We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lochmara Cafe

Lochmara Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $25
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Lochmara cafe is set right on the waters edge of the Queen Charlotte Sound. Cafe serves local and seasonal produce, local wines and great coffee. Come on over for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We can arrange water transport for you from PIcton. Charges apply. Free use of our kayaks, safe swimming beach, rope swing into the water, self guided tour of the property with information panels to learn about the local flora and fauna, daily animal feeding, flying fox, art gallery......Lochmara also has accommodation if you would like stay a night or two. We monitor VHF Chanel 63 if you are arriving with your own boat.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Lochmara Cafe has wonderful food and coffee - some of the best of both we have ever tasted and consistent throughout the 3 days we were there. We also cant speak more highly of the for their consistently high standard of service and the way they worked as a team to support their patrons.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Cafe, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks Barbara! I'll pass that on to the staff, they'll love to hear that. Hope to see you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    23
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Outstanding at every meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 2 days at Lochmara and every single thing we ate at the cafe was excellent and showed real attention to detail. We had breakfast with eggs from the chickens on site, and even the toast was perfect (really good bread, cut into thick slices and perfectly grilled). Every day there was different baking – I had to avoid walking through the cafe so I didn’t try something else (the ‘cowboy cookies’ were sooo good). My partner and I tried 4 different lunches – our favourite was the best seafood chowder I have ever eaten. Lunch on the second day we were there (Saturday) was really busy with people on their own boats and day trippers, but service was still efficient. Dinner was much more elegant, and again the food was outstanding, especially the poussin and the mussels. It’s a good job we were so active during the day or you would have had to roll me on to the boat at the end of our stay.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Cafe, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks Colnz! We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and your food. We do all our baking on-site, except the bread which comes from an awesome local bakery, and yes, it's great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome and alsways is!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is an amazing spot to dine or have a couple of quiets. Lou and Shane hire the best staff and best chefs! we got married here and it remains our favourite place in the Marlborough Sounds!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Cafe, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks! We're lucky that the best staff want to come work here, we're very proud of the team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

A short boat trip across the bay from Picton you will find a magical spot nestled amongst the bush background and echoing the sounds of the bird song.Bathed in morning sunshine and sheltered from all but the nastiest winds.There is a lovely sandy beach..a rope swing out over the water (If you are game ) and beautiful short bush walks.This is relaxation heaven ! Great for families ..you can get there by scheduled water taxi (or hire one to suit your own schedule) or take your own boat..there are moorings available for patrons to use.Fish swim around the jetty and there is an opportunity to feed them..amazing ! Considering the location the quality of service and food delivery is exceptional without being too expensive...Well worth the short boat ride to visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pictonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Cafe, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks Pictonboy! We love it when locals love coming here - if you don't have one already, think about getting a season pass then you can come out on our boat as much as you like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawerau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“magic spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Shane and Louise have created a wonderful sounds experience here.
I have taken visiting friends to Lochmara a few times now and just love enjoying a nice meal in the sounds after walking, kayaking or boating to Lochmara.
I really enjoy the nature walk with the parakeets, eels, Punga people and sounds views.
There is something for visitors, children, art and coffee lovers and all so very close to Picton
Transport to the sounds always adds cost to everything, but if you can fit in a visit to Lochmara Lodge I'm sure you wont regret it -two seperate groups of my guests have said it was the highlight of their sounds visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amysmum578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Cafe, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for the review. We really want to capture the spirit of the Sounds for people, and it's lovely to hear that people come away loving the Sounds. We try and keep the day trip cost as low as we can, and we do have group rates and regular-visitor options. A proportion of all day trip costs go to the Marlborough Sounds Wildlife Recovery Trust too, which looks after conservation work locally so at least you know you're supporting the local environment with your vist :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochmara Cafe also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Arthurs Bay, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Lochmara Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing