We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the Mountains”
Review of Kandahar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kandahar Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem in the Mountains”
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Our 3 day stay at Kandahar The Lodge at Big Mountain proved to be a real gem. The room was very warm, nicely appointed, quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay there again when we go to Glacier or fishing in the area.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    89
    51
    20
    6
See reviews for
110
108
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We stayed two nights - our room was on the fourth floor and there is no elevator and no bellman - the lady at the desk said they could help with our luggage but no one did - we had a room with a loft which was nice enough but the loft was another flight of steps - also, there was NO air conditioning in the loft so it was incredibly hot
It is six or eight miles out of Whitefish and not near anything except the ski slopes, so it really doesn't work for the summer.
The night we got there, the restauarant (the only one for eight miles) was closed for a private party. We saw a list with multiple dates of private parties in the upcoming weeks so apparently this happens frequently.
Skip this one and stay at the Whitefish Lodge on the Lake - the rates are about the same and it sits right on the lake with a gorgeous lobby and facilities like a pool and marina

  • Liked — rooms clean
  • Disliked — fourth floor walk-up
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We stayed two nights at Kandahar Lodge and one in Many Glacier Hotel in Glacier national park
The lobby is nice but The room we stayed in needs badly redecorating
The owner is very unfriendly. The hotel was expensive and the room doesn't fit this rate. Dinner was O.K. but we expacted more for 120$.
Whitefish is 30 minutes from Glacier national park. The going to the sun road was closed and that caused a problem.
We stayed the 3rd night in Many Glacier Hotel in Glacier national park and liked it much better.

  • Liked — the lobby
  • Disliked — the room and staff service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kandaharlodge, General Manager at Kandahar Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2008
This guest was unhappy about the amount of an out of country long distance telephone charge. I refunded 1/2 of the charge to their cc.

The rooms were completely redecorated in 2001.

Cafe Kandahar is owned and operated separately from Kandahar Lodge.

The Going to the Sun Road in Glacier National Park opens for vehicles as soon as they are able to clear feet of snow from where the Road crosses the Continental Divide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, WA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

Just spent the weekend at the Whitefish Ski Resort Kandahar Lodge. Nice rooms, wonderful cafe, comfortable lobby with a huge fireplace, huge outdoor hot tub and easy access to the ski hill. Walked across the road to the "Home Again" ski run and skied down to the Base Lodge. Skiied back to the room on "Haleys" run. It takes you right to the front door. We stayed here 14 years ago so I thought they might be run down some, but the place was like new. Our room was just a standard hotel room type, but we had a small fridge, sink and coffee maker. The beds are very comfortatable and have nice bedding. The hotel has a shuttle van that will take you just about anywhere on the mountain you want to go. Food in the cafe is spendy but very good and different. We will be back again next year for sure, not waiting another 14 years.

  • Liked — The lobby with the fireplace.
  • Disliked — Too many stairs and no elevator.
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halfwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2008

I led 23 people from our ski club to Whitefish January 26 - February 2, 2008, and we stayed at the Kandahar. It was an exceptionally good experience. Note that what follows is my own opinion and mine alone, although I know that many, perhaps even all, of the people on my trip share my enthusiasm. It's a warm, inviting, comfortable place, convenient to the slopes, and, above all run by a friendly, attentive, and helpful staff. What more could you ask for?

Other reviews refer to the hotel's "lobby." That's really not the right word. When I think of a hotel lobby, I think of a place where the hotel's business is transacted, and guests might meet each other, but not a place particularly designed for socializing. At the Kandahar, the check-in desk is right at the main entrance, but the "lobby" is off to your left, and it is much more of a lounge than a lobby. It's sunk three steps below the level of the check-in desk, and has a large wood-burning fireplace at the front, and the delightful Snug Bar behind. In between are multiple leather-covered sofas, love seats, and armchairs, and we found it an inviting place to meet for a drink before dinner, get together after dinner, or just curl up with a book on that day when you weren't skiing. The big-screen TV is off to the side, actually out of the lounge area entirely, for those of you who don't go to Montana to watch TV (and if you do, you seriously need to get a life).

There's a self-service ski storage room just off the lounge, and once you pick up your skis, it's about three minutes by foot to Home Again trail, and maybe another two to the bottom of chair 6. At the end of the ski day, you come down Home Again, which gets to the back of the hotel. You have to take your skis off once you get there, to walk to the front of the hotel and the ski storage room. In any case, getting on and off the slopes is so easy, I found no reason to get on the ever-ready hotel van to drive me to the lifts.

Our rooms were clean and well-maintained, and the heavy use of wood paneling on the walls gave them a more distinctive feel than you get at the large corporate hotels. I noted the lack of a safe in our room, but nobody from our group lost any property, even though many of us had brought laptops along.

The continental breakfast at the Cafe Kandahar was a step up from the usual fare; it included a waffle iron, pastries that you would expect to see on a dessert menu, and what my wife calls "scrambles," casseroles full of potatoes, eggs, onions, sausage, mushrooms, and the like. I spotted someone eating quiche one morning. One minor criticism: I grew up eating New York bagels, and the prepackaged ones they had fell far short of that standard. A bigger criticism: The staff running the show at breakfast sometimes seemed to have a little too much to do, what with pouring coffee for 20-30 people at a time, clearing tables, replenishing the serving table, and so forth. On the other hand, after the English-born couple in our group asked for tea at breakfast the first day, the waitress remembered to bring them tea every day afterwards.

And that last is just one example of the kind of service we got throughout our stay. Tom, the bartender at the Snug Bar, knew me by name after one day, and what I liked to drink (maybe because I was the trip leader?), and was as friendly and personable as you could want from the guy on the other side of the bar. The hotel management and front desk staff helped make my job as trip leader easier by handling every request I made for our group as if it were not only the most important thing they had to do, but also the most enjoyable.

We all had to leave at 3:45 Saturday morning (ugh...) to catch a 6:00 flight home. When we got to the check-in area, we found a table that usually had cider and cookies in the afternoon had been set up with coffee, tea, pastries, fruit, bagels, cream cheese, and bottles of orange juice, for us to put in supplied paper bags so we could have something to eat while waiting for our flight home. Just one of the many little touches that made us agree we'd happily stay at the Kandahar Lodge again.

  • Liked — Great staff, inviting first-floor lounge, easy access to slopes.
  • Disliked — Nothing significant.
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BPSCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2007

The Kandahar Lodge is much nicer than the photos on their own website. The "rooms" are actually condo units. Some are just a hotel room, others are studio apartments with small but fully equipped kitchens. (We fixed a dinner and several breakfasts with no problem.). Some of the units have sleeping lofts and can accommodate up to 8 people (but the lofts are a tight squeeze). There is an executive suite that is 1800+ square feet, very expensive, but worth it if you have a group because there are 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen, sunken livingroom, dining room, etc. -- a complete "house" within the Kandahar Lodge. That unit is for sale and we took a look. If we win the lottery, it is the first purchase we will make. The decor of the Kandahar Lodge is western/ski lodge but more upscale than you would think from their website. The bed and bedding are top quality. The entire property has been totally renovated in the past 5 years. There is a fitness room that is equivalent to most hotel fitness rooms. There is an outdoor hot tub that we didn't use but it looked nice. Also sauna and steam rooms. A Whitefish spa has a satellite location at Kandahar but apparently it is just a small room for massages, etc. If you want a spa vacation, this probably isn't the place. However, the lobby is fabulous, with a (real) fire in the huge fireplace every night. The Snug Bar overlooks the lobby and is very cozy. The Kandahar Cafe (which is really a high-end dinner house restaurant) is superb. Make reservations for dinner as soon as you make your room reservations because they only accommodate a small number of diners (fewer even than they have table space for). The owner/chef, Andrew, does much of the cooking himself and the quality is comparable to any restaurant we have been to in our hometown of Washington, DC. Be sure to try the elk (both the appetizer and the entree). The other highlight of the Kandahar is the staff, every one of whom goes out of his/her way to make your stay enjoyable. Even the maid left us a thank you note for our (small) tip! During our visit, the road from Whitefish to the Big Mountain was under construction. Yes, it was very dusty and slowed us down. But the Kandahar was worth it!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Moveup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul,MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

Tough one to write, this. My wife and I stayed here just after the Labor Day weekend. The Lodge is really quite nice. Well appointed lobby, rooms, fitness center, the works. The people there were always warm, friendly, helpful folks. You genuinely couldn't ask for more. Snug bar is good for a hearty drink while Tom shares his photo album (he's lived more than most towns of people. Amazing fella). The Cafe offers among some of the best food I've eaten anywhere in the world in an unpretentious setting. If nothing else, get the breakfast for the amazing creations of their pastry chef. So The Lodge at Kandahar is a wonderful place but nothing is perfect:

Getting there is a true ordeal. The only road to service the mountain is being re-built. It's open but took us about 45min each way on average. That's an extra 1.5 or 2 hours of your vacation every time you need to go down the mountain. Further, the road is just barely passable, costing our a car a tire despite carefully and slowly picking our route behind the pilot car. WE WOULD NOT HAVE BOOKED HAD WE KNOWN THIS.

Second, the Remedies Day Spa offers services there and at their offices in Whitefish. Unfortunately, getting them to even answer the telephone during normal (posted) business hours doesn't appear to be part of their business plan. So book early or don't count on it, even in the off season, while stuck on the mountain.

Lastly in the gripes: Our room upon arrival hadn't had a lick of ventilation in days. Really, hot and stuffy is no way to sleep under the supplied down comforter.

Bottom line: Would we stay there again? NO. Despite e-mail contact before visiting they didn't mention circumstances that would've been cause for cancellation. What wouldn't they mention next time?

  • Liked — Wonderful staff
  • Disliked — everything not controlled by the Kandahar
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank castiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
5.0 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
114 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
5.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
990 reviews
9.4 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
326 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandahar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandahar Lodge

Property: Kandahar Lodge
Address: 3824 Big Mountain Rd, P.O. Box 278, Whitefish, MT 59937-8624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandahar Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandahar Lodge is a rustic, yet elegant lodge located at Whitefish Mountain Resort, 7 miles north of Whitefish and 32 miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park. The Lodge has 50 rooms, a fully licensed bar and a gourmet restaurant that serves dinner only. A continental breakfast is included in the rates. The lovely lobby has a wood burning fireplace, free WIFI and comfortable couches and chairs. Other amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, steam room, exercise room and massage treatment room. The rooms all have queen beds, down comforters, microwaves, small refrigerators and a/c. Kandahar is open from the first week of December to the first week of April (ski season) and June 1 through September 30. The Lodge opens to prearranged groups of 20 or more in the spring and fall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kandahar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandahar Hotel Whitefish
Kandahar Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing