We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent attraction & addition to Normandy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Normandy Tank Museum

Normandy Tank Museum
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Catz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Co. Wicklow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent attraction & addition to Normandy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was an excellent and interesting collection which will delight visitors to the area who are interested in WW2. My husband and son really enjoyed it and I found it interesting despite it not really being my thing! All the information in the museum is in French and English and there is an amazing collection of tanks, trucks, other items. Could be a bit tricky to find depending which direction you are coming from.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank groveroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    65
    20
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A new star attraction in Normandy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor we added this to our list of visits during our tour of the American Airbourne sites and Utah beach. We are so glad we did. What a fab collection. All the exhibits are well turned out and detailed information is on offer in French and English. Like another reviewer we count the Dragon Wagon the star piece. Sign posting for visitors driving south is limited so research your route first.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Hensrus303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A new attraction in Normandy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Opened last May, the quality of the restorations is astonishing with most looking as though they are just off the production line. The Dragon Wagon alone is worth the entrance fee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome New Museum!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We happened upon this musuem while driving to Carentan to visit another museum. We are very glad we came upon it, as it is new in 2013 and has a fantastic collection of fully restored and running vehicles, tanks, motorcycles and an amazing amount of period goods. It includes a Sherman with a 105 howitzer, a Priest mobile artillery vehicle, a partially restored Panzer Mark IV, a Dragon tank retreiver/transporter, and even a couple of buffalo amphibian vehicles. You can even book a ride in a tank for 35 Euros each. It also has a good book/gift shop, including R/C tank kits.

Located on the same site is the A-10 forward airfield and it is still in the process of being reconstructed, but should be very interesting in the future.

I highly recommend this new museum as a must see, especially if you are driving from Caen to St Mere Eqlise, etc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas6449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Normandy Tank Museum also viewed

Sainte-Mere-Eglise, Manche
Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
 

Been to Normandy Tank Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing