We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Accomodations on the Ski Hill”
Review of Kandahar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kandahar Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Accomodations on the Ski Hill”
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We spent a few days at the Kandahar over the Christmas break and loved it. We had a loft room with a kitchen which was really convenient for making lunch and breakfast. We our dinners out and I really recommend Cafe Kandahar. Our room was very clean and quiet, the hot tub was wonderful and the ski and boot storage was very convenient. We were taken by shuttle to the ski hill and back and it was very easy to ski out/in as well. Superb staff (they were dealing with a water main break) and lovely lobby. This is a perfect place to stay for a ski vacation.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wkd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    89
    51
    21
    6
See reviews for
111
109
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

This is a great place. When we were driving there, we thought it was a litle far, but it was well worth it. Our room was lovely, very nice furnishings and very comfortable.
We used the huge hot tub in the evening and morning after long hikes in Glacier National Park. It was very nice.
The staff was very welcoming and very helpful.
We are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzyjo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We would recommend the Kandahar Lodge to others. The staff accomodated all of our needs in a friendly and efficient manner. They helped us with travel tips. This lodge has a continental breakfast, presided over by a very friendly and informative fellow who provides expresso and coffee. A great outdoor hot tub, beautiful flowers everywhere and a fire in the hearth at the end of the day really made us feel pampered during our vacaction stay.
Mary-Beth and Joe Wagner

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catmanwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed here 6 nights of our 2 week vacation. The staff were lovely-very kind and helpful. Unbelievable beauty! By far the best value of the 3 hotels we visited while in Montana and Wyoming. The only bad part was that we had to leave!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssexsonlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed at the Kandahar Lodge for the last 2 nights of our Montana vacation. Perhaps had we stayed there 1st, our opinion would be better, but after spending a week on Flathead Lake w/ all of the amenities, we found the Kandahar to be a bit boring.
The Lodge itself was pleasant, although our room layout was a bit odd (2 queens facing opposite directions therefore only 1 bed w/ a view of the small TV) and cramped. Our biggest complaint were the lack of activities to do in the summer. During the day the Big Mountain gondola was running and there were some other attractions such as a zip-line and "Walk-in-the -treetops" guided tour, however, they closed early and afterward, there was NOTHING to do-no stores, and only a couple of restaurants that closed early and had limited menus. During the summer evening hours it was like a ghost-town.
If you're looking for a romantic getaway from it all, The Kandahar may be just what you're looking for, but if traveling w/ children of any ages, probably not your best bet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emtette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We booked a loft room becuase we had 2 kids and 4 adults. This room is NOT kid friendly!! The stairs to the loft are SO steep! Adults can barely go up them. The good - the bedding!! Very comfortable beds with great linens!! The breakfast is small - nothing hot. Just Costco muffins and some fruit. Rooms were clean though. No elevator. I didn't think this would be a big deal but the property is built on a slope and it's quite a walk if you are on the upper floors

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travel111Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We had a family reunion at Kandahar Lodge for 4 nights. Everyone from the Sales person, the General Manager, to Desk personal and housekeeping made our reunion a great success. From the fire in the fire place when we arrived (it was a cool 45 * ) to finding tour guides for a trip to Glacier Park. Our family of 62 were well cared for, the rooms are great, the service was great, and what a great view of the area. We used the meeting room to gather and had continental breakfast in the lobby. The wi-fi was easy to use, the access to town was easy, it was as if when we needed something we pushed the "Easy button" and it was there. If you are looking for a special place to hold a family reunion check it out.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GINEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
5.0 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
129 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,011 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
340 reviews
9.4 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandahar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandahar Lodge

Property: Kandahar Lodge
Address: 3824 Big Mountain Rd, P.O. Box 278, Whitefish, MT 59937-8624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandahar Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandahar Lodge is a rustic, yet elegant lodge located at Whitefish Mountain Resort, 7 miles north of Whitefish and 32 miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park. The Lodge has 50 rooms, a fully licensed bar and a gourmet restaurant that serves dinner only. A continental breakfast is included in the rates. The lovely lobby has a wood burning fireplace, free WIFI and comfortable couches and chairs. Other amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, steam room, exercise room and massage treatment room. The rooms all have queen beds, down comforters, microwaves, small refrigerators and a/c. Kandahar is open from the first week of December to the first week of April (ski season) and June 1 through September 30. The Lodge opens to prearranged groups of 20 or more in the spring and fall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kandahar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandahar Hotel Whitefish
Kandahar Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing