We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel at the end of a Long Day's Drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, UK.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel at the end of a Long Day's Drive”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked this hotel, as a stopover between Banff & Yellowstone, and with a view to visit Glacier NP on the doorstep.

The US government shutdown put paid to the latter but that shouldn't detract from this attractive hotel.

Walk in through reception and there is an air of a 'National Park/Xanterra hotel' about it that was very welcoming. There is an atrium on the first floor overlooking reception and an open fire with a large comfortable couch close by, that reminded me of pricier accomodations in Yellowstone & Yosemite.

Reception staff were helpful and the large outside spa was very much appreciated; even in late October.

The room & breakfast were the usual high BW stanjard and we were more than happy with these elements of our stay.

Would love to return and this time with an expectaion of actual getting inside the NP!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0nyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNPFlyFisher3, General Manager at Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you can return soon. Ski season is right around the corner!

Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    250
    72
    20
    18
See reviews for
224
380
51
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed in one of the standard rooms (king-sized bed) (Oct 21 - 24) which was equipped with a microwave and small fridge (and free internet). Our three (3) night stay was very comfortable. Very impressed with the cleanliness of the room. In fact, all of the staff were extremely friendly and quick to assist us with any of our requests.The hot tub was great after a day of walking, shopping and siteseeing. Everything that you need is very close (Safeway, Super 1, movie theatre, the Sportsman, etc. (for great sports gear). The Town of Whitefish is wonderful love walking down Central Avenue and going into all of the shops and pubs (Red Caboose, Bulldog Saloon, Casey's, Montana Coffee Traders) and on 2nd Street at the Swift Creek Cafe for an amazing breakfast (if you are too late for the breakfast at the hotel). And try the Piggyback BBQ for an amazing casual dinner.

Looking forward to visiting Whitefish and staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNPFlyFisher3, General Manager at Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Very glad you enjoyed your stay in Whitefish. Hope you were able to view some of the beautiful fall colors in the area. Thanks for the nice review.

Dennis
General Manaager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefish, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is comfortable, great for kids. Food is good, and the town of whitefish is awesome and simply beautiful all year round. They take great pride :) They cater to the young, and young at heart. Great pubs and eateries and they welcome children as well. Ski hill is great, our kids love it. Great little shops to visit, both antique, and modern with ski shop and clothing and shoes. It also has a local brewery for those that like to taste something new. Clean, bright, and great all around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Randy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNPFlyFisher3, General Manager at Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope you can return and stay with us soon.

Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Good location. Easy to find. The staff was friendly. Large eating area for breakfast. The food ran low a couple of times but staff replenished the supply in short order. Ample space for parking. The room was neat and clean and the set-up was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNPFlyFisher3, General Manager at Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you for letting us know and I hope you stay with us again soon.

Dennis
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in one of the suite rooms (Oct 11 - 13) which was spacious and equipped with a fireplace, microwave and small fridge. Our two night stay was very comfortable. Quiet impressed with the cleanliness of the room especially on the part of the cleaning staff after our first night's stay. In fact, all of the staff were extremely friendly and quick to assist us with any of our requests.The pool and hot tub were below our room where the voices and laughter could be heard clearly, but it closes at 10p.m. so it was never an issue. Starbuck's is a block away in the Safeway store and the walk to town is a lovely 20 minute stroll down a back residential road. Would definitely recommend it and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54SusanC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNPFlyFisher3, General Manager at Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the town of Whitefish.
Hope you can return and stay longer.

Dennis
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My family stayed at the Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge in Whitefish in October. The hotel is just outside of Whitefish's little downtown area, maybe 5 minutes drive away. The hotel is quite affordable for the area. The rooms are very clean and well appointed. They had a real crib for us to use, not just a pack-n-play. The pool and hot tub is outside and while we didn't use it, it looked very clean. The morning breakfast included with the room is a nice and simple continental breakfast with some hot foods, waffles, cereal, and fruit. The staff is very nice and accommodating of needs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNPFlyFisher3, General Manager at Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks for your nice comments. We just finished replastering the inside or our swimming pool and hot tub. Glad you liked it. It does look very nice.
Come back and stay with us again.

Dennis
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwinn, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights and were very satisfied. The front desk staff is very nice and helpful. The room was very nice. It was convenient for us to go to Glacier, about 25 miles to the entrance of the park. The downtown has several blocks of interesting shops and restaurants that is also not far from the hotel. The breakfast they served was very good. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jettyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNPFlyFisher3, General Manager at Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your response. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you return soon.
Regards,
Dennis
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.9 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
144 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
2.4 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,040 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge

Property: Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Address: 6510 Highway 93 South, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Whitefish
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this comfortable and convenient hotel in Whitefish near many of northern Montana's great outdoor attractions.For travelers looking for quality hotel lodging accommodations near Whitefish Mountain Ski and Summer Resort, Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, and Glacier International Airport, the Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge offers the ideal lodging location and experience. Guests can enjoy mountain views and the hotel's pleasant and relaxing mountain lodge atmosphere. Located in beautiful Whitefish in Montana's Flathead Valley the Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge also gives guests convenient access to outdoor sports and activities year-round, including: skiing, golfing, fishing, hiking, boating, whitewater rafting, kayaking, hunting and biking.The Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge offers guestrooms with king or queen size beds. Suites, featuring a fire place, jetted tub, and wet bar, are also available. This pet-friendly hotel has specially designated rooms available for guests who wish to travel with their dogs and/or cats. All rooms come fully equipped with cable satellite television and high speed internet access. A complimentary hot breakfast is served daily. Additional hotel amenities include an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness center, and a business center.Meeting rooms, banquet space, and conference services make this Montana retreat the perfect location for business activities and other small group events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rocky Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Best Western Whitefish
Whitefish Best Western
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing