We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well, this one wasn't as advertised” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Big Mountain Lodge
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well, this one wasn't as advertised”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

I am really glad that i got the business rate on this 'establishment'. Where to begin? Let's start with the pool...that was one of the features that wasnt renovated. Waterslide is a rickety thing from the 60'ies...oh, and watch your head if you are taller than 5 feet. Good news, they have two newer hot tubs outside. Back to the bad, they have no elevators!!! Overall, this facility looks like it used to be a cheap motel that got a basic facelift.

Our room was supposed to be a family suite. Well, maybe I had the wrong idea, but I wasn't thinking of one room with no divider to where the kids were sleeping. Oh, nice surprise was the missing shower curtain...

Breakfast was rather standard and reminded me a lot of Holiday Inn Express, just a bit less offering. Overall, I saw many touches of Holiday Inn everywhere.

I want to finish with some good news: the staff is great; very friendly and always ready to help.

My take: go and book yourself in another hotel, if there is availability!

Room Tip: book with corporate credit card to get discount then pay with personal card;
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug1canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    31
    16
    9
See reviews for
40
33
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Il
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Our family stayed here for 4 days in July. We had a great stay at this clean hotel. The staff was very nice and accommodating to our needs. Our children loved the pool with the slide, and spent many nights in it! My husband and I enjoyed the two hot tubs outside! We would defiantly recommend this hotel and are planning on going back soon and staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eshes246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Big Mountain Lodge for 2 nights during our 7 day trip to Glacier National Park. The hotel had a continental breakfast that offered coffee, juice, cereal, various mini muffins, and toast. The breakfast also had scrambled eggs and pork sausage patties. The staff was very friendly but the guests staying in the hotel were. . .lets just say . . . interesting. Although the hotel is a nonsmoking hotel, we noticed that the guests staying in the room next to us were smoking. We were on our way out so we didn't bring this matter to the attention of the hotel staff and by the time we got back from a long day of hiking the smoke smell had gone away. The hotel has a big water slide and swimming pool that children seemed to be enjoying. The beds were comfortable but nothing special. The hotel is in a good location, about a 5-10 minute drive from downtown Whitefish. Its about 35-40 minutes from the West Glacier Park entrance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PNB1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

This hotel is about as low quality as they come. Do not be fooled by the nice pictures, its a dump. This place charges the same as the higher ends resorts in town, but I'd bet the Hotel 6 in town was nicer. I would give them zero stars if I could. This place also scams money. They gave me 4 different room rates and has now charged me $36 more than the rate that the room was advertised for, and that doesn't include room tax. STAY ANYPLACE IN TOWN OTHER THAN THIS!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsmith1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whitefish hotels

Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

I stayed three nights on a business trip and was very pleased. The rooms were very clean and exceptionally quiet. The beds were very comfotable.The employees went above and beyond my expectations. I will stay here again the next time I am in town. The only thing they are missing for a perfect stay is refridgerators in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janicemoreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

The only reason we stayed here is because we were traveling with one of our dogs whom we picked up at his trainer in nearby Ronan and then spent some relaxing time in Whitefish. I wanted to give this independent chain a try instead of taking the easy route with a Best Western for travel with pets. The rooms are not the newest. I found it to be clean however. The employees were all extremely nice and friendly. I will give them credit for that. There is a nice big exercise area for dogs.

I wouldn't stay here again if I didn't have a pet. In fact, I'm not sure I would stay here again even with a pet. However, the stay was just fine. Although I do find it a little expensive at $149 for basically a motel.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FlyStayEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetaskiwin, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

My wife, 2 daughters and I stayed at the Big Mountain Lodge under their "stay and play special" ($65/night tax included) for a recent ski trip. This was incredible value given the comfortable room, hot tubs, pool with water slide and the very good hot breakfast. The staff were friendly, accomodating and courteous. This hotel exceeded our expectations. We will be recommending the Big Mountain Lodge to others and we will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seize_Today13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
6.2 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
#13 of 16 in Whitefish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Mountain Lodge

Property: Big Mountain Lodge
Address: 6390 Hwy 93 S., Whitefish, MT 59937
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Mountain lodge Whitefish Hotel is a 100% non-smoking hotel. Whitefish, Montana is the perfect vacation destination for your visit to Glacier National Park or Whitefish Mountain Resort. For the family, we have our indoor pool, and two outdoor hot tubs, and a variety of restaurants, and shopping within walking distance. Free high-speed internet access in all guest rooms (DSL and wireless internet access). Also, a business computer in the lobby with access to printers, copier, and fax. Generous breakfast bar with, fresh fruit, bagels, yogurt and lots more! We also offer shuttle service for pick up and drop off at the airport for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Big Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Holiday Inn Whitefish
Whitefish Holiday Inn Express
Big Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing