipped wings near the restaurant during daytime to entertain the kids and parents by letting the (speaking) bird pass from shoulder to shoulder for photo taking. “He is happy”, we were told when we asked at the reception how this fits together with their attitude for environmental care and animal protection.

This leaves some mixed feelings, although the grounds, the suite and the restaurant were really great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochmara Bay
8.5 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
313 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
3.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
617 reviews
10.6 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
319 reviews
1.5 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre

Property: Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound, Lochmara Bay 7201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Lochmara Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great accommodation in 14 units & bay view chalets set on the tranquil shores of the Marlborough Sounds, a short cruise from Picton in our water taxi (Lochmara can easily arrange this for you, there are no roads to Lochmara). Explore the Wildlife Recovery & Art Centre, nature & sculpture trails, Queen Charlotte Track, art gallery, wildlife, free use of our kayaks, or relax on the beach, hammocks or Bath House spa. Licensed cafe/restaurant serving local and seasonal produce and local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery And Arts Centre Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing