We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They know how to treat like kings and queens”
Review of Kandahar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kandahar Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We had a family reunion at Kandahar Lodge for 4 nights. Everyone from the Sales person, the General Manager, to Desk personal and housekeeping made our reunion a great success. From the fire in the fire place when we arrived (it was a cool 45 * ) to finding tour guides for a trip to Glacier Park. Our family of 62 were well cared for, the rooms are great, the service was great, and what a great view of the area. We used the meeting room to gather and had continental breakfast in the lobby. The wi-fi was easy to use, the access to town was easy, it was as if when we needed something we pushed the "Easy button" and it was there. If you are looking for a special place to hold a family reunion check it out.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GINEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 332 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2009

What a unique and wonderful place to stay. The room was beautiful and quiet. The hotel is located at the base of a ski mountain and we were there on the first day of summer so it was quiet, green and lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aprontime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Everything about this place is great. We loved Kandahar so much that we extended our stay for an extra two days. The hotel staff's hospitality should be commended. They are all willing to go the extra mile in making sure that you feel at home. The beds are so comfy. Its not your typical hotel bed. The ambience of the lodge is very friendly. They have a beautiful fireplace that is very inviting to sit an converse with other guests. We definitely plan on returning again in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redsoxgirl416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

My wife and i have just returned to the U.K after spending 11 nights at The Kandahar Lodge, on a great skiing trip. The Lodge was an enjoyable place to stay, with excellent fine dining restaurant (Pricey but seriously good!), cosy snug bar and very friendly/helpful staff ( Special mention to Laurie & Russ) The only minor complaint would be that currently they don't serve breakfast and we weren't notified in advance of this (The website still includes it) Personally this wasn't a major problem as in the end we made use of the facilities in the room etc, but it would have been good to know at the time of booking. There are other breakfast options available nearby (The Hibernation,Aunty B's etc)
Overall though, we had an excellent stay and absolutely loved the skiing. Talking of which the hotel runs a shuttle service to and from the slopes all day. So although not 'ski-out' it doesn't matter. It is however 'ski-in' via a Green run around the back of all the condos.
Mike & Mo, West Sussex. U.K

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MolyvosMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

a bit of a strange place. Cosy, tucked into the hill on the road to the resort. nowhere to sit outside in the summer because of its location and the traffic is always passing by. That's a pity because the views are amazing. Restaurant is over the top expensive, not somewhere for the kids. in saying that the food is very good. I did actually like staying there and Whitefish is a great town. In winter there will be enough to do without going there at night. Place is a bit quiet in the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lax5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We recently had the opportunity to spend a night at the Kandahar Lodge on Big Mountain in Whitefish and loved everything about it. We hadn't been to Whitefish in 14 years and this was our first experience at the Kandahar Lodge. Walking in the front doors I felt like I was truely in a ski lodge with the fire place burning and the coffee, cider and cookies were a very nice touch. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Our requests for a "few extras" were met quickly and efficiently with a smile. The rooms were very clean and cozy. The loft room we had was an excellant choice for two adults and two teenagers. The mini kitchen was a pleasant surprise and came in handy. Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night but enjoyed our stay so much we have booked another weekend later this month.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirch_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of the summer season. The lodge and lobby were pretty, woodsy but not rustic, quite polished looking. NIce big fireplace (more about that later) and sitting area.
First there were the stairs with no elevator available. The front office employees did haul our baggage up- We could not have done it without them. The 3 flights of stairs was a hardship for me- I ended up coming up the outdoor path most of the time, it was easier to negotiate.

The parking was atrocious. About 6 designated spaces, and about 4 more "cram in wherever you can" spaces. The overflow was across the street and down a hill.

The hotel room was small for the price. We had 2 queen beds. They were very high and interesting beds- the kind of beds that usually have a step that goes with them, and should. It was quite a climb, and there was no sitting on the bed to put your shoes on. The blinds to the window were inoperable- broken. The housekeeping was shoddy- the beds were barely made, soaps and lotion not replenished. There was nowhere to store luggage

The reception staff we saw most often was not that friendly. We had planned a night to eat at the cafe, and were told by the office that morning that we did not need reservations. When we came for dinner, we were told we could wait in the lobby for an hour and a half and there might be a table. We had looked forward to dining there, other than breakfast, and were very disappointed.

One night we noticed a smoky smell. We were settling down for the night, turned lights off. When our eyes started burning, I got up out of bed, dressed, and went down to the front desk. When I asked what was going on with the smoke, the receptionist jumped up and asked where our room was, and sounded paicky about how she hoped the fireplace in the lobby wasn't "backpuffing", and got on the phone with someone who advised her how to shut off the smoke alarm if it came on (!). She told me not to worry because the fire station was right next door. The smoke did decrease after about an hour, but the experience was unsettling.

The grounds were lovely, and the best thing about the place. They weren't extensive, but every corner was filled with very naturalistic gardens that were just enchanting. There were also hanging baskets and traditional flower pots all around the grounds.
The hot tub was huge and deep, and we enjoyed an evening soak with just us in the tub.

The thing is, if you intend to stay at Big Mountain, there aren't many choices. We needed to be close to family who stayed at the Edelweiss, and that was our only option. The purpose of our trip was to visit Gacier NP, and staying in Whitefish would have been a better way to go. Big Mountain itself is a small resort village at the base of a skin mountain. We did enjoy the lift to the top, but all of Big Mountain resort shops could be gone through in about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Opossums5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
5.0 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
173 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
372 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#3 of 17 in Whitefish
1,099 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandahar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandahar Lodge

Address: 3824 Big Mountain Rd, P.O. Box 278, Whitefish, MT 59937-8624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range: $139 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandahar Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandahar Lodge is a rustic, yet elegant lodge located at Whitefish Mountain Resort, 7 miles north of Whitefish and 32 miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park. The Lodge has 50 rooms, a fully licensed bar and a gourmet restaurant that serves dinner only. A continental breakfast is included in the rates. The lovely lobby has a wood burning fireplace, free WIFI and comfortable couches and chairs. Other amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, steam room, exercise room and massage treatment room. The rooms all have queen beds, down comforters, microwaves, small refrigerators and a/c. Kandahar is open from the first week of December to the first week of April (ski season) and June 1 through September 30. The Lodge opens to prearranged groups of 20 or more in the spring and fall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kandahar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandahar Hotel Whitefish
Kandahar Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing