We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed April 18, 2008

We only stayed in Lochmara Lodge for one night. We were so disappointed when we arrived to think we would have to leave the next morning. It's in the most wonderful situation on the sounds, which we got to by water taxi courtesy of the Lodge.

The villa we stayed in appeared to be very new. It was huge, beautifully decorated, and had a huge shower big enough for two. However, despite how lovely the villa was, it's everything else here which makes the experience - free kayaks, a rope swing!, animals, hammocks to lie in, a glow worm dell, an excellent restaurant, and many more things which we just didn't have time to do.

It makes me smile to remember we turned off the jetty light and threw stones into the water in the dark of the night to see the glowing phosphoresence in the bay. (We were too chicken to use the rope swing at night which we were told was the best way to experience the phosphoresence and too stuffed from the lovely restaurant food!). One other reviewer mentions the stars - they really are quite extraordinary. It's hard to believe that there are so many stars in the sky and that they are so bright. In a city like London, which is blighted by light pollution at night it's very easy to forget they are there, and looking up in the night sky at Lochmara was truly an astounding experience.

I can't wait to return to New Zealand, and when I do I will make sure that I spend at least a few days at Lochmara to experience everything they offer.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    46
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
39
100
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
393 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2008

We walked off the Queen Charlotte Track to Lochmara. The track was stunning and one of the most enjoyable 4 days I ve had.
We had already stayed in some excellent accomodation but Lochmara was superb all round. The new luxary villa we stayed in was beautiful, huge walk in shower, views of the sounds and tastefullly decorated. The food in the restraunt was the best food we have had in NZ and we have been here for one year.
I had a massage and it was so relaxing. The owner was so friendly and helpful. Free kayaks and I saw a huge sting ray.
The glow worms at the back of the villas were a treat to see after evening meal. This really is a great place.

  • Liked — Beautiful Rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2007

Wow where do you start!!!

This place is amazing. We got collected from Picton waterfront by Lochmara's water taxi and taken across the sounds to the lodge.

As soon as the water taxi pulled up there were loads of members of staff waiting to welcome us, take our luggage and show us to our chalet.

The chalet was clean and comfortable. It was equiped with small corner kitchen area with kettle and fridge. Outside is a private patio complete with table & chairs overlooking the sounds. There is also a spa on site which we didn't get the chance to try this visit.

The property is amazing, you can follow little trails that open up on to grassy area's complete with hammocks to sit in whilst you have a beer and overlooking the sounds, around every corner you find a piece of art to admire.

The food from the resturant is wonderful and the massage simply divine.

Once darkness falls be sure to go and take alook at the gloworm grotto. Its magical, then take time to sit out on one of the loungers and look at the thousand of stars you can see because there is no light pollution.

Words really cant describe Lochmara. If you are visiting New Zealand make time to spend the night at Lochmara Lodge.

  • Liked — The peace
  • Disliked — There is nothing here is dislike
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Herefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2007

Lochmara is amazing....the staff was very friendly and extremely hospitable, the property is breathtaking, and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. Has a great restaurant and cafe. The best part was the walking trails...everywhere you look is either a beautiful sculpture or a beautiful view of the bay.

  • Liked — the atmosphere
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2007

Lochmara Lodge is quite simply heaven on earth.
After stays in various anonymous motels and grubby hostels we were delighted to find that this place far exceeded our expectations - (having picked up an advertising flyer at one of said 'grubby hostels' and read the Lonely Planet review)
Arriving by water taxi, arranged by Lochmara, we were met by one of the young, helpful staff who showed us to our room - a twin bed chalet with the most amazing views over Lochmara Bay. Complete with kitchen area, microwave and hot plate it had everything we needed. A small but perfectly adequate bathroom with shower.
No Tv or radio to distract - just lots of walks on various tracks around the property - free use of kayaks - great fun! Hammocks strung here and there and lots of interesting fellow travellers. As soon as we got here we booked another night straight away - but could quite easily have stayed a week.
Lazy days - and then we would BBQ on the shared deck area every evening. So peaceful at night - early morning there was the most delightful birdsong to wake us up.
All in all a wonderful place if you are looking for peace and quiet and a real break away from it all. As it says on their advert - 'You may never want to leave' - and that was certainly our feeling.

  • Liked — the amazing views from the balcony of our room
  • Disliked — Could be hard to find way back to room at night - without torch
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Imjatanaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 28, 2005

excellent....we walked in off the queen chalrotte track. can get there by water taxi from picton as well. backpackers and other units, set right on the waters edge. nice hot spa. free kayaks, lots of friendly animals to feed, lots of hammocks....atmosphere plus.

a most do when in the area....do stay longer than 1 night

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochmara Bay
2.9 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
1.5 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
10.6 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre

Property: Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound, Lochmara Bay 7201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Lochmara Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great accommodation in 14 units & bay view chalets set on the tranquil shores of the Marlborough Sounds, a short cruise from Picton in our water taxi (Lochmara can easily arrange this for you, there are no roads to Lochmara). Explore the Wildlife Recovery & Art Centre, nature & sculpture trails, Queen Charlotte Track, art gallery, wildlife, free use of our kayaks, or relax on the beach, hammocks or Bath House spa. Licensed cafe/restaurant serving local and seasonal produce and local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery And Arts Centre Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing