We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, excellent views, very nice food”
Review of Lochmara Cafe

Lochmara Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $26
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Lochmara cafe is set right on the waters edge of the Queen Charlotte Sound. Cafe serves local and seasonal produce, local wines and great coffee. Come on over for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We can arrange water transport for you from PIcton. Charges apply. Free use of our kayaks, safe swimming beach, rope swing into the water, self guided tour of the property with information panels to learn about the local flora and fauna, daily animal feeding, flying fox, art gallery......Lochmara also has accommodation if you would like stay a night or two. We monitor VHF Chanel 63 if you are arriving with your own boat.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great service, excellent views, very nice food”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

A stunning setting and a beautiful sunny day made this a perfect time for my visit to Lochmara, to tell the truth I am getting a bit weary of visiting restaurants and cafe's in NZ as the process is a bit reverse Russian roulette like and although there is the occasional hit, there are many blanks fired as well. This was certainly a hit, everything came together, a nice boat ride in (after a nearby cool dive in the morning we got dropped off by Nine ( NINE DIVES ) on his recommendation) onto a jetty with a friendly welcome, a beautiful terrace overlooking the Bay, and a funny parrot entertaining us,
We had simple fish and chips for lunch and it was delicious, "clean food" Blue Cod ( which made me feel a bit guilty as we just saw his mates in the fishreserve ) in crisp batter , with chunky chips cooked just right, sitting in a sunny spot washing it away with a draught beer, served by a fun and helpfull waitress ( with beautiful curly hair ) who was full of energy and enthusiasm about the place, she also suggested we adventured into the park connected with Lochmara which we did for an amazing discovery of art and animals and views of the bay , NZ at its best., a Lochmara lodge boat ride back to our B+B in Picton made for a spectacular finish as we saw dolphins on the way !

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    23
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at Lochmara overnight and whilst the accommodation was average, the cafe was top notch. First of all, the setting is magnificent. There's plenty of outdoor seating to enjoy the views of the bay and maybe even dip in for a swim or a paddle on the kayaks.

The cafe has a great menu for both snacks and dining. I had a lovely chocolate brownie for my afternoon tea and then came back a few hours later for a splendid dinner. The food was well cooked, flavorsome and a very generous portion. The menu offers something for everyone...the steak was divine.

Breakfast was also great and their packed lunch was very tasty. On top of the great food was the great service. All the staff were very friendly and hospitable.

Definitely worth a visit.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Raf1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Terrific food”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at the Lochmara Lodge on the last night of our trek on the Queen Charlotte Track. The accommodations were fine, but the food was fantastic! The mussels starter came in a delicious tomato broth and was served with slices of thick bread. It was a meal in itself. The breakfast portions were also extremely large. The salmon scramble was delicious and was easily enough for two.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best meals on the QC track”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My adult daughter and I arrived quite tired after the longest day of walking the QC track, and were completely revived with the fantastic dinner we enjoyed. Luckily we had one more day to try more of the excellent cooking, we chose seafood every time, at every meal. The staff are all helpful and very friendly- our stay was simply womderful.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barrelfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food with great views!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were staying at Lochmara Lodge, so had lunch & dinner in the cafe each day of our stay.

The food was creative, well presented and tasty. And despite comments from others, we thought that the meals were reasonably priced and they were very generous serves.

John, the chef, was keen to make sure that his meals were enjoyed and spent time chatting with us about the dishes on the menu (it was early in the season and things were quietish, so this probably doesn't happen when things are busy!)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Brugwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochmara Cafe also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Arthurs Bay, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Lochmara Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing