We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the train depot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
minnesota
Level Contributor
292 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Close to the train depot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We took the Amtrak Empire Builder from Minneapolis to Whitefish MT. We chose the Best Western for its close location to the train depot. We arrived late on a Saturday night. We found the accommodations at the hotel very nice. It was quiet, clean and well furnished. The beds were really comfortable. We stayed for one night on the 3rd floor. Breakfast was average, but well taken care of by the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itraveleverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNPFlyFisher3, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back again real soon.

Dennis
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    236
    71
    19
    18
See reviews for
198
354
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge in Whitefish is located a mile from downtown and appeared to be a much nicer hotel than those downtown. The rate was quite reasonable, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, especially because of the excellent fresh ripe melons. The rest of the breakfast items were fine, but like many of the hotel chains that include breakfast, the BW Rocky Mountain feels the need to serve "Orange Juice Blend" made from Grade B- oranges (according to the manufacturer's web site) and scrambled eggs apparently made from powered eggs. The customers don't seem to complain, but I doubt few of them would purchase these products at home.

Room Tip: The annex rooms are quieter. Choose an upstairs room in the annex for privacy and the shared balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikecbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNPFlyFisher3, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We serve MinuteMaid orange juice for breakfast, which is a highly respected product. I found by searching the internet that there are many quality commercial orange juice products that are made from grade-B oranges.

Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate your comments and hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Dennis
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hotel surpassed my expectations.
Friendly staff offered hotel van to delivery us to a down town restaurant and came back for us when we called. As we returned, the friendly driver pointed out a number of points of interest. The down town area is within walking distance but we were tired and welcomed the ride.
Rooms very well appointed and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNPFlyFisher3, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. I'm glad you enjoyed Whitefish and we are very happy to take our guests down town and pick them up when they are ready to come home.

Thank you for staying with us. Hope you can return soon.

Dennis
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was very impressed with the quality of this Best Western and the service we received was outstanding in every way. Our group of 20 guests had a number of special requests and needs, and the staff went out of their way to accommodate us ... efficiently and with a smile. They made us feel so welcome. I would actually drive miles out of my way to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNPFlyFisher3, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments. Hearing reviews like yours means a lot to us.
I am very happy your enjoyed your stay and your visit to our area of the world.
I hope you can return to stay with us again very soon.
Regards,

Dennis
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel was nice & clean, the staff were excellent. Had to drive most places, but was relatively close drive to shops & restaurants downtown Whitefish. The breakfast was not good, not very many choices at all. The pool was VERY cold and was not able to swim in it at all (actually took my breath away), the hot tub was about as warm as a heated pool should be, but was still nice. The room itself was very nice, however the staff did not clean it for our 2nd day. The bed was made & room slightly tidied but that was it (recycling was left in our room). Overall it was a nice standard hotel that worked for the short amount of time we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brscarrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNPFlyFisher3, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations, but I will use this information to make improvements.

Thank your for staying with us and hope you will give us another opportunity to make your next stay exceptional.

Dennis
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

30 of us just finished up a week long bicycle trip through Glacier/Waterton Parks. We began and finished our week at the Best Western in Whitefish. Our experience at the hotel was wonderful.The hotel had an immaculate and FREE Guest Laundry!! Guest rooms were roomy, attractive and clean,had excellent air conditioners and comfortable beds and most importantly for me - really comfy pillows. We were allowed to keep our bicycles with us in the rooms. The breakfast buffet was very tasty and offered lots of choices - waffles, cereals, sweets, eggs, juices, fruit, yogurt etc in a large light dining area. The lobby area was very inviting and offered 24 hr tea and coffee as well as lots of comfy seating and EXCELLENT lighting for reading.

The staff allowed us to set up a make-shift buffet our last day in a shady area so we could eat up our left-overs and there was a shady area where we could break down the bikes and pack them for people catching the train. No problem getting a few extra towels so folks could share our room and take showers after the morning's warm ride before hitting the road home. We also had plenty of room to unload our rental truck and van, dry out the freezer chests and repack.

Across the street is a 24 hour grocery and a sporting goods store for those things you might have forgotten and two doors away the bowling alley served great burgers and breakfasts until midnight if your flight arrived really late, which mine did.

Great place and extremely pleasant and helpful staff - Thanks to all!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkerPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNPFlyFisher3, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
My wonderful staff and I want to thank you for staying with us. We are so happy we were able to provide you with a good stay and a great experience. Hope to see you again next year.

Dennis
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Pine, Tennessee, Usa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Montana. We spent 2 nights inside Glacier National Park and then stayed 1 night at this hotel. We were so tired from hiking that we just wanted to rest, wash some clothes and get a good night sleep. I asked about laundry services and was very surprised the washers and dryers were free! The room was wonderfully cool and quiet. When we come back to this area, we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNPFlyFisher3, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I'm glad you were able to visit Glacier Nat'l Park and enjoy its beauty.
Thank you for staying with us and for the nice comments. Hope to see you soon.

Dennis
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.9 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
2.4 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
Address: 6510 Highway 93 South, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Whitefish
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this comfortable and convenient hotel in Whitefish near many of northern Montana's great outdoor attractions.For travelers looking for quality hotel lodging accommodations near Whitefish Mountain Ski and Summer Resort, Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, and Glacier International Airport, the Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge offers the ideal lodging location and experience. Guests can enjoy mountain views and the hotel's pleasant and relaxing mountain lodge atmosphere. Located in beautiful Whitefish in Montana's Flathead Valley the Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge also gives guests convenient access to outdoor sports and activities year-round, including: skiing, golfing, fishing, hiking, boating, whitewater rafting, kayaking, hunting and biking.The Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge offers guestrooms with king or queen size beds. Suites, featuring a fire place, jetted tub, and wet bar, are also available. This pet-friendly hotel has specially designated rooms available for guests who wish to travel with their dogs and/or cats. All rooms come fully equipped with cable satellite television and high speed internet access. A complimentary hot breakfast is served daily. Additional hotel amenities include an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness center, and a business center.Meeting rooms, banquet space, and conference services make this Montana retreat the perfect location for business activities and other small group events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Best Western, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rocky Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Best Western Whitefish
Whitefish Best Western
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing