We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”
Review of Big Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Big Mountain Lodge
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We spent just one night at the Holiday Inn Express and we were very impressed! We would have spent more nights there but we needed a place with a kitchen. Our experience was excellent. We called from the Amtrak station in town at 9pm with no prior transportation arrangements. Despite this, they sent a shuttle over right away, free of charge. The driver and the staff member at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. After tipping the driver ($1 per bag) for loading and unloading the shuttle. He helped carry our bags to our second floor room and declined further tip for this. Inside accommodations are new-looking and very clean. Their breakfast set-up was excellent with a staff member right there, who was very helpful. My only complaint is that it's a bit difficult to find, being located behind buildings that line the main roadway.

  • Liked — customer service and nice, clean accomodations
  • Disliked — a bit harder to locate the hotel from the main roadway
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    44
    31
    16
    9
See reviews for
40
33
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Elkhorn WI
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

When we arrived the phone would not work for outside calls and we had to call the desk. Then the remote would not work - the girl at the desk said the handy man would be there in 20 minutes and we would have to wait. We had traveled a long ways and wanted to take showers and crawl into bed to watch tv but had to wait. After 20 minutes she called and said he was not there yet and she would come as soon as possible.

That night we said we would like a restaurant similar to applebees or Chili's and the front desk sent us to an extremely expensive place. The next day we took off to GNP and when we returned after 4 our room had not been cleaned. I went to the desk and told her we needed clean towels the maid did not clean the room. We got the towels but the girl did not say a word about the room not being clean. When we checked out and they ( the girl from the night before and someone else) asked about the visit we told themt it would have been nice to have the room clean. The girl from the night before made a big fuse and told us how sorry she was - when the night befoore she said nothing.

Room was fairly clean but needed to be updated. Room was Very Small- we had been in others for less money and had more room.

I expect at least a room that is cleaned and new towels when I am paying $200 plus a night. I stayed here because I build points with this chain - but next time I will find some place else.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J#60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whitefish hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

After reading some of the reviews here I was expecting the possiblity of a noisy room with spotty cutomer service. Overall, this hotel exceeded my expectations. I asked for a second floor room and got it. Check in was easy and the woman who checked us in went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable. When she found out my mother's bag was lost, she delivered some basic amenities to our room. The beds were comfortable and the room was very quiet ( there weren't many people staying here) The continetal breakfast included the usual fare plus omeletes and bacon. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I paid more than I usually do when staying in Whitefish, but I felt I got a good value.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank majuferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2007

We stayed at this hotel two nights, about 12 days apart. We took the train to Whitefish and spent one night, then vacationed in the Canadian Rockes, and Glacier NP, before returning to stay one more night before going home on the train.

We liked it. We always get upstairs rooms to avoid having people 'walk on our heads'. This hotel didn't have an elevator, so this might not work for everyone.

We thought the hotel was very quiet and had good amenities. It's great to have a PC for guest use in the lobby, and the breakfast goodies were good.

We would recommend it to anyone passing through Whitefish.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv-to-travel-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

We were passing through the Whitefish-Kalispell area and just needed a hotel room for the night. The front desk service was very friendly and efficient and we got a standard double queen room on the main floor for two of us and our little dog. To begin with we were quite happy with the hotel. The room was clean and they were nice enough to put us in a non-smoking room. We have found sometimes with the dog that some hotels will automatically put us in the smoking rooms. The breakfast the next morning was good and the PC in the lobby was good for getting in touch with people via e-mail. We never did use the pool or hot tub but they looked inviting. Our problem began later in the evening when the people in the room above us showed up. We got a couple hours of sleep before they started up at midnight. They seemed to be walking from one end of the room to the other and they walked very heavily and at times, we wondered if the room was being renovated. To make it worse, their floor and our ceiling seemed to creak and squeak - A LOT. especially for a building that seemed fairly new. I phoned the front desk to complain about the guests and they assured me they would be calling the people. They may have but as can sometimes be expected, I think the people just made more noise to spite us. They seemed to go to bed themselves at 2:00 AM afterwhich, all things considered, we had a fairly good sleep in the comfortable bed. Around 8:00 AM someone in one of the four adjacent rooms started up the shower which was very loud and there was no sleeping through it so we had to get up. We did mention all of this to the front desk on check out and although they were sorry to hear that we did not have the most relaxing time, they seemed not willing to do anything else for us. We've stayed at Holiday Inn Express Hotels before and never had these problems. The noisy guests is one thing but I really have to question the construction of a new building for it be so noisy in other ways. We could quite easily hear people in the hallways and doors closing around our room. We have had problems similar to this at other hotels but this seemed to be much worse than usual. I would suggest anyone who may have concerns of this type avoid room 103 where we stayed.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank SoopCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

This hotel was great. We had a suite (which we got with Priority Club points) and it was huge. Flat screen, reclincer, large club chair, sofa, microwave, mini frig. Kids will love the slide at the indoor pool. It was sparkling clean, free breakfast and cookies in the lobby.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank ParkandGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Very friendly, helpful staff; all were wonderful from front desk to the maintenance man. Rooms nice, clean, comfortable. Three sheeted beds.
Indoor water slide and pool, two outdoor hot tubs; great for families!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.3 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.3 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#6 of 17 in Whitefish
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
#14 of 17 in Whitefish
93 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Mountain Lodge

Property: Big Mountain Lodge
Address: 6390 US Highway 93 S, Whitefish, MT 59937-8235
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Mountain lodge Whitefish Hotel is a 100% non-smoking hotel. Whitefish, Montana is the perfect vacation destination for your visit to Glacier National Park or Whitefish Mountain Resort. For the family, we have our indoor pool, and two outdoor hot tubs, and a variety of restaurants, and shopping within walking distance. Free high-speed internet access in all guest rooms (DSL and wireless internet access). Also, a business computer in the lobby with access to printers, copier, and fax. Generous breakfast bar with, fresh fruit, bagels, yogurt and lots more! We also offer shuttle service for pick up and drop off at the airport for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Holiday Inn Whitefish
Whitefish Holiday Inn Express
Big Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing