We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Big Mountain Lodge
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

We stayed here just one night after arriving in Kalispell from the UK prior to our tour of Montana and Wyoming. Although we arrived ok after 3 flights, our luggage didn't due to it still being in Salt Lake City so we were without even basic toiletries. The hotel was wonderful - they supplied us with everything we would need from new toothbrushes to deoderants. We thought this impressive customer care for a budget hotel! Our room was large with a huge bed and a powerful hot shower with lots of fluffy towels. We slept very well and the complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast was a bonus. Excellent value for a stop over and only a 10/15 minute drive from the airport. If you want to visit Glacier, my tip would be to stay in the park as you're closer to the hiking trails etc... and I would recommend the Swiftcurrent Motor Inn at Many Glacier.

  • Liked — Location close to airport, good value accomodation, great customer service, free breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bol2nWandererBol2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    31
    16
    9
See reviews for
40
33
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights when visiting a friend in the area. It was a late decision to make the trip to Montana and many of the hotels rated more highly on Tripadvisor were already booked. The hotels in Whitefish that were available were pretty expensive so we decided it would be okay to share a family room here, with our children, for a couple of nights.
We had a bit of a problem at check-in as the room wasn't ready even though we were on time, and then we were given a key to an already occupied room. To be fair, It was quickly sorted out and the front desk staff were apologetic.
The room on floor 2, was large and clean, adequate, but nothing special. There was no elevator, and so it was a struggle with the bags.
There was a small pool with a rather old slide, but lots of people seemed to be enjoying it.

There was nothing particularly bad about the hotel, it was just okay. If I'm honest I would look for somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Toton-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

The Holiday Inn Express is very convenient if you are visiting Glacier Park and Whitefish. The room was spacious and extremely clean. The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast buffet was terrific. The food was tasty, hot, plentiful, a good variety and the dining area was very clean even though there was a big crowd.

  • Liked — Nice and spacious room and the breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

Clean, comfortable, nice staff. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet , wifi and the hot tub. We stayed here en route to Glacier National Park. There are several other convenient hotels nearby.

  • Liked — No surprises
  • Disliked — Would like it to be closer to shops/restaurants of downtown Whitefish
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Manningjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

We spent just one night at the Holiday Inn Express and we were very impressed! We would have spent more nights there but we needed a place with a kitchen. Our experience was excellent. We called from the Amtrak station in town at 9pm with no prior transportation arrangements. Despite this, they sent a shuttle over right away, free of charge. The driver and the staff member at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. After tipping the driver ($1 per bag) for loading and unloading the shuttle. He helped carry our bags to our second floor room and declined further tip for this. Inside accommodations are new-looking and very clean. Their breakfast set-up was excellent with a staff member right there, who was very helpful. My only complaint is that it's a bit difficult to find, being located behind buildings that line the main roadway.

  • Liked — customer service and nice, clean accomodations
  • Disliked — a bit harder to locate the hotel from the main roadway
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

When we arrived the phone would not work for outside calls and we had to call the desk. Then the remote would not work - the girl at the desk said the handy man would be there in 20 minutes and we would have to wait. We had traveled a long ways and wanted to take showers and crawl into bed to watch tv but had to wait. After 20 minutes she called and said he was not there yet and she would come as soon as possible.

That night we said we would like a restaurant similar to applebees or Chili's and the front desk sent us to an extremely expensive place. The next day we took off to GNP and when we returned after 4 our room had not been cleaned. I went to the desk and told her we needed clean towels the maid did not clean the room. We got the towels but the girl did not say a word about the room not being clean. When we checked out and they ( the girl from the night before and someone else) asked about the visit we told themt it would have been nice to have the room clean. The girl from the night before made a big fuse and told us how sorry she was - when the night befoore she said nothing.

Room was fairly clean but needed to be updated. Room was Very Small- we had been in others for less money and had more room.

I expect at least a room that is cleaned and new towels when I am paying $200 plus a night. I stayed here because I build points with this chain - but next time I will find some place else.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J#60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whitefish hotels

Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2007

After reading some of the reviews here I was expecting the possiblity of a noisy room with spotty cutomer service. Overall, this hotel exceeded my expectations. I asked for a second floor room and got it. Check in was easy and the woman who checked us in went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable. When she found out my mother's bag was lost, she delivered some basic amenities to our room. The beds were comfortable and the room was very quiet ( there weren't many people staying here) The continetal breakfast included the usual fare plus omeletes and bacon. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I paid more than I usually do when staying in Whitefish, but I felt I got a good value.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank majuferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
6.2 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
#13 of 16 in Whitefish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Mountain Lodge

Property: Big Mountain Lodge
Address: 6390 Hwy 93 S., Whitefish, MT 59937
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Mountain lodge Whitefish Hotel is a 100% non-smoking hotel. Whitefish, Montana is the perfect vacation destination for your visit to Glacier National Park or Whitefish Mountain Resort. For the family, we have our indoor pool, and two outdoor hot tubs, and a variety of restaurants, and shopping within walking distance. Free high-speed internet access in all guest rooms (DSL and wireless internet access). Also, a business computer in the lobby with access to printers, copier, and fax. Generous breakfast bar with, fresh fruit, bagels, yogurt and lots more! We also offer shuttle service for pick up and drop off at the airport for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Big Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Holiday Inn Whitefish
Whitefish Holiday Inn Express
Big Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing