We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better with recent make-over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have always enjoyed staying at this property; the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and spacious and so it was a pleasant surprise on this visit to find that the hotel has almost completed renovations. Fridges and microwave ovens used to be on request but are now standard in all rooms. I do a lot of travelling and have a few aches and pains resulting from the excesses of a reckless youth so a good night's sleep is important and I'm pleased to say the bed was most comfortable and provided that luxury. Like most hotels/motels breakfast is a complimentary "continental style" which I personally dont care for but I checked it out and it is better than a lot that I've seen. The coffee was good. The hotel also provides a courtesy shuttle to and from the city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefishreddog, General Manager at Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Robert,
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to have you back very soon. This month we will be receiving new lounge chairs for all the rooms to make your stay even better.
Dennis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 873 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

What I liked about the place is that it offers a lot of services. We did not have a car so we would call the front desk and they would drive us to town and pick us up! How nice. There is also a snow bus that would pick up also and bring you to the ski resort up the mtn. They also serve the help yourself breakfast.
It was also nice that there is an outdoor hot tub and heated pool. Nice to relax after a long day.
There is also a strip mall within walking distance for other food and shopping.
I forgot to mention the room we had had a perfect view of whitefish mtn ski resort. Beautiful day or night.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefishreddog, General Manager at Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your nice review. It is our pleasure to serve you as our guest.
Dennis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Best Western traveler
Kent, Washington, Usa
237
Reviewed February 6, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank A Best Western traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
whitefishreddog, General Manager at Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

After planning ski weekends to Whitefish for our small ski club for almost ten consecutive years, I have never been so disappointed in my lodging. The management of this hotel is unbelievable and way out of line. The very unprofessional and unfriendly Security guards were roaming the halls and knocking on doors at 2am because tv's were on or people were talking quietly in their rooms. On the second night, the security guards & management threatened to evict us because we were simply talking in our rooms at 2am. They said we "had to go to sleep or they were charging our cards for another night and forcing us to leave". The response was totally overblown and unneccessary. In addition, the staff repeatedly went into our rooms while we were out skiing despite the "do not disturb" sign on the door.

This hotel is not for anyone who stays awake after 10pm or wants a friendly, respectful experience while visiting whitefish. I will never be staying at the Best Western in Whitefish again and highly advise anyone else visiting Whitefish for a fun weekend away to avoid it as well. Whitefish is a great town, so sad this hotel isn't in line with the rest of the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in this hotel are not worth staying at. Avoid them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefishreddog, General Manager at Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Pete K,
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the our hotel on February 1 & 2. I'm disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay. It is our goal to see that all of our guests have a great experience with us. Unfortunately, because of complaints by other guests of excessive noise coming from your room security was asked to go to your room and warn you 3 times to lower the noise. The last time was at 2:40 am. I apologize if you feel that we were out of line in attempting to assure that all of our guests were able to enjoy a quiet night's sleep so that they would feel rested to get up early, go to the slopes and have an enjoyable day of skiing.
We want everyone to have a fun weekend in Whitefish, and I believe that all of our guests expect that management of the hotel is responsible to take steps to provide them with a good, quiet night's sleep without interruption from other guests.
Thanks again for your comments.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our room was ready when we arrived and check in was quick and easy. Room keys were already in an envelope for us with our name on it. Our room was spacious and well laid out. We had trouble sleeping because of noisy guests close to our room for the first couple of nights but that is not the fault of the hotel. Our room was cleaned and made up every day. Complementary breakfast has diminished somewhat over the last 4 years but is still adequate. There is lots of available parking which is nice because we were pulling a snowmobile trailer. Front desk staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank JAMES B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefishreddog, General Manager at Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your complimentary review. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please let me know of any ideas you may have to improve our breakfast. Some of our best positive changes have come from suggestions by our guests!

Dennis Drumheller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lovely little town near Glacier Park. A 30 minute drive to Glacier every day, but who's counting in this scenery!

Our room was clean and well appointed. Ask for the room next to the laundry. You won't hear a sound from there but it's very convenient to have it right there so that you don't mind leaving it for a bit. Laundry room was very clean too. Lobby was a bit more grand than you would usually see in a Best Western. Fireplace made for cozy reading. Desk staff was friendly. Breakfast was nice. All in all a good hotel experience.

Room Tip: Get a room next to the laundry room. You won't hear a sound but will appreciate the convenience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirginiaAntiquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The front desk staff was very friendly and attentive. I had to call down twice and they were very speedy in responding. The breakfast was just OK. It is a deluxe continental....so, it is a bit on the sad side. It covers all the bases though. I was just disappointed in the choices and quality of the food. The person in charge of the food prep was also cleaning the bathroom and stairs...that was a bit off putting. The last thing you want to see is your food prep person scrubbing the bathroom. We stayed in a suite. It was a spacious room. It did not, however, have a separate room for the bed. The room and hotel were very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGW83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.9 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
191 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodge & Conference Center
11.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge

Address: 6510 US Highway 93 S, Whitefish, MT 59937-2978
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range: $93 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this comfortable and convenient hotel in Whitefish near many of northern Montana's great outdoor attractions.For travelers looking for quality hotel lodging accommodations near Whitefish Mountain Ski and Summer Resort, Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, and Glacier International Airport, the Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge offers the ideal lodging location and experience. Guests can enjoy mountain views and the hotel's pleasant and relaxing mountain lodge atmosphere. Located in beautiful Whitefish in Montana's Flathead Valley the Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge also gives guests convenient access to outdoor sports and activities year-round, including: skiing, golfing, fishing, hiking, boating, whitewater rafting, kayaking, hunting and biking.The Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge offers guestrooms with king or queen size beds. Suites, featuring a fire place, jetted tub, and wet bar, are also available. This pet-friendly hotel has specially designated rooms available for guests who wish to travel with their dogs and/or cats. All rooms come fully equipped with cable satellite television and high speed internet access. A complimentary hot breakfast is served daily. Additional hotel amenities include an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness center, and a business center.Meeting rooms, banquet space, and conference services make this Montana retreat the perfect location for business activities and other small group events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rocky Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Best Western Whitefish
Whitefish Best Western
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing