We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells like your great grandmother's house, and the beds are that old too.”
Review of Bassett Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bassett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bassett Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bassett
Reviewed November 27, 2011

It was a strange place. Horrible beds, stained walls, Torn carpet. Yuk!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jej1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony F, Owner at Bassett Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

"Grandma's place" is being updated! New carpets throughout, 15 of the 30 rooms have new queen size mattresses and now the mouth watering smell of home cooking from the adjoining cafe is in the air. Stay a night (or two!) at the historic Bassett Lodge and enjoy a meal at the Range Cafe, we think you will be pleased with both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

Great hotel in Bassett, this is a wonderful motel from the 40-50s timeframe. These days check into any cheesy hotel chains throughout the midwest and you will get the same Mc Donald's type one size fits all room. This place is something quite different. Mellow out see small town america at its best. Gayla P was great person who really made our stay comfortable. The lobby of the lodge takes you back to a timeless era of the 50s TV westerns. I half expected Roy Rogers to step out and say welcome to Bassett. We wanted to stay only overnight on our way to the Badlands and Black hills. But would tell anyone get a good book relax in the lobby have a couple of great meals at the adjoining cafe and just relax a bit. Don't know why they got 1 bad review out of 4. Maybe that person was just having a bad hair day. My wife and I live part of the time in Turkey and half of the year in Iowa. We has been to 5 stars places and 1 star places costing 20-200+ dollars a night, but we will always remember our wonderful stay in Bassett. By the way this place is cheaper and better than anything Valentine or Oneil has to offer. Did I mention all the people we met in Bassett were very friendly and helpful, Thanks to all. eric and suna

Room Tip: Let Gayla be your guide
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank eric g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Yes,this Hotel is not fully restored to the original splendor yet, but the rooms are clean. The Hotel manager, Gayla, is very nice, helpful and accommodating. The hotel has lots of charm and history. The Lodge Cafe is just the best. Everything is home made. Must try the famous Chicken Fried Steak. The Sunday Brunch is great. Meet the head chef Rhonda and the gang and be prepared to over eat. We were lucky to participate in the Halloween Fun.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosieRiveter_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This is the only hotel in town so no other options if staying in Bassett. The rooms are the worst I have seen anywhere... they are slowly trying to fix the place up. They are light years away from even being subpar. Holes in the ceiling, no tv remote, dirty tubs and sinks, peeling wallpaper, and hole in all linens, no alarm clock and the door to your room vents(open slats) to the hallway so others can hear you at all times.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmoonbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony F, Owner at Bassett Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

We are happy to say that "this dump" has been fixed up since this review! New owner/operators purchased this property in the spring of 2012 and we are happy to say many improvements have taken place. During the winter months of 2013, new carpets were installed in all guest rooms, bathtubs and sinks were resurfaced, and fresh paint and wall paper added. We have new queen size mattresses in 15 of the 30 rooms and all rooms have new linens and bedspreads. Check out our historic "gem", we think you will enjoy your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Bassett Lodge is a lovely art moderne establishment built in 1949.
After years of semi-neglect the local chamber of commerce are slowly renovating it. There are some rooms finished and these have been sympathetically restored - the bathrooms especially are lovely.
Don't expect luxury as it's some way from finished but it has a great diner attached to it and it's in a lovely, remote part of Nebraska.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank EssexPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bassett Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassett Lodge

Address: 205 Clark St, Bassett, NE 68714-5503
Location: United States > Nebraska > Bassett
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bassett
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing